We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Save Saved
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great hotel with good views to the beach and the sea beyond.

The only disappointments were that our bedroom air con wasn't cool enough. And the staff at breakfast time weren't helpful enough. An example, they would not offer you coffee all the time, sometimes you had to ask them, or get it yourself.

Otherwise the hotel was perfect, I would go back again to Melia hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your comments with all the Breakfast Restuarant staff.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    420
    118
    34
    18
See reviews for
162
542
52
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

location, location,location ... This hotel certainly has it. Just a 5 minute walk to the marina and beach front restaurants (this extends to 10 minutes in the evening due high heels)
Lovely pool area but not a lot of sun beds so get up at 5am to put your towel reserve on the ones you want.
Staff are very friendly and helpful especially when we had to move room 3 times due to no lockable patio doors... as we were on the ground floor it was a definite security issue. They upgraded our room to a suite as an apology which was great...Again no locks on the balcony doors but as we were 7 floors up we thought the chance of an abseiling burglar would be low. The fridge and air conditioning didn't work either but after 5 jugs of sangria we didn't even notice.
Great hotel if you're over the age of 50, I defiantly felt the youngest there (I'm a young slim 44 years old) so on the plus side I felt great in my bikini round the pool and I didn't have to worry about my husband eyeing up the ladies.
Breakfast buffet was a good standard which soaked up the previous nights 5 jugs of sangria...and all with a nice outdoor eating area.
Overall nice clean presented hotel near to all the bars and restaurants but far enough back not to be noisy .... Would I go again ... Yes for the price it fitted exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As most people note it is a lovely hotel in a great location.It has great balconies looking out to the sea .You can stroll along the lovely promenade and it is easy to get to the old town to catch a train into Malaga.The staff were delightful and nothing seemed to phase them. The dining room was large and made to cater for large groups so if you wish ambiance at dinner then go to a restaurant having said that the food was of a high standard and there was always something nice to eat.Breakfast was very good with great choices of cooked and cold food. Lunch is served in the smaller Bistro type bar and was a delight. The few times we had lunch it was fairly quiet and the food and service was first class. We did not use the pool this time but noticed it is small and there are not a lot of loungers so I imagine there is a bit of competition in the high season and if you are big on sunbathing you would need to either go to the beach,which is accross the road or choose a hotel where this is a priority.For a couple on a 5 day break it really was ideal.The rooms were modern and clean and had a great view.Try for floor 3 or above if you can. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Torremolinos is as you would expect ,a Spanish beach resort,but there is a sense it has been cleaned up to attract a wider range of people and outwith the high season is a very pleasant place to spend time as well as being near other places of interest and public transport to places like Malaga and Ronda are easy to access and reasonably priced and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: tr and get 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of a group tour. Very nice hotel, in a prime beach location. Staff very helpful and happily directed me to somewhere I could get laundry done. Pool area pleasant and well-maintained. Great breakfast buffet. Decor a little dated, but not shabby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property.
It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with future guests. thru Tripadvisor.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Costa del Sol or any ofthe more than 350 Melia Hotels worldwide.

Kind Regards.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A nice surprise!
A big hotel, right in front of the beach, with an excelent view of the sea.
A polite staff, and a nice room, makes all the diference!
The pool its small, but nice. The breakfast costs about 11€/pax, but its worth it, really nice choice of bread, and patisserie.
The car park in the hotel costs around 13€/day, but in front of the hotel, you have plenty of free slots to park, at least at this time of the year.
The rooms are very nice, large, and comfy!
Ask for a room on the 9th floor if possible, as you will have a better view of the city and the sea. All the rooms ( except on the 1st floor ) have balconys, and so you will might enjoy a perfect sunset!
Totally recomended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time and share the experience you had at our Hotel, I am sharing as well your kind comments about our service with all the team.

Hopefully we can have you back at your “ Home away from home Meliá Costa del Sol “ in a near future.

Warmest regards,


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Been there part of a big working group from 22/4 to 29/4. Was upgraded to a suite as being part of the company organizing the event. That was nice but overall, the service is really basic and you wonder why nobody in Spain is willing to go for quality and a bit more comfort. Torremolinos is obviously a cheap vacation spot and they probably adapt to their customer base (Besides us, this place was packed of UK, DE, NL retirees). But still ... Can't they make sure you have glasses at breakfast and shall not wait 10 mn to get them. That we can have tea in a tea pot rather than a bag in a small cup with no reload ... The buffet is nice and well furnished but hell that dining room is like a Moscow hotel in the 80's. Huge and with no coziness at all. The noise is just unbearable and the only thing you want is to have your breakfast terminated as quickly as possible ... One killing issue was the fact that you have no laundry service for Saturday and Sunday. It was finally arranged on an exception basis but we had to fight for it an put into the balance the weight we represented for the hotel. The pool and surroundings are on the first floor with no direct access to the beach right across the beach road. At a negotiated fare of 75 EUR / night, I guess I can say I got value for my (company) money but hell if you're willing to go there on a private trip and cherish your wife or fiancee, do some research and pick another spot. And I mean another spot than Torremolinos / Benalmadena. If you're a yougster in your 20's and all what count is to get a bed and cheap beer so you can be drunk in bars in no time then this is your place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as much as possible close to the sea (building perpendicular to beach)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience.

Kind Regards


Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Clean, large, modern rooms all with oceanview balconies. Lots of beach bars and restaurants and street shopping for easy entertainment. The pavestone beach promenade is at least a mile long and make strolling and morning power walking or jogging a pleasure. The large breakfast room is meant to serve the large tour busses that favor the hotel - but this is good as there is a huge variety and the service is quick. The buffet was included in my room cost. It is a 20 Euro charge to the airport and to the city of Malaga. The town is a great central spot to shoot west for day trips to Ronda and Morocco and to the east to Granada and the Alhambra. We stayed for 8 days and enjoyed several day trips and relaxed on the beach directly across the street. I would stay there again for convenience. If I wanted a b&b atmosphere, I would choose elsewhere.

Room Tip: higher the better. choose the southside tower for a sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Melia Costa del Sol. We always looking forward to have valuable guest like you and meet needs and expectations and your feedback help us very much on this matter, I am sharing your nice comments with all the staff.

Hopefully we will see you back again very soon at Melia Costa del Sol.

Warmest regards,

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain
Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Melia, Tingo, Venere, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.