We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely, old-style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tarik

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tarik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tarik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 49, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really lovely, old-style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was apparently one of the first beach-front hotels in Torremolinos in the 60's, and it's really retained some charm from that era.

Rooms are nicely furnished and are serviced every day to a high standard. We were really concerned after reading some other reviews about staying half board but there was absolutely nothing to worry about. Breakfast was fine and dinner was consistently good. I'm quite a fussy eater and always found something - the braised meat dishes were delicious and house wine really good value. The waiting staff were always lovely too.

The hotel really comes into it's own if you enjoy lazing around the pool - it's amazingly quiet, no screaming children or fighting for sun beds... just a relaxing atmosphere with like-minded chilled out people. I probably wouldn't recommend it for families with little ones.

Would definitely return - if you're booked in here - enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
73
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Hotel Tarik which we thoroughly enjoyed. We normally stay in 4* Hotels in Spain but booked Hotel Tarik as it had very good reviews. We were not in any way dissapointed with this hotel. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and all had amazing English. Bar staff and restaurant staff were equally as good. The hotel is just 3 floors high which is rare in this location, and is situated right accross the road from the beach and has access to a great promenade. I used the internet in the hotel every day which is located in the lobby area, and only cost 50cents for 15 minutes which was very reasonable.

We booked a Terrace Room and were given a nice double room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was spotless, big and airy, with a bath/shower which was not expected. The room was cleaned every day and sheets changed with fresh towels if needed. We booked for Bed & Breakfast and the food was really great with good variety. Scrambled eggs and fried eggs which were perfectly fried, tomato, spanish bacon, beans etc. Also a variety of cakes, cheese, fresh fruit, ham, cereals and breads. Breakfasts were very busy but the tables were cleared quickly and there was never any queue. All the food was quickly replenished when needed. We left our towels on the sunbeds one day when it started to rain, and when I went down to retrieve them 15 minutes later I could not find them and went to reception. They were at reception as they had been taken in and were holding them for us. This was a very thoughtful gesture.

We could not find any fault whatsover with this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Tarik and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad to hear that everything in your stay was so good.

Looking foward to see you again in the Hotel Tarik ,we will be at your enterly dissposition.

Your sincerly,

Oskar Gordon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have just got back from 5 day/ 4 night stay, there were 6 of us and none of us wanted to leave. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a superior room, not that we asked it just happened, into room 323, which overlooked the pool and then the sea, it was magical. The weather was fab, which obviously helped, but the location of the hotel was great, right on the front. Rooms very clean and a hair dryer is supplied. There was a shower over the bath and again all very clean. We booked on a half board basis with the idea of eating out every night as the reviews of the food were not great. For breakfast, were the usual cakes, hams, cheese, friut, cereals etc, also spanish bacon, spanish sausages, perfectly fried eggs, and scrambled egg, and either tomato or courgette - slightly random - bread (there wasn't a toaster, however there were petit pan which were toasted for you, along with marmalade and jams. The coffee I am told was really nice, no-one tried the tea. The fruit juice was made from real fruit and not concentrate which was lovely. Absolutely no complaints at all. The dinner we only ate a couple of times but that was only cause it was the original plan, the food was lovely, I am told (again didn't try it myself, cause I don't like it) that the soup was particularly good. Everything was hot and plentiful, salad, chips, veg - a different range -, and chicken, beef, lamb and fish. Really cant knock it at all, if you've been to Spain before you know what to expect, and it is better than quite a few of the hotels we've stayed in before.

Must recommend the El Velero Playa Restaurante for a meal out, a little pricey but absoultely fantastic, turn right out of the hotel and it's on the beach, roughly 10 min walk, get there early tho as there was quite a queue by 8pm. If you like Irish bars - the Irish affair is lovely with live music every night - wasnt open Sunday, again turn right out of hotel, you have to look out for it as only small signs. Turn left out of the hotel and go up the steps to - I think its called the Rose, homecooked food, English, very good cream tea !

One of the best hotels I have stayed in, only 3 floors, clean, friendly, lovely and we will definately go back again. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad to hear that everything in your stay was good.
Looking foward to see you again in the Hotel Tarik ,we will be at your enterly dissposition.

Your sincerly,

Oskar Gordon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Arrived late monday night, full of beans and excitement and headed straight for the bar and met lovely staff and Torremolenos natives. Very pleasant, clean rooms, slept like logs, ate a hearty breakfast and all very good value for money. Rooms cleaned every day, and fresh towels if needed. Perfect location for beach (right across the road), restaurants, bars and shops. Spent mornings wandering and trips into Malaga on the train and leisurely afternoons on sun-beds in the grassy, relaxing pool area (no towel-reserving shenanigans going on here!) Fantastic, friendly and happy staff! Beautiful evenings promenading on the very long beach-front promenade..great for people-watching and working up an appetite(and thirst):) Myself and my 2 daughters (in their 20's) and my mother( in her 70's) would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor was brill for pool area and easy access for elderly mother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very glad to hear that everything in your stay was good.
Looking foward to see you again in the Hotel Tarik ,we will be at your enterly dissposition.

