We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varying Thoughts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes

Save Saved
You added Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Varying Thoughts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The lobby was beautifully decorated but the rooms needed attention. Still not sure whether the room had been upgraded as the decor was very dated but clean. The room lacked power outlets to charge phones etc. and the bathroom was very cramped.
Having said that, the location was fantastic and far overcame the minor issues of the room (which had a spectacular view of the town and hills.
One thing to be very wary of is there is an astronomical charge to use the internet - €22 per connection for three days.Needless to say we declined paying the €88 to use our phones and iPad and went to local bars and restaurants to connect for free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    512
    384
    161
    88
See reviews for
273
573
102
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very modern looking hotel which is spotlessly clean throughout. We stayed at the beginning of October and it was still very busy. The pool area is quite large although we did struggle to find a good spot as the grassed areas were a bit muddy (possibly due to it being so dry for the whole of the summer season, and then the flooding shortly before we arrived?)

Our room was situated on the second floor towards the back of the hotel, we overlooked a lovely pedestrianised street with a marble statue (can't remember who it was), lots of trees (which the birds roosted in, so it was a little noisy at early evening, but once patio doors closed we couldn't hear them) but not a bad noise, no traffic or rowdy bars etc. The room itself was a twin and was quite spacious. The bed was comfortable but I have to agree with the other reviewers, very strange long thin pillows, but this was easily sorted I just asked for an extra pillow and problem solved. The bathroom was spottless, with the usual bath (shower above), toilet, bidet & sink all marble and tiled.

Generally the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, reception staff were a little surly, but couldn't fault the bar and restaurant staff.

I would say the only thing that lets this hotel down is the food, we stayed on an all inclusive basis, and whilst I am not a particularly fussy eater, it was all very samey each day in terms of meat dishes, it was a very similar sauce with a different type of meat. Good choice of salads though. The deserts all looked different but tasted exactly the same! Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day with lots of choice from hot and cold selections, but could do with having more feshly cut fruit salads rather than tinned peaches/pineapples.

Overall, a good short break with the girls in a good location within Torremolinos, close to the public lift for the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool benefit from afternoon sun. Located in a quieter area so no real traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Apart from the great view on the 8th floor and above rooftop pool area this hotel does not in our opinion, merit a four star award. Great location and only a very short walk to the train station with bars, restaurants and variety of shopping all on the doorstep. Have to agree with other reviews about unfriendly atmosphere and only handful of staff being polite. All meals buffet style and drinks served more often than not in plastic cups at the bar ( only in small glasses when not sitting by the outdoor pool ). Absolutely no entertainment whatsoever and we include the weekend organist in this statement ! This part of the hotel with plenty of seating and large bar virtually redundant as no activities and nothing else catered for during the week. Very disappointing as we think the hotel is missing a trick in not providing entertainment for its guests. The room allocated was adequate for holiday purposes but seriously let down by a very hard and lumpy bed with a single bolster type pillow. Not what was expected from a 'four star' hotel. Air con was fine, unstocked fridge ( not even a bottle of water ), no tea making facility and TV had only BBC world news for Brits like ourselves.
One final observation regarding dress code for the evening dining room clearly stated no shorts or vests, this did not have any effect at all apart from one English chap refused entry due to his vest being worn. His small group were in fancy dress at the time as wrestlers and all very well behaved, we believe on their stag weekend. A large party of French youngsters were allowed in every time whilst dressed in their hooded tops and shorts and making the loudest possible noise whilst there. We are certainly no snobs and neither killjoys but there is a time and place for such loutish behavior and the dining area is not one of them. Not one of the hotel staff lifted a finger or said a single word, again, disappointing. That is the first time we have ever submitted a complaint in a hotel whilst being on holiday, we hope its the last.
Overall, we did enjoy our holiday and stay at this hotel but we cannot recommend to others as much improvement is necessary in quite a few areas.

