We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, but dinner buffet is absolutely terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tarik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tarik to your Saves list
Hotel Tarik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 49, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel, but dinner buffet is absolutely terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really nice hotel with fair prices. Staff was friendly and helped us with excursions.
Most guests seemed to be German, between the ages of 50 - 60 years old. This probably goes for majority of the hotels in Torremolinos. Torremolinos seems deserted.
Hotel is right at the beach, but we always found plenty of free parking spaces right in front of the hotel.
Wifi is free, but only available in lobby area. It's a pretty small hotel so with a simple wifi extender you would have a lot more happy guests.
Breakfast was OK. Unfortunately, the dinner buffet is extremely poor. The food was not only terrible, it was also cold most of the time. Of all the (many) hotels we've stayed at, this was the worst dinner buffet we've ever experienced. By far.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte Hotelgast,

wij danken U ten zeerste voor uw commentaar in tripadvisor over uw verblijf in Hotel Tarik. Op de eerste plaats willen we U onze excuses aanbieden voor het dinnerbuffet tijdens uw vakantie. We doen onze uiterste best om de maaltijden warm aan te bieden en hebben momenteel in het buffet een variatie van 4 types salade (eenvoudig en samengestelde), 4 keuzes en vlees en vis, en 7 verschillende nagerechten. We hopen dat U in de toekomst weer bij ons verblijft en de verbeteringen zelf uitprobeert. We staan ter uwer beschikking op volgend e-mail adres: direccion@hoteltarik.com
Met vriendelijke groeten.
Oskar Gordon
Direkteur Hotel Tarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    82
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
42
98
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atyrau
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is pretty much ideal and in this price range very hard to fault.

The staff are excellent; helpful and with great English language skills. The breakfast is really good. The range of food is good and the quality is fine. We didnt eat other meals there because there is such a superb range of places to eat within a few yards of the hotel that it was pointless to do so!

The place is clean and well kept. The chamber maids do a reasonable job. The pool of lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds (some a bit old, but perfectly serviceable.

Praise does not come lightly from me as you will see from my other reviews! This really is a very good place and I really recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a couple you need to go for a proper double bedded room; not a room with two single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Returned yesterday after spending a very enjoyable week. If you want small and quite traditional the Tarik is for you. Perfect spot with terrace overlooking beach. Standard of cleanliness very good and staff more than happy to help in every way.We would most definitely stay here again, but on a bed and breakfast basis as the food served at Dinner was never warm enough and not really to our taste. We did mention the temperature of the food a few times without much success.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon

Director Hotel Tarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was apparently one of the first beach-front hotels in Torremolinos in the 60's, and it's really retained some charm from that era.

Rooms are nicely furnished and are serviced every day to a high standard. We were really concerned after reading some other reviews about staying half board but there was absolutely nothing to worry about. Breakfast was fine and dinner was consistently good. I'm quite a fussy eater and always found something - the braised meat dishes were delicious and house wine really good value. The waiting staff were always lovely too.

The hotel really comes into it's own if you enjoy lazing around the pool - it's amazingly quiet, no screaming children or fighting for sun beds... just a relaxing atmosphere with like-minded chilled out people. I probably wouldn't recommend it for families with little ones.

Would definitely return - if you're booked in here - enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Hotel Tarik which we thoroughly enjoyed. We normally stay in 4* Hotels in Spain but booked Hotel Tarik as it had very good reviews. We were not in any way dissapointed with this hotel. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and all had amazing English. Bar staff and restaurant staff were equally as good. The hotel is just 3 floors high which is rare in this location, and is situated right accross the road from the beach and has access to a great promenade. I used the internet in the hotel every day which is located in the lobby area, and only cost 50cents for 15 minutes which was very reasonable.

