We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kate's Cottage

Kate's Cottage
Calle Gomez Rando | Montemar, Torremolinos, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 416 Restaurants in Torremolinos
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open every evening from 6.30 Pm.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

its the only place in the area that you have to book ?? cos its the best an the food is so good and the prices are great well done to Sharon and her staff

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    23
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having read the reviews and not knowing the area at all, we booked well before our week's visit to Torremolinos. How disappointed we were to arrive in plenty of time ("we don't open until 7pm and don't really cater for children") to find a notice on the door to say that they were closed for two days. Now, I would have thought that any caring host would have a way of contacting guests to let them know before they committed to a 19 euro return taxi trip whatever the reason for temporary closure. Should have anticipated it as the tone on the phone when booking was a bit surly. Very disappointed after reading the reviews on the food but that is only part of the restaurant experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, Owner at Kate's Cottage, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
the notice on the window read due to a family bereavement we were closed for two days. We are extremely sorry that a member of our family died while you were on holiday in toremolinos. as to getting in touch with you your number came up unknown so it was impossible for me to get through to you. I didn't know where you were staying as you didn't tel me when you rang.

as for no children's menu, children are more than welcome to eat of our menu, we just don't serve frozen food like sausages or fish fingers.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Steak a place here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Back in Montemar, and back in Kates. Sharon is a pleasant and helpful host, good humoured and honestly informative. Peter is at his very best with the 10oz sirloin steak. This is not to be missed - a three course meal including this magnificent sirloin for €15 - great value and great food. If you don't like steak there are many options for a good three course meal at €10.
The place is always booked out, to get in call a day or two in advance. The dining room is old Irish Cottage style and comfortable. This is what it is, not Spanish but simply a great restaurant for the many visitors in this area. And some Spanish customers too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, Owner at Kate's Cottage, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
thank you for a wonderful review and for your repeat custom. looking forward to serving you again when you are back in Montemar.

kind Regards

sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“holidays from the 7th oct to the 15th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

six of us had a three course meal in kates cottage what a little gem in montemar torremolinos the food was as good as you find back home if not better the steaks are to die for this is one of the best little places i have eaten in on the costa we will deffo be back to eat again on our next visit thanks again for the great food regards jim.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, Owner at Kate's Cottage, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. delighted that you find Kates Cottage a little gem and that you will be returning to us on your next visit.

Kind regards

sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

everything was brilliant ,food.location,staff unbeatable best thing is to book or you will be disapointed ,when we arrived we had a pleasant welcome and the way they looked after us was great I would recommend it to anyone

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate's Cottage also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Kate's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kate's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.