We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel on beachfront in Torremolinos - excellent sea views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel on beachfront in Torremolinos - excellent sea views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had stayed at this hotel before, but on this occasion we stayed 1 night prior to a morning flight from nearby Malaga airport (made a change from staying at one of the hotels in the airport proximity and is only 3km away).

The reception is rather swish and we were promptly registered. There is covered parking (a little pricey at €14 per day), but outside of high season there is often free onstreet parking available in the street outside.

The room was comfortable with bath/shower and we had excellent sea views.

We did not have breakfast on this occasion, but on previous visits we recall there is a substantial buffet available with a good selection of hot and cold foods.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Costa del Sol .
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .


Yours Sincerely
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    575
    170
    42
    25
See reviews for
240
783
63
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed three nights in early April. The room was roomy and clean and we found the bed pretty comfortable and did not have a problem with the pillows. Desk staff were friendly and helpful. There were lots of large bus groups and if you happened to need the desk while they were checking in or out there could be quite a wait.
It is a corporate hotel and there did seem to be corporate events going on that would overshadow the needs of regular guests. While we were there we saw a couple of receptions by the pool that it closed in the afternoon while they set up and into the evening. Also one morning it was closed for a breakfast meeting it seemed. Neither of these things bothered us as we don't spend much time by the pool.
The breakfast was good with lots of variety. We didn't try the restaurant at any other time.
It was the desk staff at the hotel that told us about the lift into the upper town.
We used the parking and appreciated the fact that it was well monitored. There was construction going on while we were there which resulted in a little more noise than we liked.
However we enjoyed our time at the hotel and would definitely stay there again if we return to Torremolinos.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that the majority of your recent stay was satisfactory and are also grateful for your comments about the service you experienced. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative is important to help us to constantly improve our service.

We look forward to seeing you soon again at the Melia Costa del Sol

Warm regards,
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just arrived home from a nice week at the hotel. The rooms are nice and clean and the service very good especially mile at the main bar who made me laugh loads because he was so happy. The entertainment is low key but if you want dancing the Don Pablo is nearby. The food is very good with an excellent selection available. Went to Gibralter with Exotic tours who are based at the bottom of the steps in Torremolinos, We also caught the local bus up to Mijas in the mountains and also went to Malaga on the train to see the cathedral.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great hotel thoroughly enjoyed this place
Great room had a junior suite so separate living area with stunning views
The hotel facilities are great from swimming pool health spa gym
Great restaurant and service was superb
Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone
I will be back in sure

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant and you were able to enjoy the lovely Mediterranean Seaviews from your suite.
We realize that you have spent some of your time to share your comments with us through Tripadvisor and we thank you.

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Costa del Sol, many thanks.

Yours Sincerely.

Orlando Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spent 5 days at this hotel, reception staff on arrival were very nice. Hotel was nice, clean room with a good view and good location for the beach.

We were half board so sampled the breakfast and evening meals and there was always a good selection of food each night.

Didn't manage to try out the spa but it did look very nice and will definately try if we go again.

There is a lift at the side of the hotel which takes you half if not most of the way up to the town, there is a cost of 0.50 cents for the lift. The lift service was not advertised so we only found it by chance while out walking one day.

Would stay here again if visiting Torremolinos.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and had a good view of the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hosts during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Thanks.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torremolinos
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just back from this hotel, very nice, clean and modern, however no entertainment and this was a bit disappointing, but it is right in front of the beach, and there are lots of restaurants and bars to walk to. Torremolinas has changed, it is not a party resort anymore, no live music allowed in any of the bars except the gay area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
First of all thank you for choosing Melia Costa del Sol Hotel and for your excellent review!

We are so glad to know your stay with us was nice! We really appreciate the time used in sharing your experience.

Looking forward to welcome you very soon!!

Thank you so much and best regards,


Orlando Pérez - Dep. Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were delighted to stay at this hotel in November, we had a lovely break and on the strength of this decided to go back when we had another break at the end of March. On our previous visit we had twin beds which were really comfortable but this time we requested a double. The bed was so hard it was like lying on concrete, I did however ask for extra pillows which were willingly given but we were both extremely uncomfortable.

We were only able to manage a short break and the Saturday night was a special night for us - we had been looking forward to it. We arrived at the Dining Room to find 2/3rds had been laid up for something else, so we were squashed into the remaining 1/3rd of the room. The noise was awful, the food limited and the staff were desperately trying to hurry us along. We gave in and went to the bar for a drink (which was set up with nibbles). I asked the waiter what was happening and he said a party of 400 were coming in. As we sat there more and more of the party arrived until we were surrounded and feeling really uncomfortable. The waiters were going round with drinks for the party and almost swerving to avoid us. We went back to our room (which only has BBC world news in English). If we had been warned we would have gone to dinner earlier and then gone out for a drink. There was no consideration for ordinary guests. We mentioned this on checking out and received an e-mail from the manager saying that this was a corporate hotel and the chances are it would happen again. We felt very let down - our break was spoiled by the lack of courtesy from the management.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Deputy Hotel manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for you review. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not live up to the expectations previous stay at our hotel have provided for you and we sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory guest experience you had. It is never our intent to treat any of our valued guests with anything less than the highest standards of service and to hear that we fell short on this occasion is very disappointing. We appreciate your loyalty to Melia Hotels International and truly hope you will allow us another chance to demonstrate the level of service our brand is known for and that our guests have come to know and expect.

Warm regards,
Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.