We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 stars average hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea to your Saves list
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Algiers
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A 2 stars average hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spent 5 nights in this hotel for a business trip in March. the worst part in this hotel is the rooms, not soundproof at all. you can hear everything, i mean really everything from your neighbours (flushing toilets, talks, tv, bed bouncing...!). i spent horrible nights and have to call reception many times by 1-2am to ask for some quiet. very noisy hotel where you can here the street sounds.
the breakfast food is fine, but the restaurant is small and you have make the queue for the breakfast and dinners. some times you just have to wait more than a quarter for just a coarse meal. however, quite good variety of the meals and very nice crepes.
cold personnel, reception and restaurant, hard to get a smile.
you have to pay for every thing, even the tiny safe in the room (15 euros). very basic rooms.
Hotel close to the city center and the beach.

Room Tip: A room in another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    738
    533
    213
    119
See reviews for
362
799
130
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here from 21 May for a week - The Hotel has a great location and great pool. A bit busy with stag and hen but no issues when we were there.
Staff are very friendly and polite and the rooms were cleaned daily. This has been our 4/5 trip to Torremolinos and Love the area.
We will certainly be back Soon.

Room Tip: WE were on the eighth floor with great views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is located directly in the middle of town. At night there are many people walking about outside which can be a little noisy, although this did not bother us.

Price was good - we had a deal through TravelRepublic for only £40 per night. Not bad for a weekend. Wifi was paid for - €5 per day, per device. We didn't make use of the bar or restaurant as we preferred to eat out in the many restaurants which are located locally.

The rooms are clean, basic but very dated. The furniture and decor do appear to come straight out of the 1970s or 80s. That said, it's fine for the price we paid. Would recommend the place.

Room Tip: Get a higher room and one which does not face onto the shopping street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I booked this place on an impulse, then looked at the reviews and was really worried. However, when we arrived at the hotel i was really surprised.

I had asked for an early check in and a top floor room with sea view - both of which we got. The reception staff were really helpful when checking in.

There are many complaints about the food on here; it is true that all meals are served in the same restaurant, which can be monotonous, but we just sat in different places every time. The food is lovely, fresh fish, salads, vegetables, paella, gazpacho, fruit, meat, pasta and loads more. How people haven't be able to find things to eat is a mystery to me, afterall they even serve chips!

The hotel is clean, the maids are amazing and very helpful - we got extra towels and pillows without any hesitation from them.

The pool areas are really nice - especially the rooftop pool which was our preference as it was by the small gym and was generally quieter, yet still with enough people to have an atmosphere.

The drinks included on all inclusive were what you expect from AI programmes, local beers, wines and spirits, and cocktails plus soft drinks etc. If you are nice to the staff they are nice to you, i think some people think you can treat the staff badly and expect them to go the extra mile for you - doesn't work like that.

The other thing to point out is that this is a spanish hotel, in Spain. Not England. Therefore things aren't just like they are at home, because this is another country! When in Rome....

Room Tip: if you want to make use of the rooftop pool ask for an 8th floor room. However, if you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio R, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Torremolinos and we are proud that we was part of your plans.

The Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes is centrally located, good food and our staff always puts the guests first and full attention is at hand whenever needed.

Once again we thank you for your review. We hope you can recommend us to friends and family and look foward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sergio Robles
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

7 nights June/July 2014 - Firstly the Hotel is spotless clean and i cant fault them on the very friendly and courteous chamber staff. Its clearly not a 4 star hotel to be honest its not even close its definately a 3 star. All inclusive is a massive let down - imagine eating in the same restaurant for 7 nights for breakfast lunch and dinner? Yes I will suck very very quickly! If you like salads and deserts your onto a winner BUT (And I'm not a fussy eater at all) after the 3rd day you quickly realise that this establishment serves food that isn't really up to scratch. sadly after the 3rd day it all tasted exactly the same to the point were it started to make me feel nauseous! Pools were excellent especially the rooftop pool, what a gem, quiet, awesome views and a great breeze which when it hit 36 c was a welcome comfort. very close to the beach with a 10 minute walk down winding steps that had loads of markets stalls shops etc..., right beside the train stop which is cheap as chips to travel any where (Go to Plaza Mayor the massive shopping district for an awesome bargain - 3.00 euro return) lots of very good places to eat at very good prices, best place for a massive steak dinner or best pizza in town is CIAO Italian restaurant 5 mins from hotel! Drinks - the all inclusive drinks are a joke - very very small plastic cups, massive que in the evening to the point were my partner and I just gave up and went out instead! and finally - reception staff.... i was appalled and amazed that on checkout they didn't say thank you for staying or even how was your stay! very odd, very bad manners and above all a clear lack of professionalism. Would i return to Gran Cervantes - NO! its over priced I've had better service, food, drinks etc. at cheaper hotels.

