We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sol Don Pedro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Don Pedro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Meath , Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed from 13-21 Oct.we had previously stayed in Don Marco.the room was not ad modern as the Marco and the balcony was a bit of a waste as we were stuck in a corner(room 319).we stayed b&b and had no complaints,plenty of choice for all tastes,we didnt eat again til evening.because its winter the guests were mainly a lot older than us,we're mid 40's.We enjoyed a relaxing break,full marks to the staff who kep the grounds and public areas immaculately.I would return to the complex but would choose either Marco or Pablo and probably go earlier in the season.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    245
    82
    25
    8
See reviews for
141
234
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived home after a 3 night break At the sol don pedro the rooms are very clean and the maid comes in daily to make beds ect . All the pools are. Very clean and tidy , the food was ok breakfast was great lots of choice they had freshly cooked eggs and pancakes, evening meal was ok there was a choice of fish meat and past and salads but for myself did find if hard to find somthing I wanted but others in our group enjoyed every meal. Would defnatly go back as staff friendly and hotel very clean . The only down side if u want night life then u have to go to the next town which is about 15 mins in taxi and around 15 euro each way , but there is plenty of bars if you just want a quite drink and relax .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hello All again, We have just come back from Torremolinos from a weeks' holiday in October.
Weather is changeable at this time of year but it is always warm.

Now to the three Dons. We stayed at Don Pedro, The oldest of the three in the complex.
Would you believe it but my wife JS was here 40 years ago, must have been a babe!

The three hotels are linked by a fantastic pool and garden complex, populate by exotic parakeets and slinky cats. Don Marco and Don Pablo are the other two. As has been scribed by others the 5* refers to the public areas, in Reality Don Pedro is about 3* when looking at the rooms. But that is not to say we were very comfortable and great value for money, plus we had a fridge.
We paid a premium for a top floor flat room, 555, which gives one an open balcony and great views of sea. A bit of noise at night from all the fans and controllers, so take ear plugs unless deaf!
We found the food very acceptable, one can eat at Don Pablo if desired and good to ring the changes. Great choice of meats and fish and Italian every night. Drinks as usual are pricey.

Do try the Andulasian specialities of fried pork or meat balls in lard, scrape the lard off and wallop it on your fried bread at breakfast. Yum! Also the tomato puree is to put on toast with Olive oil as the locals do.

The pools including inside heated are amazing. it would be a sun trap in summer.
many older people use this hotel out of season.

Get a good deal from Monarch and have a great time
GFS xxx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I went on holoday recently to Torremolinos with a group,we stayed in the Sol Don Pedro Hotel for a week .It was a wonderfull experience we had the full use of three hotels on the complex each one as good as the next.We were on a half board basis the food was in abundance and the staff were unbelieveable really loved the pancakes at breakfast and of course the omlettes made to order.Our room was overlooking the beach and the cleanliness was a credit to the hotel and their friendly staff.it was my first visit to the hotel which is located across the road from the beach within easy acess to the town and fantastic walks.we also found Shanagins Irish Pub with fantastic music and dancing I am looking forward to going back next year already

Room Tip: requet a change if you are not happy with the room allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you compare this hotel to an ordinary four star, it won't fare to well; yet given that it hosts a lot of package parties, it may just about get away with such a rating. We stayed for a weekend and found the location okay, the place itself in quite good shape, but the overbearing smell stemming from years of tobacco smoke in the room almost unacceptable. Had we stayed for longer than two nights, I would have insisted on another room rather than suffered the stench. Apart from the strong smell, the room was relatively clean and the little balcony was a nice little addition. If you intend to stay out all day as we did, this is a nice little base and definitely competitively priced (we got half board for two nights for a total of £120). The food on offer was quite basic and of varying quality; therefore I'd recommend Room Only or maybe B&B as a more realistic alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a week at the Sol Don Pedro Hotel and there were seven of us in our family group. We had four rooms, including three doubles and one single. All rooms we had were the normal rooms overlooking the front of the hotel not the pool. There was no difference between the normal rooms and the superior rooms. The room cleaning staff were very polite and friendly. The reception staff were helpful and polite. However, the dinning room staff were rude, no manners, very little smiles and we felt that they did not want to be there. They were not organised and everytime we came to the desk where they seat you, they were suprised that we were a party of 7 and it seemed that we were an inconvenience. The managers came to assist the staff half way through the week, but they did not help the staff as they should have done, no change in food or service.

Food - We had half board (breakfast and dinner) the choice of food was basically the same every day with no variation. The breakfasts were better than the dinners. Very disappointing and we would not advise to go half board.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just across the road is the beach. Shops also on the main road which is perfect to get your basics for the beach.

We would advise not to get drinks in the hotel bars as they are expensive and you can go to any bar around the hotel or on the beach front and it is alot cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very disappointed with hotel, payed 90 euros for a superior room but was anything but. Room very dated and small, balcony was a tiny artexed bunker where you got the sun till lunchtime but certainly not comfortable for two people. Food was fine but staff were just so miserable apart from the girl who took your room number on entering the dining area. Location was fine for getting out and about but would never return to this hotel. This is my fourth trip to Spain this year but this was like hostel accomodation compared to the 3 other hotels.

Room Tip: Do not pay for a superior room, only paying for supposedly a room with the Sun. Just wish i had have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pedro Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear JohnMike, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your bereak at the Don Pedro. Thank you for commenting all the same.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pedro Hotel

Address: Avenida del Lido s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pedro Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sol Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pedro Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pedro Hotel Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pedro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.