We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, shame about the Hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Timor Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Timor Apartments to your Saves list
Sol Timor Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab location, shame about the Hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is well and truely stuck in the 70's and I think the people that are staying there had stayed from the 70's too! We found our room clean but stank of garlic, was also very dated, we walked into the room and my 11 year old son said 'We're not staying here are we!?' Towels changed every 2 days, bedding every 4 days. Found the staff friendly enough and the staff in the restaurant and bar were great, my son knocked over a couple of drinks one night and they were quick to clean up and replace (with no charge). I found the majority of the people (older generation) very rude, a lady tried to nick mine and my daughters stools one night after we had popped to the loo (husband sat right next them) there was none of this is anyone sat here she just took them! When we complained she said she had been watching them for an hour and no one was sat there! It was only when another gent stood up to her that she backed off! On another night my son sat down at a table near the stage whilst he was waiting for us to finish dinner and was told to move as someone else wanted to sit there! And they say the younger generation are rude!! We stayed half board as got quite a good deal, breakfast was nice, fresh omlettes were delicious I must say and plenty of fruit and other stuff on offer. Dinner not so great, a few different choices but not very warm, we ate out on a few nights because of this. Have to agree with Pedr043 about it being HMP Sol Timor! My husband said it was like staying in Alcatraz! Pool was gross, twigs and leaves and bags in it, kids would have loved to have jumped in (they will swim in any temp!) grounds okish although there was a bin right by the entrance in from the pool that took them nearly a week to empty! Had some great weather so spent alot of the time on the beach at the front of the hotel, although the charge was 4.50 euro per bed but they did have matteresses on them!
I can't really complain as it was as cheap as chips for us to stay there and I only ever see a hotel as a base but having said that I would not stay here again even if it was free!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    267
    173
    86
    67
See reviews for
251
253
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at Sol Timor Hotel- as previous review only positive comment I can make is hotel location although this has it's downfalls as was unbelievably noisy all night with people/youths screaming and shouting along promenade until 6am!!!!
We had what was supposed to be the best room a 2 bedroom full sea view apartment- if this was the best room then I would hate to see the normal rooms!! Our room was old,dirty,smelly windows did not close beds were disgusting and stained and I could go on and on but I choose not to bother.swimming pool was just as bad with debris,wood,leaves etc floating around and it was obvious the pool had not been cleaned in a long time.
We travelled with young children and would never return or advise any families to visit- I think if you are travelling on a stag or hen party then is hotel would be ok to rough it for a few days but nothing else!!!
It is trying to advertise itself as a family hotel withe the flintstones logo and play area but this is a total joke as playarea/ park is a rusty death trap and so called crazy golf is crazy.
Spoke to manager regarding our issues but not concerned.
It looks as though money has been spent on reception area but not a penny anywhere else,untainted co create jungle.
I would like to say that hotel needs a refurbishment but nothing could salvage this dark dirty hotel what it needs is to be demolished and rebuilt.
3 stars this is not - I believe this should be called a hostel not a hotel
If you are planning on visiting this hotel DON'T and if you have already booked change.
You will also be ripped off once you arrive -----------
You have to pay stupid money to get a key for your mini safe (you have to get this as crime in area is rife while we were there 3 rooms were broken into and 2 people had their bags snatched while they sunbathed around pool
If you want to use tennis courts you will be charged 10 euros to use these????
if you want to use wifi in reception are you will be charged 3 euros per hour ???

Staff are exceptionally rude in all areas

Please look at other hotels in area if you are staying on Costa del Sol as this 1960's concrete jungle is not worthy of anybody's hard earned cash.AVOID

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!! It won't be long before MELIA HOTELS sell this dire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleta de Fuste, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The only positive thing to say here is the location is excellent..apart from that it is just like a prison block (Only all the inmates are about 85 years old ! ) The staff were rude, rooms were shockingly bad, food was just ok. If your looking for nice food entertainment and a good night's sleep then you wont find it here...but the location is very good. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend ? Not in a million years, I would not return even if it was free..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel was fab had it all music , kids club , swimming pool , bar and playground for the kids , they had night time entertainment for kids and adults , would definately reccommend this hotel for a family holiday

