We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - Shame about the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Al-Andalus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Al-Andalus to your Saves list
Royal Al-Andalus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al-Andalus 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - Shame about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have stayed in the Royal Al-Andalus numerous times but won't be booking again. It has now been changed to an all inclusive hotel. The dinning room was terrible. All the tables were square in rows - looked like a school classroom and very close together. The hot (warm) food was really bad. The cook/chef could not keep up with the demand for food. The waiting staff hadn't got a clue what they were doing and didn't know where to get anything. We went for dinner the 1st night we stayed and ate out the 2nd night. Breakfast was nearly as bad as dinner. the cook could not keep up with the demand for eggs. The restaurant really disappointing and ruined our stay.
The good points were the hotel bedrooms were very big and roomy. Very quiet at night.
Location was great as so close to the beach.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thanks for your feedback. Regarding the food, buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers. We hope you give us another opportunity to show the good service of our hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel in April expecting four star standard and we were bitterly disappointed. This hotel would only rate at two star if that. The food was appalling and there was nothing labelled to say what was on offer. The crockery was chipped and cutlery was not clean. We were meant to have small bottle of water and small bottle of wine with our meal which I had to go and ask for and even then the waiter shrugged his shoulders like he didn't know what I was talking about. The restaurant was not opened to us and we had to use what looked more like a canteen. We did get moved to another hotel but were only given bed and breakfast when we had paid for half board in the royal al andulas which I didn't think was right as both were supposed to be 4 star hotels and the difference in the two hotels was incomparable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We note each of your comments in order to improve. We will work to try to satisfy your expectations in your next visit to our Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torremolinos hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our group of 18 arrived on Friday evening looking forward to our weekend away. Having managed to get an error on our reservation corrected, we were assured of a smooth check in at the hotel. How wrong we were! The gentleman on reception was the most belligerent person I have encountered in a long time. (This is the night time person on reception). As All Inclusive guests, we were given the obligatory wrist band, however, simple arithmetic was not this guys strong suit, and were told that people in the groupd had been given wrist bands when they had not. One of the party was also told he was given his room key, which he was not, and having "caught" him out, I managed to resolve all the issues and we successfully completed the check in process.
The hotel is spotless, the bar staff are great, and the rooms are very spacious. The food is ok, but nothing to write home about, however, the pool bar snacks are really good. The pool area is great, and again spotless, with plenty of loungers, and parasols for those who like a bit of shade. The gardens are lovely and very well maintained. Food service can be a bit chaotic, especially if there are tours in the hotel. We had a bit of a problem with the "gang" mentality of people from other countries, which was a bit tiresome, but again, I wouldn't let it stop me using the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, the views from the balconies are spectacular over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank callumhous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear customer,

Thanks for your feedback, we will inform human sources responsible about your comments of the staff. We recommend if you have any problem in the hotel to inform it during your stay to the head of reception in order to try to give you a solution at the spot. We would like to see you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on a late Tuesday evening on the 1st of April.
Firstly, up on arrival we went through to the receptionist who was very happy to help us out with finding our accommodation number and asking if we had a safe flight. Which we both thought was very nice and was a good start to be welcomed to the hotel.
On first glance at the hotel. It's very nice, the decor outside complete with statues and bulls around the hotel... (Traditionally very Spanish). We obviously on arrival rushed to our room... Room 353. On entrance to the room we noticed passing through the corridors it had a very good, clean and traditional look.. As we got to our room entrance.. We went through and we're very pleased with the size of the room.
Our room had 2 sinks and good size bathroom, a tv linked with English tele and Spanish alike. Our wardrobe was very spacious and had plenty of hangers to hang up our neatly folded clothes and an okay, small balcony.
On the all inclusive side of things, this is a brilliant hotel. They not only give local drinks but they give plenty of tipples and branded beers and pop. Some all inclusives do only local drinks... They mix it up abit and you get your money's worth at the snack bar... Always a good amount of vodka.
The service in the restaurant is great, you sit down and the waitress is straight over to ask you which drink you would like. Then you get up and there's food, including pasta, chips, meat and plenty of salads, fruit and deserts. Perfect to everyone with a wide range of taste!!
The wi-fi at the hotel can be patchy at times, but is a good way off showing off your get away in Spain. Unfortunately, it has yet to of reached around the pool or sunbathing areas..
The pool is off good size and looks clean and well looked after... Like I'd expect any 4* hotels pool to be like. There is both an outdoor and indoor entertainment and regularly there was evening entertainment.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jason,

Thanks for your great review of Hotel Royal Al Andalus. We love to hear that everything has been to your liking during your stay in Torremolinos. Surely your review it is very useful to other travelers. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

A long established Torremolinos favourite in some ways slightly dated but still a nice place to stay. Lovely views from bedroom balcony over the Carihuela village to the sea. Excellent pool, gardens and friendly staff. A little walk to the beach and quite a steep hill to climb if walking back and a little walk to the centre of Torremolinos. Superb value for the price being charged.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Canary175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thanks for your great review. Royal Al Andalus Hotel is located just steps from the Carihuela and we are surrounded by wonderful gardens. Our Hotel offers great value for money.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here 1st april for 4 nights after reading some ov the reviews I was really worried, but I found this hotel to be clean, bedrooms very big and the gardens were lovely the staff very pleasant I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the food wasent as good as other places iv been too but there was always plenty and we dident go hungry, we also got a good deal on this break which made it evenbetter, please dont be worried about staying at this hotel

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Tracey,

Thanks for your recommendation. As you comment on your review on Hotel Royal Al Andalus we work very hard to make your stay with us is a great experience. We love to read that we have exceeded your expectations. We hope to have you back with us on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had a relaxing 6nights with my husband at Royal Al-Andalus.The only downside was people moaning why waste a holiday make the most of it ok the food wasnt to alot of people 's taste but the was always something that suited us .Most poeple who were moaning seemed to eating and drinking plenty and for the price they paid i say well done to the hotel your staff were great very hard working . Our room was lovely very spacious and clean(2nd floor) .

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms facing pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrs h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thanks for your recommendation. We hope to have you with us on your next visit to Torremolinos. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.7 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#40 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 2,297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Costa Hotel
Royal Costa Hotel
#49 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#32 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#37 of 73 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Principe
Hotel Sol Principe
#24 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,974 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#17 of 73 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Al-Andalus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Al-Andalus

Address: Al-Andalus 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Al-Andalus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Al-Andalus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Al-Andalus Hotel Torremolinos
Royal Al-Andalus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing