We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel that needs a bit of updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Sur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marina Sur Hotel to your Saves list
Marina Sur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marujita Diaz 14, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel that needs a bit of updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel was quite comfortable but needed some updating. It was clean and quite pleasant and the staff, on the whole, were quite friendly. There was a good view from the balcony and a nice swimming pool and seating area outside. Breakfast was ok but the food could have been a bit more varied, with more fresh fruit and better coffee. The bath was a bit slippery so you have to be careful or bring a safety bath mat with you to put in the bath. There were mainly Spanish guests staying there when I was there.

Room Tip: I had a peaceful room with a balcony looking out towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    39
    19
    31
See reviews for
33
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Looked for cheap holiday and this hotel came into that category. Friendly staff was highlight off our stay here. Room badly in need of lick of paint and bathroom needed bit of attention but balcony was great. Ask for corner room if you want large balcony. Rained on last 2 days so we were forced to have breakfast here. Pretty dire food I'm afraid. Good selection of hams, cheeses and bread with cereal and fruit also on offer but if you like a fried breakfast then this is not the place. Hard stodgy scrambled eggs, fatty bacon, potato rings,black pudding? and strange sausages (all cold). Didn't want to chance evening meal so ventured out in rain. We stuck to cereal and toast on our last day here. Even the coffee tasted strange. Also, went to bar one evening where about half a dozen young Spaniards were drinking bottles of San Miguel but whoever served them seemed to have vanished into thin air. Waited for about 5 minutes for service then gave up. Very poor. Ideally situated for beach and games room and pool area were fine.

Room Tip: Corner room for large balcony but also try for one at front of hotel if you want sun for longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a very short break (2 nights) on a half board basis. I wish I had booked room only due to the food which was served which after viewing I decided to eat out anyway.

Room was OK but no more than although it was clean. Reception staff were very pleasant as with all other staff that I came into contact with. The bar man was rarely behind the bar when I visited however, I did find out that the chap was performing two roles, bar man and waiter in the resturant.

I was aware the hotel was set back somewhat from the main resort front but did not realise how far and much of an incline. If you have problems walking up hills then this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If youhave no transfer arranged then I caught the train at the airport to Torremolinos station (1.80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This has got to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, the food was terrible and i feel sure the pool filter system was not working. We stayed half board and only entered the dining room once to eat and we immediately turned around to find a restaurant to buy some food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

the reception staff were friendly and made a good effort to speak our first language, the room was good apart from burn marks and a bath with poor repairs to the bath. the balcony view was amazing, you could see the sea. the hotels cleaning staff were good mostly however one day they took our towels and never gave us some fresh ones to replace the ones she took. the food was hideous so i advise to go bnb if anything we went half board which wasnt too bad as we ate out for lunch every day and just put up with the food. where the hotel was situated was perfect because we got alot of sun on the pool area and on the balcony... the best part was that the hotel was only 5 minuets from the beach front and the main street that leads you to the main tourist attractions. the hotel advertises a spa and its untrue.

Room Tip: try to get any room ending in 9 above the 5th floor because its a sea front view then :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place should be closed down,and i will be writeing to all sites that offer accomadation there, it is a HEALTH HAZARD. after our vist i now no to take bad reviews seriously, the food was beyond bad, and UNSAFE,i think they are makeing the food so bad (it was awful) so that you dont go back to the restaraut so they TAKE YOUR MONEY for food you dont eat, they never had much food out .RESTRAUNT ALWAYS EMPTY, we were half board but only had coffee and toast for breakfast (which we were expected too clear away overselves)and went out for our evening meals,the pool had green slime on the walls, no chemicals in this pool,The room was third world furniture, staff were indiffrent, manager rude, i booked threw easy jet, and i want a refund.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY this place should be closed down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there only one night, fir a made a mistake with our apartment booking and realized it only when arriving to Torremolinos. Marina Sur was cheap and close to our previous location, so we booked our last night there for 38 euros (2 people, breakfast included!).
The room had a nice viewof the sea, powerful AC and clean bathroom.
People at the reception desk were kind to us, giving us the choice of the floor. When I came down at midnight thirsty, I got a bottle of water from the bar, even if it seemed to be close.
Breakfast was good, except juices (too sweet) and salad fruit (awful, still wondering what fruits it was made from).
I didn't use the swimmingpool, but saw I from our room and seemed to be clean.
I'm not sure we'd stay there for a week, but I think it's not a bad option for a night or two, specially since it's so unexpensive !!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Sur Hotel

Address: Marujita Diaz 14, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Sur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Sur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina Sur
Marina Sur Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Sur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.