We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes to your Saves list
Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It took us 15 minutes from getting on the train at the airport to get to reception. When you exit Torremolinos station you are facing the wrong direction (towards a bandstand) turn round so that you are facing the fountain in middle of pedestrian area with Burger King on left then straight in front of you is the hotel, (you cross the main pedestrian street as you go) walk straight ahead to the road with traffic on, turn right and reception is downhill on right. The road from the railway station has a large statue of a bull on it if you look right just before that there is a side entrance to the hotel that comes out next to the bar but only accessible with a room key card from inside or out. Bottled water is not supplied and is charged for everywhere in hotel and of course is expensive, we paid between 75 cents and 1 Euro for a litre and a half bottle in shops locally. The beds are hard, really hard. Shampoo and shower gel are provided. Wi-Fi costs 5 Euro's for 45 minutes, (but you can use that anytime turning it on and off) 9 Euro's for 24 hours continuous use or 36 Euros for 7 days. Safe in the room costs 3 Euros per day. It is a hotel that caters for many Spanish people so a lot of the food is in their style but there was always plenty of choice.
To get to the indoor swimming pool take the lift to 8th floor, turn left through emergency door signed "Salida de emergencia" go up 2 flights of steps to 9th floor and there is a large outside area with seats and sun loungers with views of Torremolinos town/beach and back to Malaga and the mountains. The indoor pool has seats, tables and sun loungers also.
To get to the beach from the hotel go out of hotel towards train station when you come to main pedestrian street turn left and follow it down. There are many steps and we still prefer the lift. To get to the lift turn right on the road outside reception, cross the road at junction and go right and in about 50 meters there is a sign "Ascencor to beach" directing you left, it's then straight ahead. (50cents each).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    647
    467
    191
    106
See reviews for
321
708
116
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a couple to Torremolinos in late February and were generally impressed by this hotel. From the price we had paid, our expectations weren't excessively high and previous reviews made us cautious but we decided to go for it anyway and it paid off.

By far the best feature of this hotel is its location - stepping out of the front door leaves you 200m from a beach lift (tucked behind the restaurant and clothes shop) which is 50c per person, per trip, although the walk down the road is a good walk too and there are steps down to the beach further in town. There is also a pharmacy right outside the front entrance - be sure to ask the pharmacist if you can't find it as some of the stock is kept behind the counter due to space!

Leaving from the back door using your room key brings you out directly onto the pedestrianised Main Street. We went just outside of the tourist season but there were still several shops and bars open. Unfortunately, due to the time of year, don't expect to have a great deal of entertainment outside of the hotel in the evenings as most of these shops and bars close around 8pm. However, this isn't a fault of the hotel so don't let it put you off staying here.

In regards to evening entertainment at the hotel, there isn't very much of it. During the week, there is a games room with pool, table football, table tennis and air hockey, but these will cost you between 50c and €1 per game so be sure to bring plenty of change! If you run out, the reception is able to change notes into coins for you. There are also 2 massage chairs in the reception and if there is a game of football on tv, you can be sure that the TVs in reception and the bar will be switched to it! Whilst we were there, a pianist came in during the weekend and played Spanish music which had a large group of people dancing in the main foyer.

The hotel is also 5 minutes walk from the train station. When you arrive from the airport, follow the train signs from the baggage collection area - you'll need to walk outside and cross the road to get to the entrance of the station. Ticket machines are located just by the door into the station and, whilst their default language is Spanish, pressing the flag symbol n the bottom left before using them will switch them to English for you. Simply select the number of tickets you want, choose your destination and pay! The machines will accept both cash and coins. Once you've passed through the gates, head to the right and go down the stairs with the sign that says "Fuengirola" and then wait for a train. The times can be found on the Malaga airport website but are usually every 30 minutes. Either by luck or some divine power, we never had to wait for a train as there was always one waiting for us!

When you're on the train, stand near to a screen so you can see which station you're at. Both the screen and the announcement are in English so it should be fairly easy to know when you're at Torremolinos. Once you've arrived, head up the stairs, turn left when you're outside and you'll see the hotel on the other side of the square.

