We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All That I expected..........and a little more.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sol Don Pedro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All That I expected..........and a little more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here 11th to 15th February 2013, my double room on the second floor was used for single occupancy. Arrived around 10 am and pleasantly surprised at the easy check in and that my room was ready.
The room was accessed by one of several lifts and while not huge was plenty big enough with a flat screen TV, plenty of wardrobe space with complementary use of a safe, the instructions were for using a metal key which I guess was the old room door key but pressing a few buttons with a little trial and error worked fine, the door keys are now the usual plastic cards. One item missing was a luggage rack for my suitcase,
Bathroom was great, containing a proper full size bath, not one of the usual small ones where you sit with your knees under your chin, a good selection of cosmetic items were available and nicely presented, including a comb, also, plenty of clean towels. Housekeeping was carried out every day, a pleasant lady not only made my bed, changed the towels and emptied the trash, she also brushed and mopped the tile floors thus ensuring that the room was very clean.
My stay was on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was really good, the selection included meats, cheese, fresh fruits, fresh breads, butter, jams and marmalade, croissants, juice, various teas and coffee and availabilty for a full cooked breakfast including toast, various eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, tomatoes etc, a really good choice which was self service.
Entertainment was available most nights in Don Pedro or one of the connecting hotels, also happy hour for extra drinks after 5pm.
Very close to the beach, swimming pools set in most pleasant gardens and very close by are bars, restaurants and shops together with a conveniently placed ATM, free car parking was also available, the location was excellent.
Good value and a pleasant stay, my only criticism being that if people in the room above are early risers, you can hear them walking about and moving furniture, the remedy, ask for a room on the top floor!
The clientele consisted of mostly older people, all in all, a pleasant stay, good value and I would definately stay here again

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room with sea view but the best tip is to ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Chris H,
I am delighted that your stay was all that you hoped for. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. One small note is that the safe is not complementary - there is a daily charge of 2€. A key is required to activate the electronic keypad and I imagine that the last guest failed to remove it from the inside of the door! I don't want any future guests (or you) to be dissappointed.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    247
    86
    25
    9
See reviews for
145
236
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork city
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Arrived on feb the 7th 2013, We stayed half board and the menu was much the same as when we previously stayed in the don pablo, Lots of choice and cooked in front of you, For us as a couple in our 40,s we realised at this time of the year the other guests are mostly somewhat older then us and we were more than happy with that, Although the entertainment by night is not geared for our age group we enjoyed it , By day my wife did the dance and keep fit classes and we both had a laugh playing the darts , We also used the heated indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, Not bad for the month of february. As for the rooms and the bed we were very happy with both, We have stayed in the complex in the summer months also and it is the ideal place to relax or to have a good time as there are so many different pool areas and bars to go to, Most importantly the staff, Our rooms were cleaned every day , The restaurant , Reception and bar staff were fantastic, I cannot praise the staff in the pedro and pablo enough for the hard work they put in , One of the female bar staff though I did not get her name deserves particular praise, She waited on the tables in the bar in the pedro and served behind the bar in the pablo , Her friendliness towards the customers was obviously second nature to her and I thank her for that, The location of the pedro is perfect if planning a walk down the paseo also, Thanks for a verry pleasent stay and will see you soon, Regards Cumnor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your report Cumnor.
I see from your comments that your are regulars at the Sol Don Hotels. We look forward to seeing you soon then!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here 3rd feb couple, we checked in and was allowed to room early, reception staff didn't explain about safe you have to put key inside staff don't ask..... Or that if your half board you can eat either breakfast/dinner or breakfast/evening meal which we only found out on 5th day, room was small beds uncomfortable we had 2singles pushed together I did ask for double room staff said none available although hotel didn't seem full, evening meals lovely fresh cooked meats carved in front of you beef pork chicken fish salads and veg plus the normal chips pasta pizza etc, I personally enjoy eating out breakfast repetitive but I must say kitchen staff and man asking room number at entrance to resturant fantastic, the hotel is made up of 3 macro pedro Pablo, macro is the modern hotel, the hotel grounds well maintained what more do you want for £580.00 half board for a week in feb, the weather was 20c bonus night time very cold and also this time of year not many bars resturants open in area but try la rumba on front fantastic fresh food recommend half roast chicken, and for a sandwich fresh and tasty, the bar was expensive inside hotel but so is most of malaga for ale/food.... Beach front literally 30seconds walk out of back entrance, I personally won't go back as the hotel this time of year was full of Germans/ French who think they run the place, and all over 65 so entertainment to there age, it may seem like I'm moaning but for me a comfy double bed and helpfull staff make you wanna return to hotels this is not the case here, 1 resturant 3hotel bare tha in mind

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Deat Millieliverpool,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent holiday.
