We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quietest beach hotel I ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isabel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isabel to your Saves list
Hotel Isabel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 47, Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Krasnogorsk, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The quietest beach hotel I ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel is relatively small and very quiet: no crowds, no evening shows, no maids talking and laughing in the corridor at 7.00 am. No queues at breakfast either. The breakfast itself was quite good.
The location is excellent - near the beach and yet a walking distance from the town centre.
The rooms are quite spacious, very clean and have good soundproofing - we barely heard our neighbours. There is free wi-fi in the room, but please keep in mind to ask for 2 passwords if you have 2 laptops - you cannot use the same password on more than one device at a time. There is a safe box as well - it costs 2.5 Euro per day. They also charge 3.00 Euro a day for the fridge, but here is a little tip for those who stay longer than one week: if you order drinks for the minibar for 20 Euro they open the fridge and let you use it till the end of your stay.
The pool area is small but really lovely - there is a lawn and a garden full of roses in bloom.
The staff is extremely friendly and efficient. They answered all our questions and helped in everything, and always with a smile. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
I'm glad you felt comfortable and peaceful in our hotel as it is our intention to be a quiet family hotel. I appreciate your comments on the soundproofing of the rooms. It is very important to us. I hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    160
    44
    11
    3
See reviews for
68
282
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel looks simple from the outside but has a very nice lobby. The room was simple, but nice and comfortable with a nice sized balcony with a PERFECT view of the pool and sea! Breakfast buffet had a lot to choose from and was very fresh. Great location. We fell in love with Spain and if we make it back, we will definitely stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
I am glad that you emphasized the breakfast at the Hotel. It is a service to which we give much importance so that the client enjoys it and for this reason we only buy top brands Thanks for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

fab hotel. spotless. right across from the beach and near the town centre. rooms cleaned every day. free towels for poolside. had to pay for safe and fridge. tea/coffee making facilities in room. good variety at breakfast. beautiful sea view. we were on 2nd floor. was a bit noisy in morning as we seem to have been directly over kitchens. maybe a higher floor would solve this. overall a fab holiday. wud def go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thanks for your stay in our Hotel. Sorry for the annoying noises suffered in the morning, I can assure that the room is not over the kitchen. I imagine that the noise would come from the adjoining rooms. You should have told reception so that they could immediately find out where the noise came from. Thank you once again and I hope that you return to visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

6 of us went for a weeks holiday at hotel isabel at the end of june and it was a great place to stay.
The hotel was very clean and the rooms were cleaned everyday. The breakfast was ok but after afew days we were craving a good old fry up.At dinner time if you fancy a snack like a plate of chips,they wouldnt just serve that so we just went round the corner.
The rooms were lovely and was a nice touch to be able to listen to music other then just watching tv.We had rooms with a sea view which was great. The air con is the room worked really well,so well we often woke up cold and was free.The mini fridges in the room worked well and kept the drinks nice and cold.
We found that the best place to eat was Tudor Rose and we returned pretty much on a daily basis.
However avoid the so called 'all you can eat' chinese thats by the tudor rose.its not a buffet that you serve yourself they bring it out to you and you choose from a small menu, and then when do ask for some more they look at you like you have 6 heads.And it wasnt very nice either.
We went to san miguel street where there were loads of shops and went to tevoli world which was good even better if your under 12.They dont however tell you that you have to pay another 10euros for a wrist band to go on most of the rides,some you still had to pay for.
The only minus side was that the pool was small at the hotel but there was always a sunbed.Also it seemed you couldnt have inflatables which wasnt the best.
And dont put 6 people in the lift that isnt glass,we got stuck in there on the first night.
All in all was a great place to stay and i wish i was back there now.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
With respect to your complaint regarding the breakfast, I would be interested know exactly that foods you felt where lacking on the buffet because on a daily basis there are fried eggs, bacon and scrambled eggs, as well as two more hot dishes alternated every day including sausages, vegetables, pasta… etc. Thanks for your stay and emphasizing the cleaning of the hotel. For any consultation my personal mail is direccion@hotelisabel.net.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel twice before- both times very happy with everything.

During this stay a wine glass got knocked onto the floor in my room. I picked up the large pieces and on leaving the hotel that evening for dinner asked the reception staff if they could have someone brush the floor. On returning to the room later that evening the large pieces of glass picked up by me had been removed. However the entire spiky stalk of the glass remained lying just under the bed. I decided not to kick up a fuss and just to wait until the morning when the maid would be in anyway. To my disappointment later that day on returning to my room which had been cleaned I noted the stalk of the wine glass remained under the bed. On close examination of the rest of the floor my partner and I were able to pick up a further 10-20 small pieces of broken glass.

We were unable to wear flip flops or walk bare foot in our room for the remaining 3 days of our holiday.

All in all very disappointed with the service. As I mentioned had previously stayed here twice and loved it but would definately look for somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Madam,
we are sorry that you had problems during your stay.
All the staff try very hard to keep our guests happy but sometimes there
are human errors When you told us about the glass the barman cleand all
that he could see at the time, if you had called again he would of been
happy to return and with your guidence cleened up any remining glass. Once
again we are very sorry for this incedence and hope that you will stay
with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

the hotel was clean but the pool & garden was very small & if the hotel had have of been nearly full there would have been very cramped. the pool had no shallow end & would not b safe for nonswimmers or children. It cost £3 a day for the use of the fridge we asked about a late checkout & were told we could stay until 1pm any thing after would cost £25 we were then ordered from the room at 12.25pm. we did not find the staff very friendly apart from a young lady at reception & a lady called Carmen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your visit and for highlighting the cleanliness of the hotel which is very important to us. I am sorry that you won’t be back though I will respond to your criticisms. With respect to the pool, this winter we will carry out work in the garden although I would like to point out that the pool has, as is legally required, a minimum depth of 1 meter. I wish I could have a pool for children but with the available space it is impossible. With respect to the fridge apart from renting it you have the option of that minibar service, in which case you are not charged rent (you can find information on this service in all rooms). With regards to a late check out, I think that 25 € fee is a reasonable price to be able to use the room until 20 hours. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in a room overlooking the sea. The room was standard size, modern and clean. The hotel seems to be well kept and the staff is very friendly. What strikes you the most is the efficient and thorough cleaning of the room. Not a spot of dust or dirt anywhere which is very nice. The breakfast was good and they had everything we needed. The only possible negative thing about the hotel is the pretty small pool and pool area, but the hotel is just a short walk from the beach so we rarely used the pool anyway. There are a number of nice restaurants within 100 meters from the hotel and two well equipped supermarkets. Finding parking for your rented car can be difficult at times but there is a parkingfacility offered by the hotel though we did not use it. It worked pretty well anyway. We would definately like to come back and stay again at this very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesuspeinado, Gerente at Hotel Isabel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Many thanks for your comments on the cleaning of the hotel. For us it is very important that our clients feel that their room is impeccable during their stay. By the way, I like the photo of the hotel that you took. The facade is pretty at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabel

Address: Paseo Maritimo 47, Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isabel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isabel is located in front of the beach on the main promenade of Torremolinos. The Hotel stands out for being friendly and with the main objective of improving quality. Totally reformed it offers 70 bright, carefully decorated rooms. If you wish to spend some time relaxing we recommended sunbathing on the loungers around our swimming pool. At the Hotel Isabel we like to take care of the smallest details, and therefore we have available free WI-FI for clients who need an internet connection HOTEL ISABEL would like to inform you that we have obtained the Q of quality certificate from the institute of Spanish tourism quality (ICTE). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabel Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Isabel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.