We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from staff, shame about the locality.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marconfort Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C. Pontinental 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service from staff, shame about the locality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel after a 4 day stay for my 21st Birthday. Great service from all staff at the hotel especially Edu in the Magnum Bar! Great activities daily such as shooting competitions.

Food was ok, but what can you expect from a hotel with not the highest room rates, so good value for what you pay.

Drinks galore, absolutely anything you could want. Hygiene is very high with rooms being cleaned daily - and cleaned to a high standard!

Would recommend this hotel to all people and I can definitely see myself returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisLuque, Syubdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Allanmw :
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Marconfort Beach Club Hotel.
It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!
We consider a balanced value for money is one of our strenghts and also working on permanent basis to meet our guest expectations.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    569
    247
    94
    34
See reviews for
559
571
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington Kent England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the beach club. We had a good holiday, but are unlikely to go back, mainly because of the area. The hotel is modern looking and we were comfortable. Some of the staff were more welcoming than others, but all helped when we asked. The room was ok, good big bed and great power shower over the bath. The room had a partial view of the sea and a full on view of the next door hotel.

There has been a lot written about the food. It was typical hotel buffet fayre. There was not a lot of changes made each meal - the basics stayed the same - but we always found more than enough to eat. It was well cooked and plentiful.

Some have written about taking the train from the airport, it is possible and not hard, but for the first visit we did not want to do this so booked a taxi via Holidaytaxis. They could not have been more helpful, and even a change we made to return times was handled well and accurately.

Others have also written about getting around, although it does feel as if Torremolinos is designed as one large resort that you are not expected to leave. We found it hard to get info on trips out, the tourist information and local excursions places were closed for siesta! Other than reps folders there was no info in the hotel about trips out. We went to Gibraltar for the day, which was ok in Feb, and the rock is impressive, but in the summer would be horrendous, as there is only one road in and out and two checkpoints to negotiate. If you go pay for stuff in sterling, the euro exchange rate is awful!

As others have said the trains are good, cheap, exceptionally clean, on time and tourist friendly. The local station La Colina is a steady uphill walk and takes about 10-15 minutes from the hotel. There is a ticket machine, in English and it gives change.

The local bus stops outside the hotel going into Torremolinos town centre. It is possible to purchase BONO BUS cards which have ten trips for about 5-6 euros - brilliant value. It would be helpful if the hotel held some of these, and again there is no obvious info about this, just timetables in reception. It was some expats on the bus who showed us were to get the card.

It may sound as if I'm moaning, in fact we really enjoyed our week, but it could have been better, and it would have taken little things. For example, it was three days before we found there was a secluded room which showed the footie in large screen. Again some info about games and times in reception would have been helpful, since it seemed many folk stayed in or around the hotel a lot.

Beware of weekends! The Spanish turn up as families, which is great, but they seem to have little or no sense that others share the hotel with them. Especially at night, banging doors, loud conversations in corridors at 3am and someone in the next room seemed to be building something from Ikea at 2am!

For the price we paid for all inclusive this was fantastic value, but as we are not beach bums or pool huggers, there just was not enough about Torremolinos to encourage us back. Shame really.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisLuque, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Birchingtonbob :
I hope you had a delightful trip back to Birchington Kent .
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sorry you did not like the area.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marconfort Beach Hotel on a future occasion
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in February.
Firstly both of us never fell ill to the mystery bug other guests have reported. And the cleanliness of restaurant was very good.
We traveled from the airport via train and its the 3rd stop which takes 10mins for €1.80 each. from the station follow road and turn left down hill, and the hotel is on left side on sea front about 10min walk.
On arrival the hotel reception was very nice and we were allocated room on back side of hotel. We asked to change rooms so we could be pool side as the sun shines on balconies on that side all day. We moved the following day.
The rooms are very basic but cleaned every day and for price we paid we were happy. Beds are hit and miss. First room comfy. 2nd room one was damaged but managed to swap the 3rd bed so was ok for us.
Word of warning, the rooms are poorly sound proofed. You hear everything especially in rooms which link via a door.
Food was good for the price we paid and was always something we like to eat. You can get food near enough all day up until midnight. Out of meal times they have burgers and meat/cheese selctions. Drinks are plentiful.
Location is good for beach. However it is at the beginning of torremolinos and a 20min walk to the town.
Would we stay there again? Probably not. But i would recommend for families and anyone wanting a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisLuque, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ianforrester1983 :
First of all I would like to thank you for having stayed at the Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, while in Torremolinos, but also for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel and for recommending it to others.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
totnes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

