We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residencia Miami Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residencia Miami Hotel to your Saves list
Residencia Miami Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Aladino 14, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“not bad at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Decided to stay on the coast near the airport after my last business trip (23 - 26 Nov 2011.)
Stayed at Hotel Torrepalma in Alcala la real for previous 2 nights. Had an early(ish) flight from Malaga and didn't want a 100 mile drive before flying.
For the price (€31) for the night, I thought it was really good value.
Basic hotel but clean and comfortable. Very quiet too and only about 60 or 70 metres from the beach.
Plenty of bars and restaurants and shops nearby too.
As always, the beaches in Torremolinos are nice with a great promenade. Shame the rest of the Costa del Sol resorts have built the motorways right on the beach!!!
Had lovely weather too!
All in all, I'd recommend this place if you wanted a budget winter holiday.
Has the benefit of parking inside it's own grounds too.

Room Tip: Just turn up and enjoy the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    17
    13
    4
See reviews for
27
42
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
estepa22
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Hotel Residencia Miami is a lovely old (for Spain) hotel just a few minutes from the beach. I stayed there on my own as had to be on the coast for a couple of days. When the Spanish restore it can end up being a bit kitsch and this was - see photos, but it was right up my street. The hotel photos are pretty accurate. Beautiful old tiled floors and a lovely terrace and garden.

On the down side - and being v honest: the room was a bit pokey and bed strangely rather short and not the most comfortable. The shower was a bit old. There was air con and narrow french windows looking out onto the back street which I quite liked. There was a tiny TV and fixed right up in the corner of the room so not really watchable.

Breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine was pretty but rather basic: tea/cofee, a bread roll and jam. On the second day I took my own fruit and yoghurt and also a lemon for my tea. The pool was lovely and fairly quiet - I think most people just head for the beach, and there was a small bar that opened in the afternoon. However, all the sunbeds apart from one were completely flat and not adjustable so unless you get the one adjustable one you can't sit comfortably to read - didn't get that at all. I like the shade and the garden was very shady and was well kept - big bonus. Reception staff could have been a bit more friendly - I got the impression they were really just there to do the admin rather than run the desk and help guests. But I loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again. If you want something a bit quirky then this is the place for you. Before I left I asked which rooms had terraces and was told rooms 17 & 20 (twins) and 14 & 19 (doubles) do.

Turn left out of the hotel and there is a little spanish bar on the corner. Great tapas. And the Italian on the right served a great salad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

not a particularly friendly welcome. we knew it was only a 2 star hotel so didnt expect the ritz. we had booked with booking.com 9 months before and requested room with balcony. we were told this was not possible as we were only paying for a standard room and we were put in room 8. avoid this room at all costs. very small and dowdy with extremely small hard double bed. it would maybe have been ok for one or two nights at the most. we tried to make the best of it but as the week progressed we werent able to sleep. definately not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmdej, Propriétaire at Residencia Miami Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Sir

I read with atention what you wrote about the hotel.
As you can understand, all our room are not with balcony o terrace. So it is impossible to provide for all our customer this kind of room. And in july far more complicated.
Furthermore, as you came by an agency, it was clearly written that the room would be standard. Even if you ask for something else. If we can provide it, we try. But in your case, it was not possible.
And we had a lot of family there in the same time, wich required bigger rooms, and so with terrace.
About the persons, I am very surprise about your remark on the not friendly welcome, because on the contrary, they are very friendly, and try to help all our customer.
And about the beds, I am sorry to read that it was too hard for you. We have a very few complaint about it.
But I will check on it anyway.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed for one week on the recommendation of a friend and will certainly go back! Spotlessly clean bedroom with good air con and comfortable beds. Bathroom very clean and towels changed frequently. Staff very friendly and gave good advice re nearby restaurants etc. So close to beach and good flat walks along promenade either into Torremolinos or Benalmadena. The area of La Cariheula is more an old fishing village and although very touristy not TOO built up. Got taxi from airport as arrived 10pm - 17 euros. Train link very good also. Get off at Montemar Alto and 15 min walk downhill to hotel. Had planned to take train back to airport but too hot and hill too steep for me. Went to Granada and Alhambra - easy trip by train to Maria Zambrano station then bus. Book online from UK. Cost us 90 euros all in for 2 compared to travel agents wanting well over 100. Our bus back from Granada was a "supra" and included water and snacks! All in a great week!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Enjoyed a 2 night stay in this quirky hotel, not for those who want all the add ons and extras, but great if you are happy to stay some where a bit different, quiet peaceful and close to the beach with real character. No buffet breakfast or bar etc. and the beds are hard, but I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: over looking the pool is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest U.K
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed 3 nts. ground floor room, quite spacious, antique furniture (not beds), nice modern bathroom, Good air con' , roomy terrace overlooking private garden. No Kettle, iron or hairdryer and instructions requesting not to use your own electrical items.
Lovely gardens, nice but chilly pool, Spacious Terrace, plenty of shade. Sunbeds in good condition.
Dinning room, really quaint. breki was hot toasted roll with butters and jams, choice of hot drinks plus O.J and a magdelinas, bar closed.
Plenty of private parking, good central location, on a slight hill, only 2 mins to cafes, bars and lots of shops. Only 3 mins from beach with even more restaurants, bars etc.
20 Euro's in taxi from airport. Walked to Torremolinos and got train to airport on way back, 1.3 euro's each.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view if you like a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Fantastic Location and very Spanish, not for those who like tourist and lively, that's the reason we loved it so much, peaceful but not to far from restaurants, bars and the beach.

Didn't make it for the breakfast so couldn't comment on how it was, we didn't have evening meal while around Ten in the evening so it wasn't breakfast for us till Lunch :
Bar could have been open more but, it didn't matter there are plenty within a short stroll.
No tea and Coffee facility's In rooms so take a travel kettle if you like your Brews.
Loved it so much planning a return visit in October :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencia Miami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Miami Hotel

Address: Calle Aladino 14, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Miami Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel, design par Picasso's cousin in the 50's in the real andalou style for a Gypsy Queen. Situated at 50 meter from the best beach in the area, 10km from Malaga's airport. It is a beautiful and quiet oasis among the buildings around. It has been renovated for 6 years. New Bathrooms, air conditioning unit, TV. Swimming pool with salt to avoid the chlorine. You can also eat a delicious paella made on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residencia Miami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencia Miami
Residencia Miami Torremolinos
Residencia Miami Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencia Miami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.