We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant

The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant
C/Antonio Giron 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
+34 951 90 97 91
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 394 restaurants in Torremolinos
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Hello everyoneFor your kind information from 1st october 2012 our new opening time isLunch: 13:00 hr to 15:30 hr wednesday to mondayTuesday Lunch closedDinner : 18:30 hr to 23:30 hr all dayThank you very much
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We read up on reviews of this restaurant before our holiday as we don't usually fancy an Indian meal abroad. When we arrived at the restaurant, there wasnt any other customers in sight and we nearly turned away, but so glad we didn't.
The restaurant is very tastefully decorated and air conditioned and we immediately felt comfortable upon arriving. You receive a free popadum and pickles, these were very tasty. We had mixed starter and vegetable samosa for starters. Both were beautiful and very well presented.
For the main, I had tandoori chilli, this is a sizzling chef recommendation dish. I was shocked when it arrived as there was a huge amount of food on the sizzler. Approx 8 massive pieces of the most beautifully cooked chicken I have ever had, lots of onions, peppers and herbs underneath. The taste was fantastic, so full of flavour. I couldn't eat it all, there was so much. My partner had chicken jalfrezi. This is also recommended.
We enjoyed this meal so much that we returned and both had the tandoori chilli dish a few nights later. We passed on the starter though as the dish was so filling. Our bill came to 42 euros the first time, this included 2 starters, 2 mains, rice and nan bread and drinks. We left the restaurant feeling like we had enjoyed the best meal ever and we definitely come to this restaurant again when we visit torremolinos.
The service was very good on both occasions even though the second visit was much busier on a saturday night. There is only one man waiting on the customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    160
    39
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbys
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“disappointing.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Being on holiday and fed up of the same food I searched for a good Indian Restaurant and found this on Trip Advisor. We went at lunchtime as advertised but it was closed so we returned the next evening.
Staff (only 1 of them) was very friendly.
Nothing good to say about the food I cannot even remember what I had except it was very very salty.
Will not bother again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

After reading the reviews on TA we decided to pay the Katmandu a visit. Location was great inside decor reminded me of school dinner hall, however the food was spot on. Full of taste flavour and individuality. Give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“food rather bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we both are big fans of indian cuisine and we are frequented visitors to many indian restaurants in belgium. knowing good indian kitchen we both found this restaurant average, not bad but nothing to be crazy about

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kathmandu Indian restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is without doubt the best Indian restaurant in Torremolinos. The food here as good as any that I have been to in Yorkshire. They also have a great Menu Del Dia.at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.