We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol House Costa del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sol House Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Sol House Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salvador Allende, 45, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have just returned form one week stay in this hotel with my elderly mother and sister. Upon arrival the staff at reception were very unwelcoming, especially Silvino! A simple greeting of welcome" would have been nice. At anytime when we went to the reception the staff always made us feel a nuisance!!
The bed situation at the beds was unbelievable - A queue each morning at 7am for the pool door to open with people waiting to put their towels on beds. At 9 am all beds were gone!! We ended up paying 15 euros each day for beds at the beach. Although they claim that if towels are on beds they will be removed after 1 hour this does not happen before 9 am thus large queue at 7am!!!
On day of departure at 6pm there was NO shower facility avaiable to us and we had to vacate the room at 12.
Overall comments - staff at reception appaling. staff in bar, restaurant and cleaners lovely. The food however was excellent - great choice. Pity about the reception staff as otherwise the hotel has everything going for it especially the location and fantastic views from bar. However, will not be returning!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMENALOHAP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol House Costa del Sol, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear deirdre g,
We would like to thank you very much for your feedback after joining your holidays in Torremolinos with us. We express our most sincere apologizes if in some aspects we did not satisfy your expectations, and we will take your comments like a great value for us to improve. Yours sincerely,
Carmen Mª Rodríguez, GEX Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    437
    183
    88
    45
See reviews for
385
426
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at the Sol Aloha Puerto in May for 11 nights on a half board basis and found it to be very good value for money.There was an excellant choice of food for both breakfast & dinner.The staff were very nice especially Carlos who greeted everyone into the restaruant his English is excellant and he was always friendly and polite.There is charge for the fridge to be switched on of 21 euros and there is no free wi-fi I think 4 euros an hour is a little bit steep myself but if you walk along the main road behind the hotel there are bars where the wi-fi is free we found a nice bar called the Wheeltappers & Punters which was run by a lovely couple Archie & Lissette nothing is too much trouble for them and the wi -fi is free,the drinks are also very cheap.Overall we had a vey nice stay here and I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors have good views we stayed on floor 9 block 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMENALOHAP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol House Costa del Sol, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Sue G,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We would like to express our satisfaction after reading your positive valuation about the friendliness of our staff.
Our aim is always to make your experience exceeds your expectations.
We hope on your next visit you can enjoy the same excellent service. We would be happy to welcome you once again.

Warm Regards,
Carmen Mª Rodríguez
GEX Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the hotel from the 15th to 22nd of May on a half board basis and overall we enjoyed our stay. We travelled with Click and Go and I would say the value offered for the cost of the holiday was good. Previous comments on the food seem a little harsh we found there was a good verity of food types every night and it always seemed Hot fresh and well presented. If someone wants haute cuisine they will not find it in most inclusive 3 or 4 star hotels in Spain. As a faddy eater I was well catered for and was happy to find that they had put garlic in only a few of the available dishes
Every night there was a wide choice of foods enough to provide a 4 course meal to suit most people. The range of salads was good with all types of vegetables and fruits on offer and a range of mayonnaise and sauce dressings. The hot counters had a choice of meats and fish and a good range of potatoes and vegetables as well. These were all hot and hot plates were available to serve them on. Behind the counter chefs were cooking and adding to the hotplate display. Breakfast had a range of cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheese along with a hot buffet of 4 or 5 types of cooked eggs and all the other items of bacon, sausage, tomato, to complete the full English/Irish breakfast. Tea and coffee and a reasonable orange juice were available from several machines around the dining room. Other juices and even cava were available One point I would make to the management is that with such a large English and Irish clientele is to supply teapots and save customers making single small cups of tea and several trips to the tea maker it would save them on teabags as well.
All the staff of the hotel were very courteous especially the staff on the reception desk who looked after any of our requests. The cleaning staff always greeted us in the corridors as did the animation team in the grounds or lobby. I have found this not to be the norm in other hotels in Spain. I found the Maître D very pleasant on greeting us in the restaurant
There are a number of extra charges that people may wish to know in advance. If you want the fridge in your room switched on you have to purchase 10 drinks to put in it, if you choose soft drinks and bottles of water this will cost you 21 euro. There is a safe in the room and a price of 20 euro is charged with a 5 euro refund on return of the key at the end of your stay. If you want a sunny side room this is 10 euro a night charge . The week we were there a number of people paid for these and then found they had little benefit as the weather was overcast for most of the week. We had a room overlooking the Sol Timor hotel next door and the sun was on our balcony for 2 hours in the morning and all rooms seem to have a sea view as there are three block all at right angles to the sea. Third floor block 3 was our room.
The rooms are large and called junior suits and appear to be converted apartments giving a sitting room and a good size bedroom with a queen bed with a firm mattress and an attached bathroom. There was a 32’’ flat screen TV with local and international stations including BBC C4,E4 and film4 on digital. The only downside I found was the convertible sofa bed which was uncomfortable to sit on for any length. A couple of armchairs would be great. There was also a small table and 2 dining chairs in the room. There are 2 chairs and a table on the balcony. There are no cooking facilities in the room but a Kettle and cups would be a big treat to us older clients. Our towels were changed daily and linen twice a week. The room was also cleaned daily and beds made.
There is nightly entertainment in the bar area and games and activities in the grounds during the day and the complex has 3 unheated pools and good sun loungers. The people staying at the hotel were mostly middle to older age but this might be because it was early season

