We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best indian restaurant in the coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant

The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant
C/Antonio Giron 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
+34 951 90 97 91
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 395 restaurants in Torremolinos
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Hello everyoneFor your kind information from 1st october 2012 our new opening time isLunch: 13:00 hr to 15:30 hr wednesday to mondayTuesday Lunch closedDinner : 18:30 hr to 23:30 hr all dayThank you very much
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best indian restaurant in the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We love indian food and have tried most of the indian restaurants in Torremolinos, Benalmádena, Alhaurín de la Torre, Alhaurín el Grande, Coín ... I would say this is the best one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    161
    40
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Excellent food!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After reading the reviews of this restaurant, we decided to give it a try ourselves. We ordered the mixed starter, which was very good, and chicken balti, pilau rice & naan breads, which were excellent. We washed the food down with a couple of beers, served in ice-cold glasses.
Our bill came to approx. 37euros, which I thought was very good value. The service was quick, and the staff very polite.
We come from Bradford, so we're spoilt for choice when it comes to curry houses, but, this was as good as any, and better than most that we've tried before.
If you enjoy your Indian food like we do, then this restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

After few months back here in Torremolinos and this restaurant. Absolutely great food, vegetable Pakora is great. And main courses as Chiken Vindaloo or Balti and also vegetable courses is hot and tasty. Great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Didn't enjoy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Got the meat samosa to start! Very dry and tasteless! My friends starter came out cold and had to send it back! Took ages to come back and she was eating on her own then! Didn't really enjoy my main either! I got a mix of tandoori chicken and shish kebab and other meats! Wouldn't recommend! No atmosphere in there either!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great Nepalese food in central Torremolinos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were a bit dubious about eating spicy Nepalese food while on holiday in Spain in July but we needn't have worried as we were asked how hot we'd like our food. We all responded "Medium", though in all honesty and with 20x20 hindsight I could have eaten it much spicier so perhaps I'll go for "Hot" next time. The menu is extensive and it was hard to choose really, but we all decided to go for Nepalese specialities rather than Korma, Byrinani, Dopiaza etc

We opted for 2 x Safari Chicken, a Pokhara Lamb and a Himalyan Minced Sizzler and they were all excellent. If I had to choose one over the others it would be the Himalayan Sizzler as that was truely spectacular. My lamb was equally good and I'd reccommend that as well. The Chicken was lovely but outshone by the other two.

We were given some complimentary poppadom and dips on arrival which was a nice touch. Our host was charming and spoke perfect English. The restaurant wasn't terribly busy when we arrived at about 20:30 but was filling up as we left.

We all had a pint and a half of draft larger, all served in chilled glasses. Lovely.

The bill for the 4 of us came to €70.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.