Room Tip: The 8th floor ( highest ) the best rooms not just for sea view, but for all the surrounding area at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times and I have to say I have really enjoyed it everytime.
Large hotel in a fab loctaion for the town, beach and transport links.
We usually catch the train at the airport and i think its about 5 stops. The train station is within a few hundred yards of the hotel
Friendly staff and the service is good too. The staff in the restaurant are particularly hard working and make a real effort to keep the restaurant clean and tidy.
The hotel accommodates holiday makers and business people from all over the world which is nice as they cater for a varienty of tastes.
The reception area, bar and other communal areas are outstandingly clean.
The only problem we had during any stay was the moaning british holiday makers who seem to moan about everything there is to moan about and then some.
Relax, you're on holiday!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a sea view, its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 night all inclusive holiday at the Cervantes hotel, rather disappointed. The hotel is in a great position in the centre of Torremolinos, next to bars, restaurants and the underground train station. The hotel itself is very large, clean and and the rooms are adequate for whats needed on holiday, but it has a rather unfriendly atmosphere with a take it or leave attitude. The food is very repetative, but there is always something to eat, i.e. salads, hot food, breads, and sweet foods. The restaurant is divided between half and full board clients and all inclusive, the all inclusive guests have to serve themselves for drinks but the rest are waited on, made us feel like 2nd class citizens. Although the weather was terrible during our stay, nothing was happening in the hotel, no attempt was made for any entertainment, even during the evening except a pianist on Friday/Saturday evenings which kept the Spanish guests happy. The all inclusive drinks were served in wine glasses, but if you bought your drinks, they would be served in the correct glass .i.e. a pint of lager!!. We will not return to this hotel, and have come to the conclusion that you get what you pay for, and in this case the bare essentials.

Room Tip: Best rooms have a sea view, probably above floor 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The bedrooms lack a modern tv and only have local channels plus BBC news and there is no tea making facility. The food was excellent and all public areas deserve the 4 star rating. Overall excellent value for money especially on all inclusive.

Room Tip: Upper floor with a sea view to obtain a sunny south facing balcony and quiet from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Gran Cervantes is in a fantastic central location. We stayed in Room 112, which was on the first floor, so no need to join the queues for the lifts. This is a very big hotel with a very mixed clientele of different nationalities.
The hotel offers Room only, B&B, Half Board and All Inclusive, in my opinion it really needs to decide if it’s an AI hotel or paid for Board hotel. We paid for B&B but never visited the restaurant after hearing about the bun fight at breakfast and the poor quality of the breakfast.
I have stayed in many 4* AI hotels around the world, but this is the worse I have ever seen for penny pinching. The beer was served in part filled 0.2l plastic glasses, which actually measured just quarter of a pint and they only allowed 2 glasses per person per visit to the bar, so forget relaxing with a drink, the AI clientele where on a constant bar run, with only two bar staff serving. We bought our drinks in the hotel – a pint was €3.50 (£2.85) and half €2,40 (£1.95).
Given the number of rooms in this hotel the ground floor pool and sunbathing area is very small. There was no bar at the roof top pool, and very limited snacks available in the day for the AI customers.
The room was very clean and spacious with plenty of storage space, there is a mini fridge (not stocked), excellent air conditioning, a TV (but only BBC world news in English). There was 4 sachets of bath/shower gel, 2 small bars of soap, a comb, shoe shine and shower cap. The hairdryer 1200W was fixed in the bathroom.
The hotel only offers entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings, but that was of no interest to us as we went out every evening.
Just beware that as a lot of low cost airlines are flying to Malaga, max baggage weight is strict – unfortunately the only weighing scales the hotel has is some fancy contraption, which measures your height and weight. It will weigh a suitcase but costs €1 per case.
As far as WiFi is concerned it is available in the hotel but you have to pay for it. Outside the hotel there are bars, and fast food chains offering free WiFi, but who wants to carry their tablet round with them on holiday.
You also have to pay €3.50 a day to use the room safe.
I’ll just add that all the hotel staff I dealt with were very friendly and helpful.
Outside of the hotel; if you want a really good quality breakfast – visit Mulligan’s Bar, just left out of the hotel’s rear entrance – for €7 you get 2 bacon, 2 sausage, 2 eggs, beans, tomato, toast, coffee and orange, it’s worth every penny!
A pint of beer in the main square is €4, but away from this area you can find a pint at €2.
For a good Supermarket; you go out of the main entrance, head down the street then turn right and walk about 400yds, there is good size supermarket on the left with a large selection of products.
To surmise: I would definitely go back to this hotel on Room Only basis.
To the hotel management: STOP PENNY PINCHING!!! Stop the AI, and become a great 4 star hotel providing FREE WiFi, FREE in-room safes, a FREE set of scales to weigh my luggage and a couple of complimentary bottles of water in the room would be good, especially for the late night arrivals. Then if you can improve the quality of the breakfast produce – I would consider B&B next time.

Room Tip: I'd opt for corner suite on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes

Address: Calle las Mercedes s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Gran Cervantes is located in the commercial leisure centre of Torremolinos with sea views and only 800 meters to the beach. It is located 7 km from the Airport and only 300m from the train station. It offers good transport connections and can be easily accessed. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a total of 398 rooms which are comfortably equipped and all are adapted for every type of client, business client, individual or for family. There are gardens, a swimming pool area for adults and children; Solarium, Gym and indoor pool heated during winter. Miniclub, Laundry service, Room service, Garage. Restaurant - A la Carte, Restaurant Buffet, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar, Barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Torremolinos
Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Gran Hotel Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.