We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style Spanish Hotel with Modern facialities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tarik

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tarik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tarik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 49, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old style Spanish Hotel with Modern facialities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Tarik Hotel is clean, comfortable and generally high standards of excellence. Rooms cleaned everyday and have private balcony not overlooked when sitting. Lovely maintained pool area with the only noise was the little finches birds tweeting around palm trees. Breakfast buffet was ok and coffee machines were excellent. We had breakfast elsewhere on number of occasions
We had a few negatives that I hope management would take as constructive criticism and rectify. Firstly we booked a double bed room with a sea view back in January of this year. On the day before arriving I emailed the manager of our requirements again as we were eagerly looking forward to Sea view room. On arrival we were told our room was ready and told by receptionists that ”is a very good room” .Room 212 is on first floor looking on to the flat roof of restaurant below and out to sea with your back to the pool. We were very disappointed and would not recommend this room if you had paid the higher price. Two hours later we moved to a room on 3rd floor after consulting with receptionist and the expressionless man .We were very happy with this room even though it had 2 twin beds instead of a double as ordered.
Power showers have a plentiful supply of hot water, but be aware when shutting off the water that it is the hot tap you turn first as the knobs are at bath level and like me you can mistakenly turn cold off first and you will not need to sunbath that day.
When a hotel says satellelite TV you assume that everybody is catered. Their was 40 TV channels with 3 English speaking News channels (BBC world,Bloomberg,CNCB)and they just repeated same news over and over and over and over again. Lots of English programmes but dubbed in Spanish and German. Either put some English channels on or on Hotel facilities website says Satellite TV (we do not cater for English speaking guests) and give the guests a refund for misleading them.
I read in an earlier review about sun beds been old and was conscience of this when using them. First day we were fine but the following day my back hurt on the older metal framed sun bed. After examining I found some of the metal framed beds are tightened underneath and depending who has been lying on them the cords loosen and your back is hitting on the metal crosspiece underneath. Weekly review of older metal beds and tightened when required because they are very uncomfortable and not all guests will complain to staff but will tell other guests and friends about facilities at hotel. Hope the negatives can be resolved to make your guests happier.

We enjoyed our holiday at this hotel because it has high standards, pleasant and happy staff except for expressionless man on reception. Good standards of cleanliness, location, peaceful at night and nice pool area. Will recommend to other people but hope TV issue is resolved by then.

Room Tip: Avoid room 212 looking at roof of restaruent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

En primer lugar quiero agradecerle tanto su estancia como sus comentarios.

lamento muchísimo no haber estado a la altura de sus expectativas y me pongo a su disposición en direccion@hoteltarik.com pues por los datos que figuran en su comentario, no puedo localizar su reserva.

Aquí me puede enviar su reserva y me aseguraré personalmente de que disfruten de su estancia.

Atentamente,

Oskar Gordon

Director Hotel Tarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    70
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
70
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just across from a lovely sandy beach, this small hotel has wonderful beach views, a great pool, and good food. We took the half-board option of dinner and breakfast and it was delicious, plentiful and cost effective.the hotel is low rise , only 3 storeys high. The staff were friendly and efficient.The balcony and view were superb and the room safe was very handy despite it costing $15 /week . We stayed for 3 weeks.We would stay again but not for so long.

Only negatives were that the room size was compact, the small double bed was very firm and the shower just dribbled - need to update the shower fittings we think.Luckily there was also a bath.The floors are tiled and the doors do make alot of noise unless closed with care.

