We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sol Don Pedro - Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sol Don Pedro Hotel to your Saves list
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sol Don Pedro - Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the Sol Don Pedro for 3 weeks in Feb/Mar 2013. Overall the hotel was very good value for money and I can recommend it. Good location, close to beach and level promenade. Everywhere was kept very clean and staff were friendly.
Room was ok but on the shady side of the hotel overlooking the car park so soon paid for an upgrade for a sun/pool/sea view. Room had twin beds, LCD TV, hairdryer and stay was on half-board basis. One slight complaint is that the walls are thin and all floors are tiled so lot of noise from guests in adjoining rooms and upstairs as well as guests walking along the hotel corridors at all hours. Disappointed that the in-room safe was charged at €2 Euros a day so in all cost €42 which I felt was excessive. Bought a travel kettle with me, which turned out to be a wise move.
As mentioned in other reviews there are three Sol Don hotels interlinked, which enable guests to share facilities. The dining facilities were in the Sol Don Pedro and sometimes became crowded during peak times as it accommodated guests from the three hotels, which makes sense in the off season. Not a great variety on the menu and appeared limited for vegetarians.
Various activities available. Bowls and shooting seemed popular games with guests and an indoor swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzi were available. There was a health spa at the Don Marco but at prices starting from €30 didn’t investigate further. Live entertainment, usually a duo, was provided every night at two of the hotels (Pablo and Pedro) and aimed at the largely elderly guests.
Live UK and Spanish football games were regularly available in the main lounge. Some UK channels were available in room (BBC1, Channel 4, Sky News plus one other). Free wi-fi available in the lounge areas and faster access was available for €6 for 24 hours.
One other point, the weather was not exactly warm or sunny and the hotel made an effort to warm the lounge with a wood burning open fire. The room was between reception and dining area so was difficult to avoid. Not sure of the wisdom of this as I, being asthmatic, had to visit the local hospital for oxygen and medical treatment for breathing difficulties. One imagines that other older guests could also be susceptible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verocalidad, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear "peeps27":

Thank you very much for your comment about us, we are glad you enjoyed your estay with us. Sorry about the fact that you had to pay for the safety box, dont forget that in the price is included the insurance which covers all your goods.
We hope you´ve already recovered from your breathing difficulties and hope to see you back here in Sol Don Pablo.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    256
    91
    27
    9
See reviews for
148
249
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our third visit to this lovely hotel in the past year. We stayed between 27th February and 6th March, and as other reviewers state, the weather wasnt perfect but it did not deter from our break. The hotel has enough facilities to keep guests occupied and comfortable, if they do not want to venure out. My sister and I ventured out even in the heaviest rain, we were on a short break so wanted to make the most of it so it was raincoats on and off we go! As ever the facilities in the hotel are very good and we were most impressed with the new state of the art kitchen and buffet facilities. We noticed a distinct improvement of the quality of food at dinner, the roasts and fresh show cooked food were delicious. The Pork and Beef were perfectly cooked, both roast and grilled. Breakfast was always very good with a huge choice of cooked and cold food. I would suggest however that someone should be on hand to show less tech minded people how to operate the coffee machines properly. We also found that it was less comfortable to be seated in the conservatory area where it is almost like patio furniture with no table cloths, but you only have to ask and a suitable table will be found. Nothing is a problem to the Maitre Ds on duty.

We enjoyed hotel entertainment on two nights (we were out every other night) the young flamenco dancers were impressive and although cheesy we laughed heartily at the Diamonds are Forever Duo, they never fail to produce laughter, especially when doing the pregnant bride routine, where an unfortunate male in the audience is bashed with a handbag! Great fun. On the whole the entertainment at this time of year is directed towards older members of the community but now and again there are gems you shouldnt miss.

The rooms are smaller than in the Pablo but are very nice and have everything you need. We again hired towels at start of our stay with 10 euro deposit. This facility is most convenient as it saves using up limited space in your case with huge towels. We believe the safe hire fee is fairly priced compared with other hotels we have stayed in, and unless you ask for a minibar to be provided, the use of the fridge in room is free. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful.

All in all another great time in the Don Pedro and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms usually have sunny balcony at different times of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Gonefishin55,
Thank you for your very complete review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break so much despite the bad luck with the weather. I do hope that you come back soon and enjoy the sunshine as well!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just back after a week in the Don Pedro and it rained nearly all the time ,had the odd bit of sunshine but in Spain you need the sun to enjoy the lovely beaches and walks along the very well kept promenade.
The hotel was clean and comfortable ,we stayed half board but we thought the breakfast was better than the dinner .Entertainment was ok and there was a lot of dancing if you like that sort of thing. We went to Granada for a day with coach tour organised by hotel and it was well worth it, the Alhambra Palace is not to be missed ,the sun even came out while we were there.There is a lift up to the old town in Torremolinos and we found it very helpful as the train station is up there and handy for day trips to Malaga and the Parque La Bateria only one stop away well worth a visit .Hotel and area great and there is a very good fish restaurant opposite the hotel on the beach, they cook the fish outdoors on a big barbecue .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear almg,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay so much despite the weather. It is great that you ventured out all the same and discovered how much there is to see here and how easy it is to get around.
More importantly you ordered an "espeto de sardinas" in one of the chiringuito beach restaurants: A Malaga classic and delicious with a cold beer or a glass of white!
I hope that we see you again soon with some normal weather.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

