We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012 June family review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Fenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel El Fenix to your Saves list
Hotel El Fenix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Mercedes 22, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2012 June family review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

stayed at hotel fenix for 5 nights with 4 kids and two adults ( 2 family rooms)
generally hotel would be 3 star rating at most,
rooms and public areas were clean and well kept,, staff were helpfull when required,
Bedrooms were ok as double but small as a triple, wardrobes were very small., beds not comfortable and pillow was useless. Air conditioning was ok.
Pool external area is very small, but adequate in June as not busy.
Location is very good, located close to central retail / bar area at one side with beach area at other side. Hotel is built into cliff face so has two distinct characters. 5 minute walk to local train station, direct link to Malaga and airport- good service and cheap.
We stayed on half board basis , breakfast was ok ( poor for kids as pancake cooking area was never staffed) but could have been better, evening meal was fine but limited, wine available was poor. house
.Ive stayed a number of times on half board basis, If you accept limitations of menu offer this hotel had a reasonable offer.
Ive seen various posts regarding lack of English speaking staff ( most staff spoke some English), english breakfast etc. This hotel seems generally focussed at Spanish market- which we found fine.
Our first time in Torremolinos. I think it is limited for young kids. Its urban setting makes activity areas available to kids rare. This area is better suited to couples and retirement market.
Unfortunately our trip was cut short so we didnt get to visit many local area attractions

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    42
    32
    28
See reviews for
36
73
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Hotel is one street away of Calle San Miguel (small shops area) and a few minutes walk from the train station.

To go to the beach, the easiest way is to take the elevator to the 1st floor and then walk down a couple of minutes. Basically, the reception is on the 8th floor and...the street to walk to the beach, is on the 1st floor. weird stuff, but it makes sense once you are there!

The room was nice, with a small balcony. We were lucky to have a partial view over the sea, which, I understood, is not an easy thing, because of the way the hotel is located.
Breakfast was 14 Euro/person, so it was more convenient to buy it from the supermaket, the Mercadona.

Don't miss to eat churro, icecream and drink lots of caffee leche leche! There are plenty of place to do that on Calle San Miguel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor, so that was good enough to get a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went on a girlie weekend so the fact that the hotel was not exactly nice didn't dampen our spirits as were only went back there to sleep ...... badly the beds are hard pillow shockingly bad.......... smells in the room. We basically just stayed there to sleep it would not entice you to do anything else.Do not book this hotel if you want a hotel with a bit of atmosphere.Upon arrival the receptionist was more interested talking on the phone and work mates than checking us in no chit chat no how are you just check in and take payment. There is a pool that in indoor but is small not suitable for any kind of fun or child's play at all. The rooms were small and the staff are no where near helpful about meeting your needs, they barely acknowledged you were there. I would have no problem in saying this was one if not the Worst hotel i've ever stayed in. My only up side was i was only there two nights but it didn't ruin my hotel thankfully but not recommend it to anyone.Definitely NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL, MAYBE A TWO STAR. VERY DISAPPOINTING

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

i have stayed here on many ocasions .The rooms are clean bright and moddern,they all have balconies although some have a side view of the sea.The food is plentyfull with a full buffet breakfast,also cheese,ham and all the usual cerials jams and fresh fruit to see you through the day.You enter the hotel reception directly from the street and you go down in the lift to your rooms which is a novelty as the hotel is built on the cliff side you also go to the bottom floor to reach the street below and a five min walk to the beach.The lift is only for the guests and it does save a tiring walk back up the steps to the town after a long day lazing on the beach .There is also an indoor pool which opens to an out door in summer and a hot tub/jucussi on the top floor.This hotel is idealy situated if you want long walks along the promanade in the evening and night life of the town there are plenty of bars ,restraunts and shops in the town sq and the supermarket is 5 mins away

Room Tip: all the rooms are good ive had many different ones all have a balcony or terrace not all can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed her 1 night before flying back from Malaga in Sept 2011, Value price great location for train station, Hot Tub on top floor which most people dont know about, Lift in hotel goes down to back street to beach which is handy, close to main shopping street, Train to Airport which is 300yds is every 20 mins takes 15 mins directly into airport terminal and costs 1.80 euro ideal hotel to finish off holiday to back to airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Where to start! Arrival was pleasant then as the week continued, 2 days of a leaky air conditioner, which came from the floor above us, the entire floor soaked and left a horrible smell all week when accessing the lift, seemed to be no attempt to eliminate this. No cups for tea, why provide a kettle? Very poor English spoken from all staff, seriously need to employ people who can understand what your complaints are about! Awful gym, machines broken and seriously why have a sauna in a gym adding to the heat when people are trying to work out! No air conditioning whatsoever in a gym in spain? Makes sense! Also the side door closed at 12pm, people are on holiday and don't want to walk miles to get to the front of the hotel which was quite a distance...and last but not least final day and not even a complementary room to shower after being at the beach all day, had to pay to use the gym shower which was an issue too!

Poor front reception staff, apart from one girl who my friend conversed with and reassured me she was very helpful.

Definitely NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL, MAYBE A TWO STAR.
VERY DISAPPOINTING
Northern Ireland tourists.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

It is not a 4 stars hotel. That was something we could guess from the price, but I would not even give it 3 stars...
I went there to bring the parents of my girlfriend and I was afraid when I got in the room: it smelt awful, like pipes, humidity...can't describe it. We kept the windows open for a couple of hours and it was not enough.
The bathroon was kind of dark, with a small red (sorry??) light hanging from the ceiling. The toilet was in a short of corner inside the bathroom with barely no light...amazing.
Many of the tiles on the floor were partly broken and walls, dirty....

I asked to get another room, which was at least decent, but definetely not 4 stars. I did not smell and was clean, but after the first room, the impression we got could not change that much.

The good point is clear: location. Close to the beach, to the train station and the main street of the town.
They said food was just ok, not bad for a hotel.

DEFINITELY I WON'T GO THERE AND I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT ANYBODY.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Fenix

Address: C/ Las Mercedes 22, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fenix Hotel
El Fenix Torremolinos
Hotel El Fenix Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Fenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.