Room Tip: if traveling with kids ud be better off staying up on the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I’ve stayed in these apartments many times, most recent was August 2012. I mean let’s be honest here, you get what you pay for.
Good Points:
All rooms are getting done with air-con, rooms are clean & towels changed every 2 days. Rooms are a decent enough size. Great shows at night for kids & adults to enjoy. These apartments are a stone’s throw away from everything i.e. shops, bars, restaurants & the beach. The Marina is a 10 min walk away with even more shops, bars & restaurants (eating or drinking up by the Marina is a little bit more pricey than around by the hotel). I highly recommend The Carvery Restaurant mmmmmmm delish, nothing bets a proper Sunday dinner when all you normally get is chips with everything. The chef will come down & keep topping your plate up with meat or whatever you want, well worth €10.00. Fr. O’Malleys little restaurant is another little gold mine, just across the road from the hotel & the food is gorgeous & very cheep. Lidl is 10 min walk away, cheep as chips. Paddywacks Pub across from Hotel, Albert & Shirley are the owners..... great crack. 24 hour square about 15-20 min walk away if you want a wild night.
Bad Points:
The food in the hotel is crap. €2.50 per person for the sun beds is a joke. Beds are a wee bit hard. Chinese restaurant across the road from the hotel, AVOID like the plague unless you want to be vomiting all night. McGuinness’s Irish bar across from the hotel, AVOID this pub if possible unless you want a 2 day hangover from only drinking a few so called Smirnoff Vodka’s. No kettle in room so try bring your own travel kettle or you can rent one for the week.
There are more good points to staying in these apartments than bad, I will definitely be returning......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sol Timor from 6 Feb till 10 Feb. We booked it basically because it was cheap and near the beach. There were 2 of us going out to celebrate a birthday and decided on here as it is a bit further south and therefore should be a bit warmer. Both having never been before we didn't really know what to expect. The hotel itself has a lovely reception area. We had to wait quite a while to check in as there was a large party in front of us. Guy at reception was efficient enough but not exactly friendly or chatty. We were in Block 3 and on the 10th floor (studio room). It was clean & basic with a lovely view of the beach. If your going for 4 days or less i'm not that bothered about palatial rooms. It suited us fine. There wasn't much open by our hotel for us at night time. I can recommed Father O'Malley's across the road for brilliant food. The marina is nice to sit during the day in the afternoon and watch the world go by (as long as you won't complain about paying an extra euro on your drinks). At night we got a taxi to the 24 hour square (5 euros) and mostly spent our time in Times Square bar. Only a few bars were open but I suspect in the summer it would be really busy. Would I stay in the Sol Timor again - yes but if I was going back for a short break I would stay nearer the 24 hour square. Sol Timor is not a bad hotel for the price at all.

Room Tip: When you book as for a high floor the views are pretty amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend stopping at the Sol Timor apartments and were very disappointed by the standard of the accommodation.

Walking into what appears to be a newly refurbished reception area the hotel on face value looked lovely. We arrived in the room which was small and basic but expected that for the price we paid.
The room was musty smelling and dust everywhere like it hadn't been used for months. The toilet was dirty and the towels were stained and generally didn't feel very clean. We were only given two hand towels and after complaining at reception their response was "new towels every two days" after telling them the towels were dirty from the beginning they changed them.

The area surrounding the pool was ok- although the pool itself was filthy- not that you would go in it this time of year anyway.

Location is excellent close to marina, bars and restaurants-one to recommend is the carvery close to the hotel.

Weather was fabulous reaching 24 degrees making a lovely weekend.

As far as the hotel goes it appears to operate on skeleton staff this time of year and struggle to keep on top of things- I'm sure it's a totally different picture in the height of summer when they are much busier- I wouldn't however stay here again to find out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Timor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Timor Apartments

Address: Salvador Allende 51, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Timor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Timor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Timor Sol Apartments
Timor Sol Torremolinos
Sol Timor Hotel
Sol Timor Torremolinos
Sol Timor Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Timor Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.