this is the second occaision ive stopped at this hotel and all i can say is if you have any doubts book it , its excellent from the book in to leaving ,drinks are a bit pricey but dont let that stop you they are no more expensive than uk hotels , food which is served in the joined don pablo , is very good , i enjoy the breakfast more than the dinner but thats my choice , the rooms are quite small but very clean and comfortable , i would reccomend any of the sol hotels in the costa del sol and majorca ,

Room Tip: rooms on the sunny side are more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear granjero201263,
Thank you for writing up your review on TA. I am glad that you enjoyed the Don Pedro and that the service was good. The rooms in the Don Pedro are the smallest of the three in the Sol Don Hotels complex, so you could try either the Don Pablo or the Don Marco next time.
I hope that we see you again in the future. Thanks again for writing a review.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I are just back from our 1st visit to the Don Pedro, 26th Feb. to 5th March. Rooms are a little smaller than we are used to but adequate and very clean. We had a basic room with side see view. If you want a pool view you must pay extra. We could use the facilities of all 3 Dons, Don Pedro, Don Pablo, Don Marco. We found the atmosphere in the Don Pedro to be very good and all the staff very friendly. The food on average was very good with some nights better than others, the same with the entertainment, good most nights. There is a good animation team during the day and a lovely bowling green which is free. Nice pools including indoor. Lovely walks in the area including nice walk to the Botanic Gardens with free entry. We enjoyed our stay even though the weather was not great and will return to Don Pedro later in the year.

Room Tip: If you want sunny balcony pay for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Libertyboy,
I am so glad that you enjoyed the Don Pedro. It is a shame that you hit a bad patch of weather because there is no doubt that it makes a difference - especially if you want to be out exploring the area. There are lots of nice walks to be done; even up into the mountains behind Torremolinos where there are some well-marked trails and spectacular views.
We look forward to seeing you back with some sunshine next time.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I go back and to regular to this hotel I feel at home here just love it even more when the sun shines!!!! The food is excellent always a good choice of food for all meals cater for everyone the bars a very nice there good choice of drinks and cocktails sit outside on the nice terrace and watch the sun go down. Nice clean beach just across the road from hotel. A very secure hotel I feel very safe there

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Susanita1,
Thank you for your report. Keep coming back for the cocktails on the terrace!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here 11th to 15th February 2013, my double room on the second floor was used for single occupancy. Arrived around 10 am and pleasantly surprised at the easy check in and that my room was ready.
The room was accessed by one of several lifts and while not huge was plenty big enough with a flat screen TV, plenty of wardrobe space with complementary use of a safe, the instructions were for using a metal key which I guess was the old room door key but pressing a few buttons with a little trial and error worked fine, the door keys are now the usual plastic cards. One item missing was a luggage rack for my suitcase,
Bathroom was great, containing a proper full size bath, not one of the usual small ones where you sit with your knees under your chin, a good selection of cosmetic items were available and nicely presented, including a comb, also, plenty of clean towels. Housekeeping was carried out every day, a pleasant lady not only made my bed, changed the towels and emptied the trash, she also brushed and mopped the tile floors thus ensuring that the room was very clean.
My stay was on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was really good, the selection included meats, cheese, fresh fruits, fresh breads, butter, jams and marmalade, croissants, juice, various teas and coffee and availabilty for a full cooked breakfast including toast, various eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, tomatoes etc, a really good choice which was self service.
Entertainment was available most nights in Don Pedro or one of the connecting hotels, also happy hour for extra drinks after 5pm.
Very close to the beach, swimming pools set in most pleasant gardens and very close by are bars, restaurants and shops together with a conveniently placed ATM, free car parking was also available, the location was excellent.
Good value and a pleasant stay, my only criticism being that if people in the room above are early risers, you can hear them walking about and moving furniture, the remedy, ask for a room on the top floor!
The clientele consisted of mostly older people, all in all, a pleasant stay, good value and I would definately stay here again

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room with sea view but the best tip is to ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Chris H,
I am delighted that your stay was all that you hoped for. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. One small note is that the safe is not complementary - there is a daily charge of 2€. A key is required to activate the electronic keypad and I imagine that the last guest failed to remove it from the inside of the door! I don't want any future guests (or you) to be dissappointed.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Address: Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#16 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pedro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.