We booked a Terrace Room and were given a nice double room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was spotless, big and airy, with a bath/shower which was not expected. The room was cleaned every day and sheets changed with fresh towels if needed. We booked for Bed & Breakfast and the food was really great with good variety. Scrambled eggs and fried eggs which were perfectly fried, tomato, spanish bacon, beans etc. Also a variety of cakes, cheese, fresh fruit, ham, cereals and breads. Breakfasts were very busy but the tables were cleared quickly and there was never any queue. All the food was quickly replenished when needed. We left our towels on the sunbeds one day when it started to rain, and when I went down to retrieve them 15 minutes later I could not find them and went to reception. They were at reception as they had been taken in and were holding them for us. This was a very thoughtful gesture.

We could not find any fault whatsover with this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Tarik and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad to hear that everything in your stay was so good.

Looking foward to see you again in the Hotel Tarik ,we will be at your enterly dissposition.

Your sincerly,

Oskar Gordon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have just got back from 5 day/ 4 night stay, there were 6 of us and none of us wanted to leave. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a superior room, not that we asked it just happened, into room 323, which overlooked the pool and then the sea, it was magical. The weather was fab, which obviously helped, but the location of the hotel was great, right on the front. Rooms very clean and a hair dryer is supplied. There was a shower over the bath and again all very clean. We booked on a half board basis with the idea of eating out every night as the reviews of the food were not great. For breakfast, were the usual cakes, hams, cheese, friut, cereals etc, also spanish bacon, spanish sausages, perfectly fried eggs, and scrambled egg, and either tomato or courgette - slightly random - bread (there wasn't a toaster, however there were petit pan which were toasted for you, along with marmalade and jams. The coffee I am told was really nice, no-one tried the tea. The fruit juice was made from real fruit and not concentrate which was lovely. Absolutely no complaints at all. The dinner we only ate a couple of times but that was only cause it was the original plan, the food was lovely, I am told (again didn't try it myself, cause I don't like it) that the soup was particularly good. Everything was hot and plentiful, salad, chips, veg - a different range -, and chicken, beef, lamb and fish. Really cant knock it at all, if you've been to Spain before you know what to expect, and it is better than quite a few of the hotels we've stayed in before.

Must recommend the El Velero Playa Restaurante for a meal out, a little pricey but absoultely fantastic, turn right out of the hotel and it's on the beach, roughly 10 min walk, get there early tho as there was quite a queue by 8pm. If you like Irish bars - the Irish affair is lovely with live music every night - wasnt open Sunday, again turn right out of hotel, you have to look out for it as only small signs. Turn left out of the hotel and go up the steps to - I think its called the Rose, homecooked food, English, very good cream tea !

One of the best hotels I have stayed in, only 3 floors, clean, friendly, lovely and we will definately go back again. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad to hear that everything in your stay was good.
Looking foward to see you again in the Hotel Tarik ,we will be at your enterly dissposition.

Your sincerly,

Oskar Gordon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Arrived late monday night, full of beans and excitement and headed straight for the bar and met lovely staff and Torremolenos natives. Very pleasant, clean rooms, slept like logs, ate a hearty breakfast and all very good value for money. Rooms cleaned every day, and fresh towels if needed. Perfect location for beach (right across the road), restaurants, bars and shops. Spent mornings wandering and trips into Malaga on the train and leisurely afternoons on sun-beds in the grassy, relaxing pool area (no towel-reserving shenanigans going on here!) Fantastic, friendly and happy staff! Beautiful evenings promenading on the very long beach-front promenade..great for people-watching and working up an appetite(and thirst):) Myself and my 2 daughters (in their 20's) and my mother( in her 70's) would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor was brill for pool area and easy access for elderly mother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad to hear that everything in your stay was good.
Looking foward to see you again in the Hotel Tarik ,we will be at your enterly dissposition.

Your sincerly,

Oskar Gordon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tarik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarik

Address: Paseo Maritimo 49, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tarik 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tarik is a friendly hotel located right on the seafront in Torremolinos (Malaga, Spain), overlooking the largest beach in the Costa del Sol.Facing the Mediterranean Sea in the Playamar area, the hotel is just 10 minutes car ride from Málaga airport, with 2 golf courses nearby.The hotel's 3-storey fully modernized building distinguishes itself from other hotels in the area thanks to its environmentally friendly Andalusian-style architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tarik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarik Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Tarik Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tarik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.