We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Timor Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Timor Apartments to your Saves list
Sol Timor Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Aberdare South Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Clean and comfortable in a good location. Bit dated but we only slept and showered there so no big deal. No hairdryer and you have to pay for safe ... just bit of info because that is what i was looking for on the reviews. Lovely hot showers, towels changed every other day. We were only here Fri-Mon so can-not give an in depth review.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    267
    173
    86
    67
See reviews for
251
253
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

There is nothing Luxurious by any means with this hotel. The price you pay is for the fact that it is supremely located right on the beach and just steps away from away from the busy lively area of the marina with its fabulous choice of bars and restaurants.
The apartments are probably the most basic Iv ever stayed in to be honest. However if you arent that fussy and realistically what time will you spend in there anyway then this is the place for you if location is your key.
The kids club was running but 1 of ours were too small and the other not really interested in it. You had to be 5 to attend.
The kids pool was filthy by afternoon and I wont tell you the colour of the water as you can guess. We always went to the beach in the afternoon.
You had to pay for your sun bed by the pool, a 1st for us and wev been to many places.
The kids play area needs to be upgraded and fixed as some of the stuff was dangerous.
We never ate in the hotel as there was so much choice close by so I cant review the food.
The staff were ok but annoyed when I asked to be moved from the room allocated as it was all steps up to it and we had a buggy. They oblidged but it was dark and dingy, facing onto the side road and not the sea view we had originally paid for.
After finally getting it sorted the sea view room was worth the money so i would definitely recommend it.
However having said all that unless their prices came down by some good amount then we wont come back here, there are plenty others nearby with facilites more upgraded than this.

Room Tip: Pay for the Sea View room its most definitely worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went here last year in july had a great time hotel clean an comfortable central to everything good pool with plenty of sun beds close to the beach and restaurants short walk from marina an supermarket some nice trips Mimas is worth a visit an bus is cheap

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

we stayed here in june 13, while i taught the studio apatment was too small for me, my wife and 1 year old, i would definetely go back in fact my wife is in the process of organising or june 14 trip. the problem that arises now is that my mother is travelling with us on this trip and because the studio was too small im worried that the one bed apartment may be too small for 3 adults and a "nearly" 2 year old. so if anyone has any sugesstions on that front it would be great. the main reason we will be back is simply for the ammenities the hotel has to offer, while id agree with previous reviews that payin for a sun lounger is an expense we could do without , i think the pool area and the gardens are perfect for a child of that age to be able to run around in the grass and be safe. best holiday we've had for value.

Room Tip: studio is too small for a couple and a child
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at Sol Timor for a long weekend in October for my 50th birthday so was looking forward to a lovely time! When we arrived we were upgraded to a one bed apartment from a studio which I thought was great! But the room was anything but. Very dated and the smell coming from the Bathroom was not very nice. We reported it and while we were out the room was sprayed with air freshner which on our return nearly choked us! In the end we bought some bleach and put that down the toilet and sink and had to keep the door shut all the time. The only good thing was a lovely view from the balcony.
Also I have never stayed anywhere where you have to pay for sunbeds round the pool!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Sol Timor Apartments are situated on the seafront at the western end of Torremolinos, just a couple of hundred yards from the marina at Benalmadena. There are three blocks of eleven storeys, two of which overlook the pool and seafront while the third makes do with view of and over the adjacent Riu Nautilus hotel. The public areas are spacious and include shop units housing a hairdresser and beauty parlour, laundrette and supermarket together with some underused TV and other lounges. The bar, which closes at 11.30, is level with the pool as is the outer bar which is on the promenade. On arrival, we paid for an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment on the eighth floor of Block 3, which was comfortable but not spacious and was in need of some refurbishment, as others reviewers have stated. However, it was perfectly adequate to our needs as was the Sol Timor in general. During our visit parts of one of the other Blocks were undergoing refurbishment so it would seem that future visitors will see an improved Sol Timor.
Opposite the hotel are several bars and restaurants which cater mainly for the large numbers of British and Irish holidaymakers who use the Sol Timor, Sol Puerto and Riu Nautilus complexes. Each offers a warm welcome and they are generally kept busy. At the seafront side of the complex, the Paseo Maritimo promenade runs for several kilometres towards Malaga and has lots of bars and restaurants along its length. The La Carihuela district of Torremolinos is about 5-10 minutes’ walk east of the Sol Timor and is well worth a visit, while a similar walk in the other direction takes you to the Puerto at Benalmadena where you will find a complex of restaurants and bars overlooking the marina, which is floodlit at night. Beyond the marina is Benalmadena itself, also worth a visit. Central Torremolinos is a couple of miles away along the promenade and up the stairs (or lift). Alternatively, a taxi from the rank outside the Sol Timor will take you to Calle San Miguel in 5 minutes.
A surprising aspect of the Sol Timor is the €2.50 sunbed charge imposed at the pool. The result is that the poolside is often unnaturally quiet, which can’t do much for the takings at the pool bar. Our preference was to go to the beach over the promenade where the charge is €4.50 but includes sunbeds with comfortable foam mattresses and free Wi-Fi, which is not on offer at the Sol Timor. Lunch at the family-run Andreas Y Mary is highly recommended.
Overall the Sol Timor is an excellent base to explore Malaga and the resorts in its vicinity and, with ongoing refurbishment underway, will continue to improve on an already comfortable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a lovely stay here at end of October. The weather was great. Just what we needed before our winter starts. The studio was lovely and clean and had everything that's needed for a comfortable stay. The location is fantastic, Benalmadena to the right and 2 mins walk to the marina. Lots of nice bars and restaurants. Torremolinos to the left and again lots of nice bars a d restaurants along the beach front and beyond. Will be back again. Thanks Trish!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Timor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartments

Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Timor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Timor Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.