We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value hotel off season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sol Don Pedro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Anthony, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Value hotel off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were at the Don Pedro from Dec, 17th 2012 through Dec 22nd. It was very quiet in the tourist areas of Torremolinos and more then half of the restaurants on the beach were closed. Many shops were closed as well, but there were still plenty of places to eat and shop. The temp was around 75 degrees Farenheit each day. It was nice having the beachs, streets, and surrounding tourist area to ourselves. The breakfast buffet and dinner buffet were good. The grounds of this hotel complex were outstanding. While staying here we took part in two hotel activities; shooting contest and bowls. Both were fun activities that the staff made enjoyable with their bubbly personalities. The walls in the hotel room were a bit thin, we could hear activity next door and noise from the hallway as well. We had a room with a small balcony and were happy with the size of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Steve S,
Thank you for putting your comments up on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed winter break with a bit of sunshine.
I hope that perhaps we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    248
    87
    25
    9
See reviews for
145
238
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was as you'd expect for a 4 star. One critisism is that there is no control of the air con (that we could find), it just comes on when the temp reaches a certain point. This can be quite annoying at night!.
Even though we didn't have a pool view from the balcony, the view was of the front of the hotel which was fountains and greenery- very nice!
This hotel is part of 3 which are all situated together. This meant we could use the facilites of the other 2 hotels. On exploring, we found an outside jacuzzi which was very relaxing. It does say in summer that guests are permitted 10 mins, but in winter as there was no one else there we made full use of it. An indoor swimming pool is situated directly below the jacuzzi, this again was very quiet and we were able to enjoy peacefully.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The hotel is directly on the beach, when lounging on the sun terrace there is a lovely view of the beach. There are also many places to eat, drink and a scattering of shops in the direct area left of the hotel. To the right, this takes you along the beach to the main area of shops and also to the marina. Its about a 20 minute stroll.
For breakfast, there is the usual variety and you have a choice of 2 restuarants both offering the same.
In the bar, there is an open fire which was lit a couple of times during our stay. This is lovely, HOWEVER as there is no where for the smoke to go it disperses all round the hotel! We did therefore smell like we had been to a bonfire!
If we were to visit torremolinos again, we would probably stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel has priviledge rooms which overlook the swimming pool- ask for one of these if that is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your thorough reveiw SonyaC81.
It is great to hear that your anniversary was a success. I hope that you let us know about the celebration as we always make sure that there is a little surprise for you.
I appreciate the comment regarding the smoke in the lounge. We have experienced a problem with the chimney and are currently working to resolve it with a chimney-top ventilator.
Regarding the heating/air-conditioning: It is possible to obtain a remote control in Reception paying a refundable deposit .
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights at the Don Pedro over the New Year. From the sea front you approach the hotel up a drive and then through an archway into the immaculate gardens filled with Palm and Yuka trees.It is hard to believe this area exists from the busy
road. We had a 'superior' room which had two single beds,excellent shower and four English tv channels. The room was
cleaned and towels changed daily - excellently. The variation of food at breakfast and dinner cannot be faulted. The staff are
courteous and professional.
Overall I do not have any negative comments about this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks Nigel G. I hopwe that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Originally booked for the Don Paquito over the Xmas period but disappointingly were relocated to the Sol Don Pedro by the booking agency as the original hotel decided to close over the holiday.
Sol Don complex has lots to offer - but everything seems a little dated and tired.
Room was small but housekeeping and standard of cleaning was brilliant.
It was quite cold in the room and we had to ask for extra blankets - we were overlooking the front of the hotel and so got no sunshine during the day......pool view on the other side of the corridor would have been much better
Breakfast was good, loads of choice.....fresly cooked omlettes to order, lovely fesh fruit, cava etc.
Dinners were very disappointing - meat cuts were cheap, chewy and not good, salads were boring and deserts very mediocre.
Restaurant staff and reception could do with a refresher course in customer services.....we normally stay in the Riu chain who have really top quality customer service.....this chain could learn a lot from them.
The New Year Gala Dinner had a charge of well over 100 euros each....we gave it a miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

After previously stayed at The Sol Principe about a dozen times and not having been back to the Playamar area for 4 years we had a change of hotel as it was a lot cheaper but the same rating(4*) It is only a 10 min. taxi ride from the airport. The hotel is part of a complex of 3 sister hotels (Don Pablo and Don Marco) so all facilities are shared. There are loads of swimming pools and a bowling green and organised activities. The Don Marco is the most expensive but it uses the Don Pedro restaurant. My advice would be to get a 'superior' room (pool view) The food was really good and the location is near the beach and a 10 mins walk to the hustle and bustle of the town centre. I didn't stay in the hotel on a night so I can't comment on the entertainment but it will be typical hotel stuff - not my cup of tea. I have booked to go back in May and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After reading some reviews we were a little apprehensive. This was put to rest the moment we arrived, which was about 1030 am on Thursday 29 November 2012. The lady on reception welcomed us and said our room was ready. When she handed back my wife`s passport she wished her a happy birthday, we had not told her, she must have spotted it herself. We went out to explore and when we arrived back in the room a few hours later there was a bottle of Champagne and fresh fruit waiting for us. Although we only stayed three nights all the staff, reception, bar, restaurant and cleaners were very friendly and very helpful. Yes we would stay again no problem.

Room Tip: A high floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed for a one night stopover in the don pedro 16.11.12 ,overall i rate this hotel better than the don pablo its more modern and the bar area isnt so crowded ,the rooms although a little small are very comfy and clean and modern , the bar area was very nice with entertainment even in november ,we had breakfast in the don pablo i think they share a dining room at that time a year unsure if they have there own , a one night stop bed and breakfast for my wife and i and our son £40 FOR US ALL no complaints at all well done sol once again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Address: Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pedro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.