We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Save Saved
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for 10 days in April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this excellent hotel.
We joined their rewards scheme online and booked direct at a very reasonable cost, on a half board basis.

On arrival at Malaga airport we took the train to Torremolinos (they run every 20 minutes) at a cost of about 1 Euro 50 each and then a taxi from outside the station to the hotel, cost 8 Euros. The ticket machines in the station are easy to use as there is a language button in the bottom left, and the machines take coins, notes (giving change) and cards.

Check in at the hotel was swift by pleasant and helpful reception staff, and since we arrived after the main restaurant had closed, they arranged for us to have a very welcome late meal in the bar restaurant from the menu.

Our room was a good size with a lovely sea view. Everything was clean and well maintained. The room had a flat screen TV with English channels including BBC1.We didn’t suffer any noise nuisance whatsoever, the room was very quiet, the only noise at night being the waves crashing.

The hotel provides free in room wifi and a free safe which is large enough to take an ipad. The mini bar can be used as a fridge, I just removed the contents and put them all back prior to departure, which some hotels would not have liked, but not here, this seems to be a hotel without petty rules, which I like. Prior to booking the Melia we looked at other 4 star hotels in the same area, seemingly offering lower rates, but when you add on the crazy prices most hotels charge for wifi, safe and fridge, the Melia rates were lower.

Throughout our stay we found all the staff to be very pleasant and friendly, a refreshing change.

The quality and choice of the food at the buffet was very good, probably the best we have had in Spain for many years. Eggs at breakfast cooked to order in any form required, an amazing selection of fresh breads, everything you could possibly want including complimentary Cava. At dinner, a huge salad bar, meats and fish cooked to order, plenty for veggies too and a delicious collection of sweet courses to tempt. We never had to wait for a table in the restaurant, despite the hotel being very busy with overnight coach tours on some days.

There were a couple of minor issues - the waiters were sometimes slow at removing dirty plates and the coffee served in the silver jugs at breakfast was not hot enough some mornings so we ended up making our own or using the microwave to heat it up.

Our only disappointment really was the beds which I appreciate would suit some people but they were rock hard, so we ended up using the spare blankets from the wardrobe to sleep on, just to cushion the bed a bit, and we slept reasonable well aided by a large Spanish Brandy prior to retiring.

The hotel is ideally situated to enable long level walks in either direction on the sea front or a steep one up into the main town for the shops, train and bus stations. There is a lift up into the town which is not immediately obvious. To find the lift turn left out of the hotel then left at the Hostal Guadaloupe, walk 100m up the street past the shops and at the first junction (there is a sign) go up a few steps into a courtyard and the lift is over in the left corner, it costs 50 cents and is well worth it on a hot day.

The hotel is perfect for couples, business people and the endless stream of one nighters on the coach tours. It is not really a family type hotel, as there is not a lot for kids and the pool area is very small, although the hotel is directly opposite the beach.

Apart from the hard beds, I can recommend this hotel, it is very good indeed. I hope you found my review to be helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Wow !!!!! What can i say............
ON BEHALF OF ALL OF US , AT MELIA COSTA DEL SOL........THANK YOU !!!!!

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time and share the experience you had at our Hotel. I am sharing as well your kind comments about our service with all the team.

Hopefully we can have you back at your “ Home away from home Meliá Costa del Sol “ in a near future.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    480
    142
    35
    21
See reviews for
192
648
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our 3rd short stay at the Melia Costa del Sol. Suits us perfectly for a short break away. Short taxi ride to the hotel for 20 euros. Check in was quick and found our room once again was very clean and fresh as were all areas in the hotel.
Food again was very good and always restocked very quickly. Could do with the tables being cleared at breakfast though. Did struggle with space and noticed that they were only collecting glasses. Service in the evenings was very good. The hotel does get booked by many large tour groups who often are seating together in the restaurant. It can get a little noisy sometimes. Was good to see that they keep to a strict dress code for evening meals. Saw 2 gents turned away as they were in shorts.
Entertainment is very low key in the hotel but there are plenty of bars and other hotels within a few minutes.
Sadly the weather was very poor but still found plenty to do. (Enjoyed a few hot chocolates in the cafe) With taxis right outside the hotel and the train station only minutes away travelling around is not a problem and pretty reasonable.
Might have to book another short break next month for my birthday and hopefully the sun will shine this time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter,
I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned on Saturday the 11th May after our half board stay at the Melia hotel, as is the norm for this hotel we had a lovely stay, we were particularly impressed by the very late evening meal that had been arranged for us as our flight was over one hour late in arriving at Malaga this ment we did not arrive at the hotel until 10.35 pm however a full range of hot and cold food was provided along with a drink, full marks for this. the hotel was once again up to its very high standards with very helpful staff.
well done yet again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review !
We are thrilled that our staff was able to give you some great restaurant options upon arrival , and that you had an experience that exceeded your expectations.
That is very high praise indeed!
Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the Melia Costa del Sol Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Got hotel recommendation from friends - glad i booked- clean and friendly hotel great breakfast - ( we went bb) across from beach in great location and bring your ipad laptop etc- free wifi! first trip to costas - we will be back at this hotel for sure- tip- ask for high floor on booking

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A belated review as we stayed here in January.

Very comfortable room with a great view of the Med and on the sunnier side. Although there were extensive repairs taking place on the exterior walls, we were not inconvenienced.

Like all Sol hotels in which we have stayed we went half-board. Absolutely no complaints about the food, always plenty of it and very tasty. Similarly the dinner was a buffet and again, great choices, and good food. The dining room staff were very friendly, especially Snr Perea who very quickly remembered our names, and what drinks we ordered. He really deserves a special mention and thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!

We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours specially with restaurant team and Mr. Perea.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Yours sincerelly.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location was certainly in the best part of resort. The room with balcony was clean and well kept. The food in the restaurant was exceptional – fresh, plentiful and so much choice - the variety changed every day. The staff are helpful, welcoming, and professional. Everything about The Melia is excellent and top quality.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol.

Kind regards.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from yet another great holiday at the Melia. This time we stayed in a junior suite on the 9th floor which had the most wonderful balcony, really making a third room. Views were stunning and it was a perfect spot for sun bathing up to around 2pm. My only suggestion for improvement would be a bit more entertainment in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for your outstanding review and awesome recommendation!
We are thrilled that you enjoy our prime location and views .Thank you for staying with us, and from all of us here at the Melia Costa del Sol Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon!


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.