Your sincerly,

Oskar Gordon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay and wish we could have stayed longer! The hotel was right on the beach and near many shops and restaurants. (I recommend eating at the ciao bella restuarant which is left coming out of the hotel before the mini supermarket and down the steps!) We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which was great. There was a selection of ham,cheese and pastries as well as fruit, greek yoghurt and a hot selection which changed every day (the bacon was fine!)
Our flight on the way home was at 7am and the 24 hr receptionist kindly offered to open up the breakfast bar for us at 5am.

We stayed in two air conditioned rooms on the ground floor which were both good sizes and lovely and clean. They opened onto the grassy pool area which was handy and we felt we didn't need a balcony. It was nice not to be in a high rise building,this seemed the only smaller one in the area.

We visited malaga twice by train which cost less than 4 euros each return. The train station is in the centre of torremolinos which if you turn right from the hotel along the beach and walk about ten mins you can use a lift which takes you up the hill. the lift costs 50 cent but its worth it! specially if you have nan with you!:D
The staff were lovely, really happy and chatty :)

We had lunch on the terrace most days which consisted of pizza and salads etc and the odd san miguel!

Would definitely recommend this place and would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every days.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon

Director Hotel Tarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at hotel Tarik for four nights during early April.
Friendly approachable staff and the hotel is clean enough!
Nice quiet pool area and free wifi available in the reception area. Some people but not all could pick up weak signal in the bar area too!
Our room had a balcony with a side sea view and a shower over bath which was adequate enough. There is also a hair dryer I the bathroom So you can leave yours off the packing list.
We stayed on a half board basis and this was our only regret and criticism of this hotel. The hotel has a restaurant open to the public however, when staying half board you are seated on a different area and you don't get to order from the menu like everyone else you simply select from a buffet area ( very limited choice ) and there is nothing positive to say about the food. Limited choice and slices of pork which are really slices of fat with a little pork stuck on as an afterthought or maybe spaghetti bolognese however that went quite quickly and no more provided and this was at 8pm and the restaurant ceases to serve half board at 9.30 pm.
The hot plates are inadequate and as a result the food is really cold by the Time you find your way to your table.
There is no kids selection and my 11 year old daughter ate chips 4 nights in a row as there was nothing else to tempt her pallet.
Dessert was around 3 choices, blamange or sliced banana or yoghurt or an apple or orange.
Breakfast was the same affair with 2 cereals which tastes like cardboard no toaster or try the bacon which is white as its all fat with a rare streak of pink??
All in all you will enjoy your stay if you book on a room only basis and dine out!!
If you are tempted to book b&b of half board my advice is DONT DO IT!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest;

We are grateful of for your comments: the negative and possite comments.
With your opinion we improved every day our services.

We are sorry about our buffet meal where not at your expectative.
Noday our buffet have: four kind of salad, two different kind of meat and fish, pasta or rice and vegestable. Also we have for the chidren chips and nuggets everyday .As a dessert we have fresh fruit, three more home made desserts and sweet desserts.

I am at your enterely disposition from your next stay with us.

kind Regards,

Oskar Gordon
Director Hotel Tarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was an excellent hotel for the price in a very good location. The front desk staff was exceptional, the bar was very nice and we found Torremolinos to be a very friendly beach town. The front desk staff steered us to Bodega Quitapenas when we were looking for a traditional tapas bar where the food was very good and the atmosphere was great fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Tarik T, Gerente at Hotel Tarik, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your feedback.

Thanks to them we are able to improve every day.
We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere wishes to have you soon at Hotel Tarik and if you wish, you can send us your preferences for your next reservation at

direccion@hoteltarik.com.

Sincerely,

Oskar Gordon

Director Hotel Tarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tarik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarik

Address: Paseo Maritimo 49, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tarik 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tarik is a friendly hotel located right on the seafront in Torremolinos (Malaga, Spain), overlooking the largest beach in the Costa del Sol.Facing the Mediterranean Sea in the Playamar area, the hotel is just 10 minutes car ride from Málaga airport, with 2 golf courses nearby.The hotel's 3-storey fully modernized building distinguishes itself from other hotels in the area thanks to its environmentally friendly Andalusian-style architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tarik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarik Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Tarik Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tarik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.