We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once, then Twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant

The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant
C/Antonio Giron 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
+34 951 90 97 91
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 408 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Free PARKING, Now for our clients free parking in PLAZA ANDALUCIA. Just park and consult your free parking ticket in restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Once, then Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We tried Nepalese cooking for the first time, based on Tripadvisor and salivated for more
To get their hook right out of the Torremolinos Train Station (ticket office exit,), Kathmandu is off the 2nd side street on your right
We both enjoyed the specials..such is the quality of the cooking striking the right balance between flavour, quality, though Quantity we found too much, though ample for larger tummies
Tabling is excellent with private conversational guaranteed, decor is very nice, and educational pictures intrigues the more open thinking customer

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    42
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“First class!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My family and I came here for our Christmas Day evening meal and it was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. This restaurant is very worthy of its number one spot here on Tripadvisor! Everyone agreed that it was the best Indian food they had ever eaten.
The service was friendly and we were seated and given menus immediately, the ambience was relaxed and peaceful. We were presented with complimentary poppadom and pickle tray which was a nice touch as we were ordering out starters and mains. I ordered the onion barji which was the best I ever had, so light and flavoursome without the usual greasy texture.
I chose a lamb fish with naan as my main which was simply delicious everyone was more than satisfied and we had such a lovely evening to round off our Christmas Day. Thank you Kathmandu for making our day special.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice in one week and both times it was excellent. The menu offers a lot of choice and it is hard to choose. But everything we chose was very tastefull. I have aten indian food in various restaurants but never as good as this. Try it! And the prices are very good too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fanatasic hard to match now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Me and my partner stayed in Torromilinos hotel for christmas and after a few nights off all inclusive food we were really wanting to try a Indian restaurant our fave food. We googled some and Kathmandu seemed good.
Back in UK we dine at the same one which we have done for years tried many and nothing ever meet the high standards. Untill now..........shame it is so far away.
We dined at Kathmandu on xmas eve and after a disappointing xmas dinner at our hotel we then returned for boxing day.
A little pricer than average i would say but worth every penny.
Appetiser dips were different than we have had but by far the best and starter was very nice we both had lamb tikka nice big chunks and our vindaloo and madrass mains were beautiful and nice and hot.
Wine was also very nice and went lovely with the curry.
Will be hard to find a match in the UK . Definitely a 10/10 , very good customer service.
If i ever visit costa del sol again this restaurant is first on my list

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian and Nepalese food in a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I went to the Kathmandu with a large family group on a quietish night. It was recommended to us and as we entered there was a TripAdvisor certificate on the front door. I can understand why. The waiter was very polite and attentive and we were all able to tailor our meals to suit our individual tastes (including catering for my sons lactose intollerance). The food was all excellent. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food and it was the best Indian food I had had in a very long time. The price was also very reasonable for such good food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kathmandu Nepali Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.