this was my first trip to torremelinos and i have to say it was amazing , the staff were so friendly and polite , the hotel was exceptionally cleaned daily and the food was well presented and always hot .... not always a fantastic choice but lots of it . the indoor heated pool is on the small size and full when six people are using it but the outdoor pools more than make up for this . will definatley return again next year

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of the pool .... unlimited sunshine on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisLuque, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear kirstin j :
I hope you had a delightful trip back to Totnes.
Is a pleasure for us that you have chosen us for your first visit to Torremolinos and everything has been satisfactory.
I hope next year or maybe decide to return soon, in any case, thanks again for sharing your comments with other Tripadvisor users.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed five days, from Jan 25th 2013. Spent a long time, choosing the Hotel, reading reviews;
and so glad we picked this one. I did email our room preference, and this was taken into account, and we has a lovely double room on the 7th floor, over looking the pool and sea, also with mountain views; really could not get any better. The food was excellent value, very Spanish, a different Paella most days, always pasta, at least two fresh fish dishes, as well as chicken and other meats, salads and vegetarian options,local fresh crusty bread, soup, and an endless supply of wine (or beer, soft drinks etc) Amazing choice of puddings.They even catered for those wanting chicken nuggets, burger, hot dogs and chips. At the bar, this really was all inclusive, and an excellent choice; I was given a local version of Baileys, which was as good, and they don't give half measures !! I also ordered non stop sunshine, and was not disappointed, blue skies, sunshine, 30 degrees on our last day. Loved the indoor Jacuzzi too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisLuque, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear SueSunshiny :
I hope you had a delightful trip back to Southampton.
On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for staying at the hotel Marconfort Beach and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It gives a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have truly enjoyed your stay in Torremolinos.
We thank you for your kind words towards our hotel and team and hope that you will visit us again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just back from a fantastic week. The hotel is definetely a strong 3 star hotel. Rooms basic but a very comfy 7 inch memory foam mattress spotlessly clean and maid service every day. BIG TIP DO NOT PAY FOT A TRANSFER. there is a bus (the m128)that leaves right outside the airport and drops you at the door of the hotel or do what we did get the train to Los Alamos and there is a beautiful 20 minute flat stroll to the hotel either optiobn is around 3 euros per couple or a airport taxi is 18 euros,
The food is excellent , not 5 star or restaurant quality but great selection , about 6 hot dishes, multiple salads/ cold meats cheeses, two pasta dishes and freshly made (to order) pizza every night. Loved it.,
The staff are very friendly especially if you add gracias or por favor.
we travelled the region including a trip to Sevilla which was amazing and cheapest if you use the car hire shop next to the chemist,we used the train for a trip to Malaga another beautiful city only 3.9 euros reurn, Torrelominos is only a 30 minute stroll or get the bus right at reception.
I highly recommend this hotel for experienced travellers or perhaps people in their golden years as a fantastic miles long flat promenade.
Entertainmet not my thing but nightly free bingo and an act like Adele tribute, Michael Bauble tribute or magician a good effort really.
Oh and finally to show how seriously this hotel takes cleanliness they insist you use a hand sanitizer before entering the restaurant. Well done Marconfort Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny acing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisLuque, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear ECSL12 :
I hope you had a delightful trip back to Lanarkshire .
Just a short note to thank you very much for your wonderful review sent to Trip Advisor. We are all happy to read your comments, since they show us we are on the right direction in guest satisfaction.
Thank you again for sharing your trip with others who may be considering a stay with us. Looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again and again,
receive warm regards from Marconfort Beach Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went for a 4 night break from Mon 4th Feb. The hotel served our purpose and the sunny weather helped make it a good stay.
Other reviews mention the Spanish on holiday, but going midweek there were mainly British guests, service was easy, sunbeds available, no queues for tables, chairs, food or drinks at any time.