Room Tip: A sunny side room may not be needed and could be very hot in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMENALOHAP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol House Costa del Sol, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello TangoDublin,
First of all I would like to thank you for havin chosen Sol Aloha Puerto for your holidays. Specially, I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU for so good description about our hotel. Anyway, for anyone reading this who is interested in knowing more about our hotel and service, it is very easy to check on melia.com website.

We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it is very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Dear TangoDublin, we are very looking forward to have you here once again for another fantastic holidays in our hotel.

Best regards from Torremolinos,
Carmen Mª Rodríguez, GEX Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent a few days here in early April after a break of about 5yrs. We saw a vast improvement in all areas. The reception staff in particular were much more friendly and helpful. My only complaints are the bed was too hard for my liking and the coathangers too big for the wardrobe. Altogether a much improved hotel though

Room Tip: Block 3 top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMENALOHAP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol House Costa del Sol, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Nun891b,
Thank you very much for coming back again to our hotel and for sharing your nice opinion about us in this web. We are very glad to hear that the improvements we did, are very much appreciated for you.

Will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime we wish you a wonderful summer!!!

Best regards from Sol Aloha Puerto,
Carmen Mª Rodríguez, GEX manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from this hotel. It's in the process of being renovated and is in good need of it. We went all inclusive and was very disappointed. It really is like full board with some drinks. Cocktails and "real coke a cola" have to be paid for. The bedrooms are very tired and are certainly not 4star. All in all very disappointing

Room Tip: Rooms on the sunny side are much brighter. However, be aware you have to pay £10 per night extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMENALOHAP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol House Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Chris F,
First of all, please, accept our apologies if the hotel left you anything less than totally satisfied. We will keep in mind your opinion in order to do all our best to improve our service.

We hope to have the chance to welcoming you back again to our hotel and I assure you that we will work hard for your satisfation.

Best regards,
Carmen Mª Rodríguez, GEX manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week with our 2 year. Old staff were amazibg the holiday reps were so friendly was right near the beach swimming pool for lil ones was just right breakfast was buffet all you. Can eat only down side was charge for wifi and fridge but overall I would highly reccomend it there's activities everyday and entertainment every night

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMENALOHAP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol House Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear xxloubyxxlou,
We are very pleased to listen that you have full enjoyed your holiday in our Hotel and we hope that you will enjoy once again in your next visit.

All your comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Best regards,
Carmen Mª Rodríguez, GEX Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Short taxi journey (15mins) to airport (20/25 euros). Good first impressions. Lovely spacious and modern reception area. Reception staff were friendly enough if pretty slow.
Pool area nice and clean and the location couldn't be much nearer the beach, which is a lovely beach.
Room was a little tired but I suspect they will be done in time.
Didn't experience the entertainment so can't comment, but the bar area again looked very modern.
Food was fine, as was the service.
Our flight wasn't until 9pm so the 30 euros per room charge for a 6pm check out was perfect and great value.

Room Tip: See view always helps. I could see the sea, but only just.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMENALOHAP, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol House Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear alan_crockert,
Thank you very much for sharing so great comments about us in the web. We are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your holiday at the Sol Aloha Puerto.

We hope to have the chance to welcoming you back very soon!!!

Best regards,
Carmen Mª Rodríguez, GEX Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol House Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol House Costa del Sol

Address: Salvador Allende, 45, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol House Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol House Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aloha Puerto Torremolinos
Aloha Puerto Sol
Sol House Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol House Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.