Room Tip: Dont stay that will be the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio R, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry but we don't understand your comments.
Of course we don't a restaurant for every day.
We try to do our best for our clients and keep our hotel in the high level that we consider.

Regards,

Sergio Robles
Responsable de Calidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for two weeks at the beginning of July on a bed and breakfast basis. First things first the location of this hotel is fantastic, about 15 mins transfer from the airport and close to the bus and train station. It is also right in the centre of all the bars and restaurants and a 10 minute walk from the beach. We got the train and went into Malaga twice which cost 8 euros for two people for a return ticket. Malaga was great for shopping and for lovely tapas bars which were fantastic value. We had 5 different tapas dishes and two drinks for 20 euros and was really good quality food.
We only had breakfast at the hotel and this was really nice, selection of hot food (bacon, beans, eggs, sausages etc), pastries, fruit, cheese and hams served daily. We can't really comment on any other meals as didn't eat there but did hear a lot of guests complaining about the other meals. However if you want good value and excellent Spanish food then you are completely spoilt 4 choice in the town centre which is on the door step. We recommend going to the tapas place as you go out of the hotel turn right and just before the lift for the beach on the left there is a fantastic tapas bar with lovely food for all. There is also a large variety of restaurants along the beach and if you enjoy walking you can walk right along the coast into the next town of Benalmádena which has a sea life centre and plenty more shops and restaurants. If you are taking a leisurely walk it would probably take about an hour.
The only downside about this hotel is the noise from the rooms. We understand that in a central hotel you are going to get noise but the walls were extremely thin and you could literally hear everything from the rooms next to you. This is to the extent that you could hear someone get up to go to the loo, even them slide their feet into their flip flops! Unfortunately we had extremely inconsiderate neighbours that made permanent noise, shouting and loud music all through the night until about 7am. The hotel did try and speak to them but this made no difference and although they were very inconsiderate neighbours the issue was partially to do with the rooms paper thin walls. Other than that the rooms were lovely and clean, the housekeeping ladies were fantastic.
The hotel has 2 pools, the outside pool is very nice and 3m deep so good 4 swimming, although gets very busy. The first week we did have problems getting a sunbed and people did queue for them to open the area and push like animals to get a bed! It was crazy! However he second week they didn't shut it off so as long as you were up early enough (8am-9am) you were able to get a bed.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the noisy rooms were the only thing that we can say really did spoil our stay a little. However I would definitely recommend this hotel 2 someone looking for a hot holiday in the central suitable for couples and families. By taking into account comments from other all inclusive guests and the large variety of lovely restaurants we would recommended either self catering or bed and breakfast at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had thought of cancelling my booking after reading some of the reviews on this site but decided to give it a try and overall I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is modern and very clean, the rooms are large and comfortable with good sized balconies. We stayed all inclusive and I thought the food in the dinning room was good, the snacks served in the bar where a bit boring and tended to be cold. Staff were courteous, maybe a little indifferent and I never had to wait more than a minute at the bar. There was a lot of external noise (deliveries and building work) during the day and after a short while I choose to go to the beach rather than the pool. The location is great, minutes from the centre and the lift down to the beach, the hotel has little entertainment and no atmosphere, there was a lovely bar at the reception but it was never opened during my stay, the only bar open was more like a café so even although we were all inclusive we ended up going out every evening which was quite expensive, most bars were charging around 7 euros for cocktails, 5 euro for a glass of sangria. Overall it was good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub, Laundry service, Room service, Garage. Restaurant - A la Carte, Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar, Barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Gran Cervantes By Blue Sea Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.