We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isabel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel Isabel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 47, Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Isabel was a perfect hotel . If we come back to the Costa del sol we go to Hotel Isabel .
Definitely room with a sea view .
Breakfast was perfect and delicious .
The staff was very friendly and the hotel very clean, ten points!

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    153
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
67
266
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a few days in this hotel, it was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was at the side of the hotel which did not get the sun, but didn't really mind as we spent our day sitting at the pool. Breakfast was self service buffet and had plenty of choice. It was a bit of a walk to the main area but we didn't mind a stroll along the promenade before dinner. Plenty of pubs restuarants and shops there, although it was a more mature place not suited to young people. If I was going back to this area again I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel spotlessly clean and staff very helpful. Didn't like having to "hire" the safe in the room and fridge - cost an extra 50 euros for 2 weeks. However, it is a long walk to the main eating/shopping areas. If we were to go there again we would choose a hotel further along the coast, not on the Paseo Maritimo where the sea front restaurants were rubbish. To get anywhere half decent you had to climb all the steps (lift shuts at 9pm) and go all the way back down later. Only decent restaurant was the Granvinos on the Plaza de San Miguel, a square off to the left of the main drag. Only saving grace was The Irish Affair bar where we were entertained in great style by Neil McBride (think that's the right name) and the drinks were reasonably priced. Resort itself has great beaches and is very quiet. Trip to Tangier was fantastic value for money and well organised.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here with my daughter for October half term break, the god thing was that the weather was still 75 degrees all week but the resort itself was winding down as most hotels close from November to feb. The resort itself is showing its age in my opinion and is probably more suitable for the over 60's as there seems to be little in the way of entertainment anywhere although that could be the fact it was October. Wasn't a lot of people in the resort overall but what was strange was that our hotel was full and if other hotels were the same god knows where people were eating out as most restaurants were virtually empty. The hotel itself was fine, the room was average size but always kept clean, they seemed to be coming in every day which is unusual so in that respect was great service, the whole of the place was great in terms of cleanliness. Nice balcony to sit on if you wanted to, had a side room with partial sea view, room 408. Staff were all quite pleasant and service was good except sometimes if you wanted a drink from the bar you had to search for someone to serve you. The breakfast was okay with hot choices like scrabbled or fried eggs, crispy bacon, beans and sometimes sausages or I call them frankfurters as they are not traditional sausages. In fact the frankfurters were swimming in oil so we're not my cup of tea so left them drowning in the oil. Good coffee machine making latte, espresso, etc and other things available wee croissant, chocolate filled some of them, yoghurts, fruit, milk shakes, ahem, cheese,etc. I did not go in the pool as it was not heated and even my daughter who is a keen swimmer found it very cold. I can't criticise too much about this hotel at all as it is clean, friendly staff who will serve what you need, albeit from the limited menu available, has a pool but it is cold, has a good location directly over from the beach. I guess everyone knows that 4* in Spain is not the same as 4* in Britain so don't expect it to be as once the hotel gets its rating it never changes unlike England. Good for anyone who likes beach front location, a quiet hotel without the bells and whistles.

Room Tip: Choose level 2 or above for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second time at the Isabel.Hotel is very friendly, breakfast is good varied selection Rooms very clean.Wehave had sea facing rooms on both occasions and a high floor is a must.Pool area is very quiet only problem is that guests tend to reserve BEDS and often don't return until late afternoon!!! Will certainly return again. Belinda in reception is great-extremly friendly. and very helpful.

Room Tip: High floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This hotel is great. Located just across the road from the beach, with big balconies which allow you to enjoy the view. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Because we had booked this hotel for a special occasion, we had booked champagne for our room.Not only did we have the champagne, but the management gave us chocolates also, and then told us that they were free of charge! How kind and thoughtful is that?
The rooms are spacious, bright, and spotlessly clean, as are all areas of this hotel. There are a fabulous array of toiletries in the rooms, and they are replenished each day. The towels are lovely and thick, and pure white. The hotel also provides towels for the pool / beach, free of charge.
Ours was a superior room, and had a large wrap around balcony. All balconies are a good size.
Breakfast was varied and of good quality.
The hotel is located in a pretty quiet part of the resort. However, you can walk a short distance up to the old town centre, which is lively. The train station is located there, and the trains are very cheap and run frequently. We went to Malaga and Fuengirola on the train, and both journeys were enjoyable, and quite short.
There are a variety of restaurants around the hotel, along the promenade, so if you go B & B, you will always find somewhere to eat in the evening.
We love the fact that there was no entertainment. Complete peace and quiet. Great.
A great hotel, in a great location, and with fabulous staff. Loved every minute of our stay in Hotel Isabel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a great view of the beach. Ask for a high room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Stayed in this resort in October 2014 and my stay was split between this hotel and the Sol Don Marco - both are rated 4* however Hotel Isabel gives much greater value for money, it is a quiet hotel with probably less than 50 rooms, so little danger of noisy kids or stag parties etc

I found everything of a great standard except how miserable the staff were - on checking in the gentlement sighed as I arrived at the desk and asked for the room safe. He didnt offer me the wifi code which went I had to go back down to get it, at which point a different man was there who was equally miserable. Really slow to serve, same experience at check out.

The rooms were great, much better than what I expected of a spanish 4* hotel, very clean, great shower cabinet, decent selection of tv channels, nice touch of hotel branded toiletties in the bathroom

The pool area always had availability of sun loungers, no one tried to reserve which made it great for everyone, no kids in the hotel so very quiet with a seperate garden area beside the pool also with sun loungers on it

Although further to the quiet area of the resort (airport end) its location is about 10 mins walk from the much higher (up lots of steps) resort centre , there are a few irish bars on the beach level a couple of mins in each direction, but I was surprised by the lack of "typical british" bars in this resort overall, so if thats what your after go somewhere else.

Along the beach it is the usual restaurants showing pictures of egg and chips on a plate, which kinda put me off them, burger king two mins away and some classier looking places on the beach side of the road, but id recomend going up into the centre and trying out some restaurants there some nice side streets and courtyards. The steps are in a street behind the main street beside the Hotel Melia, on that street directly opposite The Ship Inn bar there are a few steps that lead round to the lift, which for 30c takes up you to the town centre, the 200 or so steps are not that bad tho esp when coming back down them.

I got the train direct from Malaga airport to this hotel for 1.75e, took less than 15 mins and a lot better than a 20e taxi unless there are a few of you. Just come out of the terminal building walk across the road and there are ticket machines which you can select the language etc so very easy to buy and trains were better quality than the UK, from the station in the main town square its down all those stairs or take the lift if you have luggage, very easy

Back to the hotel id certainly say it offered much better value for money than the much bigger Sol Don Marco (which is a couple of mins walk away) so if returning id choose Hotel Isabel first and would highly recommend it to anyone, especially if the staff were not as miserable the next time

Room Tip: Rooms 6-9 on each floor are on the side of the hotel and get great sun late into the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabel

Address: Paseo Maritimo 47, Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isabel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isabel is located in front of the beach on the main promenade of Torremolinos. The Hotel stands out for being friendly and with the main objective of improving quality. Totally reformed it offers 70 bright, carefully decorated rooms. If you wish to spend some time relaxing we recommended sunbathing on the loungers around our swimming pool. At the Hotel Isabel we like to take care of the smallest details, and therefore we have available free WI-FI for clients who need an internet connection HOTEL ISABEL would like to inform you that we have obtained the Q of quality certificate from the institute of Spanish tourism quality (ICTE). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Isabel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.