I am sorry that you felt that there was a lack of information at the check-in. We try to get across the most important information when guests arrive whilst attempting to avoid information overload! In a complex of three hotels there is so much to inform about and our experience is that too mcuh information not only slows down the check-in process but also means that guests don't really remember anything. We have a directory in the room which is designed to fill in the gaps.
At the time of your stay the Don Pedro hotel was about 60% full. In winter we have a predominance of couples and so it is possible that only twin rooms were available. I am sorry that we could not provide the type of bed that you would have preferred. If there had been double beds available we wouldn't have hesitated to offer you one.
Our winter clientelle is generally made up of retired guests including mostly Italians, Canadians, Belgians, Germans and 30% British. There are also a few Spaniards and other nationalities. Many of the winter guests come every year and know eachother from previous years. Guests tend to enjoy the variety of nationalities in the hotel as it means that no one nationality predominates.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the buffet, the service and the beautiful grounds leading to the sea front and it is satisdfying to see that you found it great value for money.
Thanks again for taking the time to write your report.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great friendly hotel. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. (Special mention of Susannah and Miguel in reception). Hotel spotlessly cleaned and food varied and of good quality. Daytime activities and evening entertainment well worth a mention. Mostly older folk in the winter months. Hotel well positioned for the promenade. Have been here in winter time for the last 7 years. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for letting the TA audience know about your stay. We really look forward to having you back next winter and showing off the brand-new kitchen in the Don Pablo dining room.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel Sol Don Pedro is a dated hotel, rooms are small and beds are narrow. The dining room is a confluence of three hotels and therefore very busy, you often have to wait for a place on table. Many seniors with disabilities but its not a problem. The animation is weak, live music is boring and the music stops at 23.00, while the bar closes at 01.00 hours. A very good location, 100 meters from the beach and within walking distance of the center. Conclusion, for a beach holiday in the summer a good place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for your comments about your stay in the Don Pedro.
In winter we tend to have an older crowd: many guests come for a few weeks at a time; and the entertainment is therefore focussed on the majority. There are two bars with entertainment however, each with a different act or show every night. I fear that you only encountered one of them.
In summer the clientelle tends to be made up of families and younger couples, so we certainly focus the entertainment in a different way.
I am sorry that you found the beds narrow. I am not sure whether you had a double or twin room. Just for the record: the double beds are 1.5 metres and the singles are 1 metre each.
Thanks again for your comments. Perhaps we will see you in the summer.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Anthony, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were at the Don Pedro from Dec, 17th 2012 through Dec 22nd. It was very quiet in the tourist areas of Torremolinos and more then half of the restaurants on the beach were closed. Many shops were closed as well, but there were still plenty of places to eat and shop. The temp was around 75 degrees Farenheit each day. It was nice having the beachs, streets, and surrounding tourist area to ourselves. The breakfast buffet and dinner buffet were good. The grounds of this hotel complex were outstanding. While staying here we took part in two hotel activities; shooting contest and bowls. Both were fun activities that the staff made enjoyable with their bubbly personalities. The walls in the hotel room were a bit thin, we could hear activity next door and noise from the hallway as well. We had a room with a small balcony and were happy with the size of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Steve S,
Thank you for putting your comments up on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed winter break with a bit of sunshine.
I hope that perhaps we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was as you'd expect for a 4 star. One critisism is that there is no control of the air con (that we could find), it just comes on when the temp reaches a certain point. This can be quite annoying at night!.
Even though we didn't have a pool view from the balcony, the view was of the front of the hotel which was fountains and greenery- very nice!
This hotel is part of 3 which are all situated together. This meant we could use the facilites of the other 2 hotels. On exploring, we found an outside jacuzzi which was very relaxing. It does say in summer that guests are permitted 10 mins, but in winter as there was no one else there we made full use of it. An indoor swimming pool is situated directly below the jacuzzi, this again was very quiet and we were able to enjoy peacefully.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The hotel is directly on the beach, when lounging on the sun terrace there is a lovely view of the beach. There are also many places to eat, drink and a scattering of shops in the direct area left of the hotel. To the right, this takes you along the beach to the main area of shops and also to the marina. Its about a 20 minute stroll.
For breakfast, there is the usual variety and you have a choice of 2 restuarants both offering the same.
In the bar, there is an open fire which was lit a couple of times during our stay. This is lovely, HOWEVER as there is no where for the smoke to go it disperses all round the hotel! We did therefore smell like we had been to a bonfire!
If we were to visit torremolinos again, we would probably stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel has priviledge rooms which overlook the swimming pool- ask for one of these if that is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your thorough reveiw SonyaC81.
It is great to hear that your anniversary was a success. I hope that you let us know about the celebration as we always make sure that there is a little surprise for you.
I appreciate the comment regarding the smoke in the lounge. We have experienced a problem with the chimney and are currently working to resolve it with a chimney-top ventilator.
Regarding the heating/air-conditioning: It is possible to obtain a remote control in Reception paying a refundable deposit .
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Address: Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pedro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.