The hotel is at the end of the resort. However it is over the road from the beach, near to buses and 10 mins walk to the train. The train can take you to Malaga or Fuengirola or further should you choose and is low cost. The bus, from the front door also offers various opportunities for visits further afield and is low cost and easy. The hotel also provide free bike hire for up to an hour each time and this is sufficient time for a cycle along the long, lovely promenade up to Benalmedena (on a quick day).
We weren't in a pool side room, and our balcony didn't get any sun all day. We weren't in the room much, so it wasn't the worst thing in the world and regardless of the sun, every room on either side of the hotel must have a sea view - & ours was spectacular.
The room itself was fine, TV was good, and the beds were comfortable and clean, room cleanliness & maid service was good. We slept really well and there was no noise disturbance, though we did hear neighbours snores and our good nights sleep were probably due to neighbouring residents courtesy as the walls were thin.
We were all-inclusive, it was a good deal. The drinks were good Cruzcampo and we enjoyed the local wines and spirits we had (and we tried a few!!). We ate loads. Food was adequate, not fancy, but plentiful and cooked well. There was plenty of choice for a wide range of tastes, can't see how anyone could complain. We particularly enjoyed the choice of 2 home made soups at lunch and dinner time. The hotel seem to try hard regarding hand hygiene as you enter the restaurant. The crockery and cutlery lets it down, it's a bit tired, worn and consequently doesn't always seem very clean. Maybe it's me, but watching the waiting staff cleaning tables and then relaying tables by handling the fork and knife by the eating end rather than by the handle seems a fine way to pass on germs and would be an easy thing to address by quick staff training!
Entertainment - there was a daytime activity programme, we didn't participate but those who did seemed to enjoy. Evening entertainment was standard bingo &/or quiz followed by an entertainer. We saw 3 acts, 2 of which were ok, the 3rd was disappointing but he seemed to be having a particularly bad day.
Pool area was ok. Too cold for us to swim, so can't comment on the water/pool experience. There were plenty of sunbeds and chairs but they were grubby. There was a general lack of tidiness around the pools, e.g. there were some socks/pants beside the pool all week and fag ends/tissues, plastic cups etc seemed to be left for days. We didn't see anyone clean the pool area all week, except the barman emptied the bin outside the bar now and again. This was the biggest let down for us, after all you want to spend as much time as possible outside in the sun when you can - and we did, but surrounded by other peoples rubbish which took the shine off a bit.
There was an indoor pool and spa but it didn't look very appealing and we didn't use it so we can't comment.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side every time! We asked, but didn't get and clearly you have a 50/50 chance depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisLuque, Subdirector at Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear BellaBlott :
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to comment your stay in our Hotel Marconfort Beach.
First of all, we would like to relay our most sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. You can be sure that we will take note of all your observations and that they will be transmitted to all of our staff in the Hotel.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marconfort Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marconfort Beach Club Hotel

Address: C. Pontinental 2, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marconfort Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel is located on the promenade in Torremolinos and is known for its excellent all-inclusive. It has three outdoor pools and direct access to Playamar beach. The guestrooms are bright and spacious, with panoramic views and a furnished balcony, as well as bathroom with hairdryer. It also offers a satellite TV with international channels, a safe for rent and free WiFi access. The resort features a wide range of daytime and nighttime entertainment. It has a poolside terrace with loungers, a gym, a heated pool, and a sauna (open seasonally). It also has a playground, a game room with billiards and darts, minigolf and free bike rental. The buffet restaurant offers a great variety of specialties like an Italian corner, a kebab corner, international cuisine and live-cooking show, as well as an adult only area. The hotel also has two more bars, one of them besides the pool. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, and the hotel has a tourist information desk with tour bookings and car rental. The hotel is one mile from city centre and only three miles from Malaga airport. It also offers car and bike rental, plus free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Marconfort Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Torremolinos
Beach Club Torremolinos
Torremolinos Beach Hotel
Torremolinos Beach Club Hotel
Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconfort Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.