We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Appreciation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Al-Andalus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Al-Andalus to your Saves list
Royal Al-Andalus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al-Andalus 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Appreciation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

On our last visit we pre-requested a room, which was available on arrival, with a pleasant smile from the English speaking Receptionist.
We have booked for two holidays again this year, because of the comfort of the Hotel and the support and warmth of the Staff.
We manage the food because the salads are excellent, and we invariably find an acceptable choice from the hot buffet.
The service is occasionally dilatory in the dining room.
Dining could improve overall if the experienced Restaurant Manager had overall control of the kitchen. There have been many management changes recently, and the latter could yet occur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. It will be a pleasure to have you in our Hotel, thank you very much for your faithfulness. We will take note of your suggestions. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    90
    80
    59
    37
See reviews for
83
141
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

i stayed at royal andalus hotel torremolinas from 19th october to the 26th october 2012 for my 60th birthday break with my wife, i work in the travel trade as a tour manager/guide for the past 12 yrs traveling around euorpe and uk/lreland and staying in different type of hotels, i would not say this is a 4 * hotel may be a fair 3* at a push, food would need a big look at and yes i know you cant please all but it was not good overall on any of the 6 nights , breakfast a poor avarage and tables not set for breakfast like they are for dinner, did bring these points to the reception staff and the chef on duty, you need to have a big look at this point for the future to improve your service to your guest, also i had booked a junior suite for my stay which was space wise good but a very very low bed need to sort this out need to be a lot higher for comfort its ok if you wish to nearly sleep on the floor, also a paint job in general of the hotel would be good for the hotel and guest, and the location area of the hotel is not very easy on the eyes 10 mins walk to beach but good when you get there for sure, also entertainment would need to be looked at 3 nights of bingo ok have bingo but lets have more real live entertainment if you want to keep guest in the hotel having a good time and enjoying your hotel,i would go back to this hotel if the above points are dealt with yes i understand hotels in general get maintance and general freshen up after a period of time , but keeping a place looking good, you have to work on it all the time i felt your hotel looked well used and tired to say the lease, a i did notice and herd people from ireland and germany saying they were not to pleased with things that i have brought to your attention but iam only bringing to you the facts fro myself, i have given you the information it is up to you what you do with it for your betterment of your hotel and first and fourmost your paying guest, this is not me just whinging or moaning about nothing this is how we see you with are own eyes, i hope this of help to the millons viewing trip advisor and you the hotel management over to you guys i awiat your reply on trip advisor in the days a head.

regards

brian d.
freelance tour manager

Room Tip: junior suite 4th floor its a good walk to it get one nearer to reception if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear customer,

We will take note of all your suggestions and comments. We will communicate to relevant departments. Despite the minor inconveniences of your stay we hope you enjoyed a relaxing break in Torremolinos. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page to see our promotions.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik, Iceland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would give them 2 1/2 if I could but didn´t feel like giving 3. The first was that when we came there was a trouble with finding our booking made by booking.com, it almost seems like the hotel staff does not use computers, every recervation was on a paper, there for my recervation made earlyer the arriving day was not there, it took too much time to check in. Also the reception would need more than one staffmember in such a large hotel, but all the time we spend at the hotel there was only 1 staffmember in the lobby, it would get very busy so few times we decidet not to ask the questions that we had and just went out to find the answers. The deccorations are cool and the hotel looks good, the rooms are good sized but I was surpriced to find out that a 4 star hotel did not have WIFI in the rooms. The food at the restaurant was ok but not more than that, we went out for the second night to try to find a good dinner. The Pool garden is Ok but because the hotel is sittuated in a population street the sun is just available at short period of the day. I did not feel like it was really professional but would have given them the rating 4 if they were rated as a 3 star hotel:-/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear customer,

We regret not meeting your expectations. We will continue working hard to offer the best of ourselves to our customers. We appreciate your comments about our facilities. Please note that our hotel complies with Andalucia Tourism Act which regulates the hotel classification. Sorry for the inconvenience. We wish to see you again at Hotel Royal Al Andalus.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were booked for the royal costa hotel but got changed to this hotel.The rooms are spacious with comfy beds,towels changed daily but rooms not cleaned eg carpet.The food is ok needs more variety and be hotter(microwave provided).All the staff were great couldnt fault a thing.Drinks are expensive if not all-inclusive.To keep room on till 7pm was 49.50 euros too expensive would have paid 25 max,got clean curtesy room free?Hotel was closing so go earlier in the year.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have been refurbished, get pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad you who were satisfied with the change to our Hotel. We will take note of your suggestions for improvement. Our staff are our most important asset. We hope your visit again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Bedroom was quite comfortable, as it was October the Aircon didn't work and we had to sleep with the balcony door open, luckily we were on 4th floor. Room cleaning was minimal. public rooms adequate, but lacked atmosphere. Nice gardens and pool area. the worst part of the holiday was definitely the dining. Food was appalling and the service deplorable. Set your own table. use the same tablecloth as previous diners. The previous nights vegetables reheated and presented for breakfast. NEVER again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your review. We regret that little inconveniences during your stay did not allow you to enjoy your vacation within your expectations. We will take note of your suggestions for improvement to inform to relevant departments. We hope to see you soon with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Big rooms in nice colours,big bathrooms with two sinks in them ,beautiful gardens,nice restaurante,the beach is in a decent distance,the only problem is that the internet conection is only arount the first floor!overall it is a realy good place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear customer,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities during your stay. We will take note of your suggestions on Wifi. Thank you very much for your recommendation :) We wish to see you soon with us and we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcaidesa, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you're thinking of staying at the Royal Al-Andalus Hotel in Torremolinos but are worried about some of the negative reviews about this hotel you should know that our stay in the hotel was without question the very best value for money in any hotel I've ever stayed at anywhere in the World.

