We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tiburon Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Tiburon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Tiburon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Los Nidos 7 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Another great stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Yet another great stay at the Tiburon, I don’t really have much to add, as have reviewed this hotel a number of occasions, I know a lot of regulars are worried about the changes but other than moving the reception desk and no longer employing misery guts on reception, we didn’t see any changes.

It was still as good, clean and pleasant as ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view on a middle floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    39
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at the El Tiburon for 10 days, 28th Aug - 6th September. Could not fault the hotel at all. Spotless, cleaned every day including Sunday. Staff brilliant and friendly. Only small pool and terrace but enabled you to meet other holiday makers. Location is great. Only fault was no air con, but we were facing the front of the hotel and it was a bit cooler. We did ask for a balcony but there was not rooms left. Had breakfast a couple of times and was not too bad at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it was at the cheaper end of the scale and we needed a break. When we arrived I was surprised how attractive the reception area was. We checked in quickly and easily and the room was a decent size and a decent bathroom.
We were on the first floor overlooking the pool. Pool is good but there were days we had to go straight out when the pool opened to secure a spot. It was cleaned every day as were the rooms.
The hotel is literally 2 minutes from the beach and the main street/bar area.
The hotel does all 3 meals and a bar service so you don't really have to leave if you don't want to. Food was reasonably priced and good enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights recently at the end of August. There's no a/c in room 306, just a fan that barely turns so might as well be non-existant! Extremely hot during peak season, impossible to sleep. On arrival the staff weren't welcoming or friendly, no smiles at all! I wouldn't recommend trying the food, it's salty and greasy - much better off walking 2 mins down the road and eating at a local restaurant with fresh seafood.

The location is very good, the beach is just behind the hotel maybe 1 minute walk. The town centre is much further down. But the area has a lot of restaurants and beach side bars in walking distance. Plenty of shopping around - so well recommended. Except don't stay in this hotel if you're not on a major budget!!

Room Tip: Request a room on 2nd floor. 3rd floor will kill you with the heat and no AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin , ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 night stay here, we stayed in room 103 which had a pool view. There is also a small lift in the hotel. The pool was always warm and there were always sunbeds available. We had a drink at the bar one night and the atmosphere was friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel but there is a fantastic bakery 2 mins from the hotel - turn right at the hotel door then first right and the bakery is on the left corner It is extremely popular and everything is very fresh. They also make rolls to order. Most of the restaurants cater for Spanish but Nigel & Cheryl's - left at the beach walking towards Torremolinos was clean and friendly and good value - Sunday Roast every day or fish & chips mugs of tea, very good selection on the menu - its open all year round!

First the good points: Our room was very quite and the beds were comfy. There were 3 english tv stations. There is a bath with a powerful shower in it and always plenty of hot water. The rooms are cleaned every day and there are no creepy crawlies. There was a nice atmosphere in the hotel in a great location.

Not so good points: I know we booked room only but it would have been nice to have a fridge. There was no laundry facilities in the hotel or anywhere in the area. We bought a clothes-horse for 20 euros in a shop - turn right at the hotel door then first right and the first shop on the right sells them. We had to get an extension lead for the hairdryer which we bought at a shop left from the hotel door then first left and the shop is beside the taxi rank (approx 4 euros). There was no air-con and the ceiling fan was ok but we had to leave the balcony door open most of the time. For this reason I wouldn't stay in accommodation without air-con again (this was our first time to try it but air-con is necessary).

The towels were changed everyday but most of them were threadbare. We felt the sheets should have been changed more often.

TRIPS: The nearest train station is about 15 mins walk. We would highly recommend the BIOPARK in Fuengirola 1.80 each way on the train 17 euro entrance but worth every penny.

Also the Crocodile Park in Torremolinos approx 6 euros entrance I think it was around 1 o'clock they fed the crocs which was a great show and you can take a photo after on your own camera holding a small crocodile.

We got the train to Malaga. Picasso was born there and you can see his museum (6 euro entrance) and the house where he was born (3 euros).

If you want to go Marbella get the train to Fuengirola - then the bus from the bus station which is beside the train station.

La Carihuela is a great location but we found the sea cold even when you stay in it for a while. It was the same in Fuengirola as well which we didn't understand. The sea in Marbella had jellyfish in - so it is nice to have a pool in whichever accommodation you book.

The staff at the El Tiburon were lovely and the location is excellent. We would defo stay here again and pay extra if there was aircon, better towels and laundry facilities.

Room Tip: pool view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just had 10 days here, room was on top floor with a sea view, well decorated and spacious. Not a great deal of storage space but we coped. Spotlessly clean, room cleaned every day and towels changed every day too by friendly maids.
Hotel is located one street back from the beach in La Carihuela which has countless eatieries and bars and is lovely. However.. there is no air con, which is a must certainly for summer. The ceiling fan wouldn't have blown out a match so we had to open the balcony door for some air.. which of course let the noise in. Lots of it. So, I had a terrible time sleeping here.
Apart from that, the pool is nice, the staff are all friendly and helpful and the bar never seems to close. They even rustled us up a pizza when we got in at 7am! Clientele is mixed, and hotel is suitable for singles, couples and families.
30 euros for a safe key was a bit steep, so it's up to you as to choose whether it is worth it. All in all, I would recommend. Torremolinos is such a nice resort with plenty to do that a hotel is only a base anyway.
It is handy for Benalmadena and the lovely harbour. Just go down to the beach and turn right and walk for about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room for a sea view. We were on 4th floor. Gets the sun all afternoon too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just back from my seven night stay at el tiburon and can say it was fab everything was perfect the staff are lovely especially fernando and also pedro there was another chap but didn't get to meet him really made sOme lovely friends there only gripe I had was that the ceiling fan didn't really do anything to cool the room down but it was exceptionally hot the surrounding area is great 2 mins to bustling shops and resteraunts I suggest you go to alandino sports bar for a vodka and fanta lemon well cheap and good size measure also go to winstins bar lovely staff and the best chips ever wonderful place will be back

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Tiburon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tiburon Hotel

Address: Calle Los Nidos 7 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Hotel Class:2 star — El Tiburon Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your El Tiburon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tiburon Torremolinos
Hotel El Tiburon
El Tiburon Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tiburon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.