We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol House Costa del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sol House Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Sol House Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salvador Allende, 45, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“in a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

this is a fab hotel in the place you want to be its clean with large rooms food (breakfast) good
staff rude as normal in this place but will put up with that cos of where it is we will return next year

Room Tip: they charge extra for the sunny side of the building think its a waste unless u sit in room all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    437
    183
    88
    45
See reviews for
385
426
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
teesside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ver nice. but bedrooms, need some updating, staff very good, booking in very poor,plenty choice at meals, but some, lacks qualatiy
As usual, lack of sun beds, due to,greedy people. Top marks to, Miguel, and Carmel, but please, get that booking IN, sorted...

Room Tip: On average, if you go, in the middle, of the year ,there is not mutch too chose, ie ! sunny side or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location, food is good, but pool is cold , advertised as heated but apparently no one tells you when it is being heated?

It certainly is not in during October so cant see it being on in September either. this did put a spoiler on our holiday with our two boys aged 4 and 5 as we would have loved to swim with them everyday - we did dip our toes everyday but it was freezing!

The average age of the clients here must be about 70 years old, they should change its name to Aloho Pearly Gates Hotel. Our boys enjoyed being around so many ' great grand parents' but would be nice if there were some kids their age around

Entertainment is good for the cultured i.e 1950's 1960's set, but nothing in this hotel is geared towards children at all, There was no animation team - it may be different in summer ???

Would not recommend to anyone with young kids or indeed under 50 years of age, We may come back in 30 years or so as we may enjoy it more, but until then will only book hotels with indoor heated pools and strong recommendation for young families.

I would ring ahead and get a concrete confirmation about the pool being on prior to booking this place, if swimming and all the grannies is not a problem, this hotel will make a good base to explore the area, beach and marina are on your doorstep

Internet access is an added extra 30 euro for one week. Speed is good,

Room Tip: We had a sea and ,marina view room but it didn't rock our world?! It was okay, perhaps if we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have used this hotel three times now as a base for a golfing/lads holiday. It is a short transfer time from Malaga Airport and is situated virtually on the marina in Benalmadena. The hotel ahs recently had a facelift and the public areas are very classy and smart.
The rooms are very good with the ones on the upper floors having a seperate lounge area away from the bedroom. For around £35 per night bed and breakfast they are amazing value.
The food in the hotel is excellent with the breakfasts outstanding.
It is in a busy location with loads of bars and restaurants close by and tends to attract the more older client, which is not a bad thing as there is no raucous behaviour at night. ( I must be getting old too!)
All in all a great value hotel right on the beach with friendly staff who are very willing to help with any problems.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the ground floor have noise from the toilets flushing upstairs. Mine did but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is in a brilliant location. The food plenty of choice very good some dishes a bit cold but that's nit picking. The pool area could do with a face lift so could the lifts The reception staff were polite not over friendly no big deal Fernando the omelet man was a bit scary i think is bark was worse than is bite . Anohoe the entertainment lady is brilliant very friendly and welcoming.Evening entertainment can not comment as we did not go.

The area is a mixture of nice Chiringuito's and some nice bars also some tacky awful places. The marina is nice for a drink but the people seam a bit more pushy than we can remember from our last visit.

Taxi driver charged us 10E from torremolinos centro to the hotel ( ripped of ?). Lazy Days Bar Bacardi and coke without the Bacardi just a small moan

Blue sky in october a nice and warm what more do you want

Room Tip: Block three sunnyside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for one week in October 2012. The Sol Aloha Puerto is situated in a quiet area on the sea front, at the boundary between Benalmadna and Torrelmolinos, just a short walk to the Benalmadna marina and also the buses on the coastal road, useful if travelling further afield (which we did regularly). Our room, in block 3 on the third floor had a side sea view, was recently decorated, clean and well suited our needs, having a separate lounge with small dining table, a bed settee and television. The separate lounge was a real bonus. Patio furniture was provided on the balcony, which we used for an evening drink whilst looking out to sea. The bedroom had good storage. The air conditioning was individually controlled and worked well. The accommodation really was first class, the maid cleaned and fresh towels were provided daily, the bed linen was changed on several occasions. We hired the full size fridge by purchasing 10 drinks for 22 euros, which enabled us to keep milk for our morning tea and coffee (took our own travel kettle).

We stayed half board; the breakfast buffet was quite extensive, the omelettes were made to order, and very tasty. The evening meal was again buffet style, with plenty of choice; the salad options were excellent, as were the carved meat and fish at the carving station. There was also a chef cooking several different meats and fish at another location. Entrecote steak was cooked and served fresh on at least four nights of our seven night stay. Fresh fruit was always available. If I had a criticism, it would be that the staff were not particularly friendly and that the dining room was a little noisy, eating outside on the terrace was a good option. Water with our meal was a little pricey at 2.20 euros a bottle each, but I guess to be expected in a 4* hotel. We found that the Sol Aloha Puerto met our needs well, its location was convenient for both the marina and promenade, giving us a choice of where to visit on our evening stroll.

Room Tip: Block 3 is closest to the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We, a party of 6, stayed here in March 2012 and all came back again for more...and few regrets....disappointed in the rooms allocated as we were in block 1, rooms 1101,1102,1107,1108,1109 and up of our party was moved to 7 (something)... Booking promised a view of the sea or mountains but this was not delivered and the reception staff said no rooms available to move us...... Some of the pool furniture needs upgrading and a tip would be to bring a packed lunch when dealing with reception staff...It took over 30 mins to book six of us into 6 rooms......HOWEVER..... We hope to revisit in March 2013 (pg).....so that kinda says it all...
Positives........staff were courteous and friendly, there was entertainment every night, the hotel was clean and comfortable and very well situated. We stayed 4 nights and had breakfast each morning, one lunch there and three evening meals....we would all highly recommend the quality, quantity and variety of the fare on offer for all meals.... I personally tended to to have taster meals such as (on one plate) calamari, clams, blue fish, rabbit and veal along with french fries, rice and pasta...all delicious...obviously only a mouthful of two of each... :-) and breakfast followed by a 3 hour walk each day :-)

Room Tip: Ensure a sea view if possible...having stayed in the best and the worst (in terms of view) in this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol House Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol House Costa del Sol

Address: Salvador Allende, 45, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol House Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol House Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Aloha Puerto Torremolinos
Aloha Puerto Sol
Sol House Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol House Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.