Room Tip: Choose the twin rooms and push the beds together as the small double bed is barely adequate for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really affordable, right across the beach, central, nice breakfast buffet. Everything was as we had expected, or better. Good standard. Nice and welcoming staff. Simply a superb place :) a 10-15 min walk to the centre of torremolinos, where you can catch a bus or train to malaga central station. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back (literally) from 5 days at Tarik Hotel, Torrbemolinos. Nice hotel, large comfortable room, decent balcony. Staff all very friendly and prepared to help anyway they can to make your stay pleasant. Generally meals were very nice, plenty of choice and lots of it (only one evening meal we didn't really enjoy). Next to a couple of lively Irish bars and across the road from sandy beach with plenty of comfortable sunbeds. Good promenade to walk along into Benalmadena if you feel like a change of scenery or you could go into the town centre and hop on a train to Malaga.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool/garden if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friend and I travelled for our usual Spring break in May 2013. We chose the hotel for it's size and Spanish feel - we were not disappointed. There is no entertainment and I would not recommend for families with small children - most of the clientele were couples over 30.
Good mix of nationalities, which we prefer.
Hotel is directly across the road from the beach. Rooms are on 3 floors and set on 3 sides around the swimming pool on inner side of the corridor, but face buildings next door on the outer side.
Nice, comfortable sitting area, off reception, where 2 computers are available to guests for very reasonable charge. Glass doors lead to dining room and swimming pool/outside seated area.
Bedrooms are a good size with a generous en suite - shower was powerful - hooray. Hairdryer in bathroom. No kettle, but we took our own. Walls are thin - particularly noticeable in the bathroom !!!
We had a room with balcony near the front, but facing the restaurants next door, which was noisy, but we coped and had a beautiful view of the sea, on an angle.
Originally, we were allocated a room facing the pool, but unfortunately this had a double bed - we had specified a twin. I did ask for a twin room, facing the pool, but I was told this was not possible, as they were fully booked - the hotel was NOT full at that point.
We stayed on a half board basis. Buffet style and more than adequate. The hot plates did not work well at all and so some food was lukewarm at best.
All staff were pleasant and helpful - good English speakers too.
We weren't very lucky with the weather - experienced sun, cloud, wind, rain, cold all in one day ! We did discover a marvellous cafe/ice cream parlour that served the most delicious hot chocolate - I know, but we were cold ! Cafe called Mandarina y Cava - turn right at Burger King and just up the slope - beer, coffee, sangria was great too. Run by a welcoming Spanish couple.
Hotel checkout is at 12 noon. There is a locked room to leave cases and a shower room off the pool, if you have a later flight.
We had a good stay, but would prefer a pool facing room if I was to return - and some sun, of course !
Feel free to ask questions, if I've forgotten anything.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Literally just across the road from the beach in one end of Torremolinos, just a 10 min walk from the city center. Plenty of restaurants around the hotel and loads more within 10-15 mins. walk. Hotel is of older date, but rooms are of good standard, beds ok without beeing amazing, everything spotlessly clean, grounds are well kept. Walls are bit thin, but not much noise in general (despite the german bikies). Staff nice, speaks english well (the ones we spoke to on check in/out).

Only had the breakfast, but it was plentiful, (eggs, bacon, croisants, bread, cold cuts etc), could use a bit more fresh fruit instead of the canned stuff, and way to much viennoiserie for my taste. Could up the quality and cut down on quantity of breakfas items.

In a town of 60's and 70's architecture horrors, this place is actually quite nice. Nothing fancy, but well worth it for the money. Recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool probably has a nicer view in general, but i think that the ones faceing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really nice hotel with fair prices. Staff was friendly and helped us with excursions.
Most guests seemed to be German, between the ages of 50 - 60 years old. This probably goes for majority of the hotels in Torremolinos. Torremolinos seems deserted.
Hotel is right at the beach, but we always found plenty of free parking spaces right in front of the hotel.
Wifi is free, but only available in lobby area. It's a pretty small hotel so with a simple wifi extender you would have a lot more happy guests.
Breakfast was OK. Unfortunately, the dinner buffet is extremely poor. The food was not only terrible, it was also cold most of the time. Of all the (many) hotels we've stayed at, this was the worst dinner buffet we've ever experienced. By far.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte Hotelgast,

wij danken U ten zeerste voor uw commentaar in tripadvisor over uw verblijf in Hotel Tarik. Op de eerste plaats willen we U onze excuses aanbieden voor het dinnerbuffet tijdens uw vakantie. We doen onze uiterste best om de maaltijden warm aan te bieden en hebben momenteel in het buffet een variatie van 4 types salade (eenvoudig en samengestelde), 4 keuzes en vlees en vis, en 7 verschillende nagerechten. We hopen dat U in de toekomst weer bij ons verblijft en de verbeteringen zelf uitprobeert. We staan ter uwer beschikking op volgend e-mail adres: direccion@hoteltarik.com
Met vriendelijke groeten.
Oskar Gordon
Direkteur Hotel Tarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tarik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarik

Address: Paseo Maritimo 49, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tarik 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tarik is a friendly hotel located right on the seafront in Torremolinos (Malaga, Spain), overlooking the largest beach in the Costa del Sol.Facing the Mediterranean Sea in the Playamar area, the hotel is just 10 minutes car ride from Málaga airport, with 2 golf courses nearby.The hotel's 3-storey fully modernized building distinguishes itself from other hotels in the area thanks to its environmentally friendly Andalusian-style architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tarik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarik Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Tarik Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tarik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.