Food at the hotel is an interesting experience - it's an all-you-can-eat buffet (regardless of whether it is breakfast or dinner) with several counters, some with heat lamps to keep food warm. There is a very large selection of food available including salads, pastas, soups, pizzas, pancakes, full English breakfasts, continental breakfasts, hams, cheeses etc. We found the desserts to be delicious, but they are very sugary. Yogurts, ice creams and pancakes are also available.

The room itself was definitely better than what some previous reviews had made them out to be. For a couple, they were spacious and kept very clean, with a maid service every day after 9am. Previous reviews had suggested that they were outdated but the hotel went through a renovation only a few years ago so ignore those comments. Wooden floors, big wardrobes, marble and tiled bathrooms and big armchairs make them very comfortable. We would describe them as being modern with a Spanish feel to them, such as orange flowery curtains and bed linen. The beds are quite hard which didn't bother us but we can see that those who are used to soft beds might not get an easy night's sleep! Pillows are the width of the bed and only about a foot wide and are very shallow, so if you do need head support whilst sleeping, we recommend asking at reception for extra pillows! Again, this is a Spanish hotel with a lot of Spanish guests so it is to be expected that the guests sleep on Spanish pillows. As with most hotels in warm countries, the bed linen is made up of sheets and warm blankets.

In terms of the services that the hotel offers, there are several available at an additional cost. A plastic bag is provided in the wardrobe for anyone who needs to use the laundry service and a full price list is also provided so you will be fully aware of how much you're paying for - in our opinion, this was fairly expensive but the prices differ depending on the service and type of garment you want to launder. A large, electronic safe is located in the wardrobe too - this is chargedd at 3€ a day and includes insurance up to £1500 against forced entry into the safe so, whilst a safe is usually free with most hotels, we didn't think the price was extortionate for what we were getting.

On the other hand, the cost of the wifi is. This is charged at varying amounts based on how long you want access for, with bulk buying being cheaper. It was my birthday whilst we were away so I used it to video call my parents back in the UK. This cost me €9 for 24 hours from the moment you pay at the reception, so don't make the mistake of buying it in the evening for the following day as you'll be paying for wifi whilst you sleep! Wifi is available throughout the hotel but, for those who haven't brought a wifi-enabled device with them, a single computer behind privacy glass is found in the reception at a cost of 1€ for 10 minutes.

There is also an underground car park, the entrance to which is located by turning right when you leave the front entrance. This is quite expensive at 9€ a day but only those with a registered room key have access to the car park so you're vehicle will be fairly secure whilst it's down there.

There are 4 lifts that can be used although they are very slow and there is almost always a small queue of people waiting to use them. We even had a race on one day from floor 3 to the ground floor and using the stairs was quicker!

Finally, the indoor pool at the top of the building. Because this is located on the very top floor, you'll have to walk up the stairs to reach it. This could cause problems due to disabled access etc so you'll need to take that into consideration. The pool is inside a large glass solarium that has views of the sun throughout the day, making it very warm. Whilst we were there, the outside temperature was around 18c but inside the solarium it was around 30c! This could be quite uncomfortable during the summer months, but during winter it is a great addition to the hotel. The pool is around 25m long so can be used for swimming lengths but it is only 1.8m deep so diving isn't an option. A word of caution is that there were no lifeguards by the pool, although flotation rings are provided should it be necessary. Linked to the pool is a small gym and running around the outside of the solarium, on the roof of the hotel itself, is a large balcony with excellent views of the town and sea. Sun loungers are provided, both inside and out, but there aren't many of them to go around. The only downside to the pool is that there isn't a bar upstairs, so you'll be making several trips a day up and down the 18 flights of stairs to the bar!