You can see from my profile that I've been a member of TripAdvisor for over 5 years. I've used TripAdvisor however hundreds of times to check out prospective hotels or restaurants for my trips. This however is only the second time in 5 years that I've actually taken the time to write a review because I was so completely baffled at the ludicrous negative reviews about this fantastic hotel.

My recent stay at the hotel was the first time in over a decade that the booking wasn't handled by my PA after I'd pre-checked out the destination on TripAdvisor. The stay was arranged by my girlfriend as a suprise for a party that we were attending at a friend's house nearby.

Prior to leaving for the hotel she confessed her surprise and told me the name of the hotel.

When I looked it up on TripAdvisor, I was absolutely horrified at what I read. I didn't want to hurt her feelings though and reasoned that it was only one night so what the heck?

We arrived at the hotel with trepidation but were pleasantly surprised to see an immaculate and freshly painted exterior with a superb reception area with two enormous lounges with dozens of high quality expensive black leather sofas and expensive coffee tables. When checking in, the receptionist was extremely friendly and efficient and checked us in immediately.

My girlfriend had booked what the hotel called a "mini-suite" for just £79 including breakfast so I was expecting a tatty tiny little room. As we walked through the opulent corridors however, the ambiance and the quality of the carpets, fittings and the stunning pool area and lush landscaped gardens I simply couldn't find fault with anything. I couldn't believe that this was the same hotel that I read so many awful reviews about. When we arrived at our suite and opened the door I was absolutely flabbergasted. I've travelled extensively for over 30 years and am pretty hard to impress.

This wasn't a mini-suite by an stretch of the imagination. This was a full blown large four room suite with an immecably decorated and furnished lounge and large brand new LG LED top spec flatscreen TV. We then walked into the marble tiled bathroom with twin sinks and an amazing array of top quality toiletries and amenities including fluffy bathrobes and thick expensive towels.

Then we walked into the bedroom with an enormous brand new high quality "porno" bed :) fitted with at least 400 thread count Egyptian Cotton sheets. I also noted the handsome writing desk for my computer and a fully stocked fridge. Then another door which led to a large walk in wardrobe. Then we went out onto the spacious balcony with stunning views of the gorgeous swimming pool and Tiki umbrellas and impeccably maintained gardens.

We spent some time in the superb bar that wouldn't be out of place even in the Burj Al Arab. Every member of staff was more than helpful and responsive to any request. The next morning we enjoyed a superb buffet breakfast with cooked to order scrambled eggs, the finest Scottish smoked salmon (with no nasty dark bits), toasted croissants, and a huge buffet with every conceivable option for anyone's taste.

I've paid £1,000 + taxes a night to stay in smaller suites than this in hotels with far inferior lobbies and less helpful staff. And here we were in this wonderful suite for just £79 including taxes and breakfast?

At the end of the day it's all down to value for money. You get what you pay for. The exception though is in this case you'll get A LOT more than you pay for at this extremely well run hotel. The value for money was almost beyond belief.

Here are some of the reasons that I believe are the reason for the negative reviews:

A significant portion of the negative reviews were written by recently enrolled members who have never left a feedback before or since. As an IT expert I'm aware of "online reputation management" firms that rival hotels hire to spend their entire days posting negative reviews of their rivals on every single possible social networking outlet and review site. I've lived in Spain for several years and can instantly recongnise the wrting styles of Spaniards who can speak good english but they always give themselves away by making specific grammatical errors that only Spaniards make. So when you're reading the purported review of "Wayne and Tracey" from Essex, you're in all likelihood reading the review of Pedro Rodriguez in a Malaga repuation management boiler room. Dozens of the negative reviews of this hotel have without a shadow of a doubt been written by native Spanish speakers.

If anyone genuinely believes that the staff at this hotel are lazy and unhelpful I challenge them to secure better service at any hotel in Spain under 1,000 Euros a night. You won't find it!

If you want to believe the total nonsense written about this hotel by their nearby rivals then go and stay at them! Then you'll really see the defintion of poor service! This hotel is a superbly run four star hotel at a two star price.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few pounds for a "mini-suite". There's nothing mini about them.They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalAlAndalus, Community Manager at Royal Al-Andalus, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Christopher,

We deeply appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor. For us it is very stimulating read such comments from our guests, and that motivate us to keep improving every day. It will be a pleasure to have you back in our facility. I hope we meet again soon in Hotel Royal Al Andalus. You can follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Al-Andalus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Al-Andalus

Address: Al-Andalus 3, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Al-Andalus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Al-Andalus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Al-Andalus Hotel Torremolinos
Royal Al-Andalus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Al-Andalus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.