We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream in torremolinos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A dream in torremolinos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I spent five nights in this hotel and the overall evaluation is very good.

1)Rooms-->they are spacious and clean. We experimented a problem with the wifi connection but they succeeded in resolving it. The bathroom also is quite big.
The rooms didn't seem to be soundproofed in fact we could hear almost everything from the corridor.
The only thing which I didn't appreciated it is that sometimes my room was not serviced by the housekeeping until 2 o' clock..I know that they say that the room will be serviced from 9 to 17,but after lunch I am usual to rest in my room and I'd like to have it serviced by that time.

2) Position-->it is located right on the paseo maritimo!when you get out from the hotel you just have to cross the street and you are on the beach. The city center is quite close to the hotel,you just a have to do a nice walk through some local stores.
In front of the hotel you can find several bus stations and also a taxi one

4)Meals-->there are two restaurants in the hotel: the proa,which is a la carte restaurant and it is very pretty and nice. The buffet restaurant: located in the same place of the breakfast room, this is a buffet restaurant and it's a amazing,you can find almost you can desire from paella to hot ad cold buffet and deserts at the rate of 23€ per person

3) Breakfast-->the breakfast room is located at the swimming pool level and it is spacious and luminous;) there is almost everything you can desire: from deserts to ham and cheese.

4)Wifi connection-->it works very good in the hotel hall and garden. I could also connect my device from the beach on front of the hotel...amazing.

5)Swimming pool-->very nice and it is useful the towel service,the only problem is that it is small.

I'm totally satisfied and I suggest anybody this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are filled with happiness knowing that your stay with us was enjoyable and services offered filled your expectations.
For us, comments like yours are what motivate all Melia Costa del Sol Team to give the best of ourselves, always working to provide quality.

We appreciate the intention and the time you took to share your experience at Melia Costa

We will be waiting for you with open arms on your next visit to Torremolinos.

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    707
    205
    46
    28
See reviews for
286
963
80
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and find it very convenient. All rooms have sea view, but ask for a room on a higher floor and towards the front of the hotel. The standard rooms are functional and have everything you need.
Service at check-in is friendly and efficient and the great plus of the hotel is the wonderful breakfast buffet. You find everything you may want to eat or drink for breakfast, freshly-prepared omelette and cava included! It can get very busy if you go around 10:00, so try to get there a little earlier and you'll be impressed with the huge selection!

Room Tip: higher floor towards the front, we prefer the west (Benalmádena) side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Melia Costa del Sol . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the first time in many years on a weeks half board. Still the same great hotel.
Clean,both rooms and public areas.
Great food, varied, interesting and plentiful.
Great staff, happy and helpful.
Only one comment.
We never had a problem getting a sunbed round the pool as most people do tend to go to the beach.
However a few more beds wouldn't be a bad idea as some people did have a problem.
Also the use of chairs and the way people moved the beds around just makes the place untidy!!!!
Apart from that a few small bottles of CAVA in the mini bar would be a good idea. That's a personal thing I was on my holidays after all!
Well done Melia Costa Del Sol

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol.
We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez- Deputy Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent hotel & location we were very impressed with the 'Melia'. All staff were friendly & helpful. The morning after we arrived we asked if we could move rooms (nothing wrong with ours was 5th floor with pool view but at very back of hotel) Receptionist immediately found us a room on 2nd floor with pool & sea view at front of hotel. Our room was lovely & quiet as room & hallways are carpeted. Breakfast was excellent & delicious with a huge choice to cater for everyone! The pool was small but never got that crowded so wasn't a problem. Free towels for pool & beach were a nice touch. 'Oscar' the pool attendant deserves a special mention-he was fantastic-friendly, helpful & always smiling-he was always busy making sure everyone was okay. Although it clearly said you couldn't reserve sunbeds every morning at 9am there was a mad rush-quite funny to watch from your balcony! Even though sunbeds were free people felt the need to put towels on & then leave the beds empty for hours which seemed quite selfish. Most days we were able to find sunbeds by siesta time. We had a lovely holiday & would recommend the hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view near the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we stayed here in sept 2012 and both my husband and myself thought this was a great hotel in a great place with great food and lovely staff, but is not cheap, but like always you get what you pay for.
happy to recommend to all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your past visit to Melia Costa del Sol .
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Costa del Sol .

Yours Sincerely

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Decided to book with the Sol Melia group as they have a good reputation. Managed to get two adjoining rooms one for the adults and one for the children. The room was in good condition, complete with mini bar for refreshments if required. The air conditioning is to the coldest but was sufficient to keep the room cool.
We stayed half board and the food was ok, especially busy at breakfast times.
The hotel is quiet and never had any problems with noise.
The pool is small in from of the hotel and the seats disappear quickly, which is not really an issue as the beach is just across the road.
We had no complaints about the hotel, it's a good standard normal hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our Hotel.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards.


Orlando Pérez - Dep Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Massive hotel in a great location but with a tiny pool overlooking the road and not enough parking spaces for all the guests.
Our windows were filthy. We asked reception who said they would send cleaners but did not.
Nice breakfast.
We generally like the melia chain but this is one of their least impressive hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much to sharing your experience with us, we really sorry for do not except your expectation, it´s not good to know that in this case you have not had a good experience , we take very seriously your check points, since they are the tool to improve our quality and service levels and also to highlight the opportunity areas .

Best Regards

Orlando Pérez - Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.