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As with most hotels, the holiday is what you make it out to be and with prices as low as this hotel offers, it really is a bargain. If you're the type of person who likes to have their hotel cater to their every need, we wouldn't recommend this hotel to you. If, however, you enjoy exploring the sights and sounds of the area and you don't mind doing a little bit of work to have a good time, then this hotel is definitely for you!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the 5 time I have stayed at this hotel but this is the first time since beig taken over by Blue Seas group when it also then gave you the option or all inclusive.
Reception, lobbyarea, bar all great. The resturant decore has not changed in many years, but the food has more selection, typical hotel food but has lots of choices and grill bar. but you can get fed up with same o so just as well as its very convient for many other resturants bars etc
Our bedroom had king size bed and same as other writers only had 2 pillows but they happly gave us 2 more. we had a fridge so we bought a few items from the local supermarket for midnight snacks? my only complaint about the bedroom was the bed was a bit uncomfortable and it should of had either a mattress proctor or a mattress topper they was only a sheet between us and the mattress. not very hygienic
As it was all inclusive it did get a bit noisy in the bar during the day but there are lots of bars cafes that are quieter just outside the hotel
Overall a good hotel in the centre of Torremolinos very reasonable staff very helpfull and pleasent
TIP DO NOT PAY FOR TRANSFERS FROM THE AIRPORT TO THE HOTEL HOP ON THE TRAIN ONLY 1.85 EURO AND IT STOPS 2 MINS FROM THE HOTEL

Room Tip: ASK FOR room above the 5 floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai,india
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Cervantes is a nice hotel.The rooms are very basic.Not even a tea and coffe maker in the room.Beds and bath room have seen better days and the pillows supplied are a bit of a joke.Long and narrow pillows and not very good for propping your head up while watching the very old box TV .Rooms are narrow but all have a nice balcony which kind of makes up for this.The public areas are well maintained and the breakfast and dinner really good.Huge selction of items and after breakfast had to skip lunch.Nice selction of bread and the coffee machine is a state of the art job that pushes out really good coffee.
Decent pool with a lively bar.Well located a five minute walk down to the beach.I enjoyed my stay here but did not spend too mcuh time in the room!!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

had 3 nights here for my mates' 60th celebration last weekend and we all thought it was a great hotel.I've stayed here before with my wife and to be honest you can't beat this place for a good central location 5 mins walk from the train station.Easy check in with staff who speak english,comfortable rooms and breakfast thrown in.What more do you want on a short break?Some nice Spanish restaurants nearby(Casa Lopez for good Spanish Tucker and Matahambre across the street for decent wine) and near to Calle San Miguel for more bars,shops and restaurants.The only thing I want after last weekend is a new liver after sampling the delights of Benalmadena and its bars selling beers for 1 euro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Reviews are subjective and some people are just hard to please but believe me, Hotel Cervantes can't be faulted for an all inclusive deal. My wife and I am are extremely pleased with what we got for our money. The room was nice with a great view from the balcony, bathroom was great with the best shower ever with a personal E-rating of 10/10. Boy! that shower wakes you up. The room as well as communal areas are always clean and spotless. If you love to drink at meals Cervantes is the place to be; you can have as much wine (red, white and rose), juice, beer, soft drinks and sangria. We stayed for a week so can't complain about meal repetition as we had a wide variety of different meals each day and delicious too. In fact too good considering the number of guests. Even if you missed a meal or feel for a bite, there's always snacks and sandwiches with variety of juice, hot chocolate, tea and coffee till 11pm at the Cafeteria.The four lifts can be busy at times but we almost never used them as there is stairs. For full board the bar is yours both day and night till 11pm.....what else could one want from a hotel. To be honest the entertainment was typically Spanish with a lot of locals doing their thing but we loved it as it gave us the opportunity to experience something different. We jumped in full throttle and were largely praised for our efforts and made some few friends too. Hotel staff were courteous and very nice with loads of "Hola". For us Hotel Cervantes had everything we wanted and we will gladly return anytime for same. Don't forget to ask about the free tours and stay away from the Internet box its pretty expensive (One Euro only gives you ten minutes of browsing time but we didn't go to browse so no problems)

Room Tip: Higher rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here in January, was a decent hotel. Large bathroom, and balcony, room average. Took 4 phone calls to get extra pillows. Great location, 5 minutes walk from the bars, and not noisy at night. Not sure I could take a full week here, but overnight was OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub, Laundry service, Room service, Garage. Restaurant - A la Carte, Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar, Barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.