We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An Incredible Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

On our tour of Spain, we stayed at this awesome hotel. The hotel is situated across the street from the Ocean where you have access to beach chairs and towels etc. The hotel pool looked inviting--unfortunately for us it wasn't open till June but we were able to walk along the beach and stick our feet in the waves --too cold to jump in yet--The bar was spacious and the bartender, Carlos was very helpful. He even helped me with my fledgling Spanish. The main attraction at the bar was Mario--the musician who was a talented keyboard player with a great voice. We danced until we closed the place at 12:00. The next day, after dancing like a fool and forgetting how old I was, I went to the hotel spa called the "Thalasso Spa" to take care of my weary muscles. Lola at the front desk of the spa was very helpful. I soaked in their, hot, giant, seawater, Jacuzzi and used the steam bath and sauna. I also treated myself to a 50 minute massage. Their massage therapist, Cruz Godoy was incredible. She told me that she had been doing that for 20 years and that she loved her work. It was evident by the way she worked. I walked out of their a new man, only to dance like a fool the next night. My room faced the ocean, was spacious and clean and had a balcony. They had a gym but the weight equipment was non functional. The breakfast buffet was very good and the food selection was extensive.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had a lovely stay, and enjoy the services of our Thalasso Spa.
Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.

Yours sincerely

Orlandop Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    565
    169
    42
    25
See reviews for
239
769
63
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
weston super mare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a cracking hotel only 10/15 minutes from the airport by taxi (20 euro's) and you arrive at this beautiful beach front hotel reception was lavish fresh and clean and extremely welcoming even at 0030 hrs by the night guy check in was fast and directions given to a great room on the 5th floor with an amazing sea view. Rooms are in a good condition and air conditioned great to have carpets and a good sized TV with BBC 1, BBC 2, BBC World and a couple of other news channels in English. The mini bar is also well priced at 2.50 euros per drink.
Beds a little hard (personal taste) but ample pillows and spotlessly clean
Breakfast served from 0730 ish till gone 1030 ish and a real good choice to suit all tastes
Pool is small but you are opposite the beach so the pool is quiet never had a issue getting a bed although the pool is on the front of the hotel its above street level so great for sun bathing i privacy but no pool bar so we just nipped to the supermarket for drinks!! everyone seemed to do this and nobody bothered you.
Evening entertainment was low key but didn't bother us as went out mainly to the main square
Hotel is 5 mins walk to the lift into the mai square(0.50 euros) each way so great value to get the lift up and walk back through Calle de San Miquel area
This is a cracking hotel with loads to do nearby and on the prom for walks or just to people watch from the Prom Wall or one of the many bars
Defiantly going back later this year as joined the free rewards programme so this gets you additional discount on the usual prices so worth joining up

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a good sea view but we were on the 5th floor and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .
Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights at melia costa del sol,,the hotel is beautiful and the bedroom furnished to a high standard.we stayed on the 5th floor and the view of the beach/sea was amazing..breakfast had lots of choice and you can eat as much as you like..staff spoke great english and were friendly and helpful,,i took my own travel kettle as no tea making facilities in room and was able to keep milk in the mini fridge..its not a family-orientated hotel so no entertainment in the evenings and no pool bar so you have to get drinks from nearby shops..that was the only negative point,,overall it was a relaxing stay and we will be booking to go back soon!!

Room Tip: ask for sea-view..5th floor had great views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed our lovely views.
We would be delighted to receive you again in a near future .

Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.

Thanks.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just back from 5 night stay in Melia Sol .This was our 3rdvisit in the last few years .Its just such a lovely treat .spotlessly clean with such attention to detail in bedrooms restaurant and reception area . We stayed on sixth floor ,with lovely sea view and lovely sunshine in afternoon ...All staff very pleasant and courteous .Pool area is small considering the capacity of hotel but was very comfortable for us at this time of year,Beach is directly across and lovely promenade for walking ..Excellent venue ..and very reasonable rates for B&B and half board.Congratulations to management and all staff for an excellent service to us tourists .We will be back.Thank You.

Room Tip: Sixth floor was very comfortable .request sun in afternoon side of building sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant and you were able to enjoy the lovely Mediterranean Seaviews from your room
We realize that you have spent some of your time to share your comments as well as your photos with us through Tripadvisor and we thank you.

I am available for any future requirement, if you send an email to. -
melia.costasol @ melia.com so that we can respond as quickly.

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Costa del Sol, many thanks.

Yours Sincerely.

Orlando Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed five days at melia Costa del sol in April. The hotel is immaculate, rooms are spacious,The room has a minibar, sea view and beds very comfortable. Bathroom is well stocked wth plenty of toiletries including shaving kit if required.
The hotel is perfectly located on the beachfront and is in a quieter part of the resort.
The quality of food is exceptional. We have stayed in many four/five star hotel and this restauarnt was one of the best. The restaurant staff could have been a little friendlier and one maitre' d was particularly rude - had a lengthy telephone conversation whilst we were waiting to be seated and didn't acknowledge our presence. However when he wasn't on duty, there was a noticeable difference in the atmosphere of the restauarant. This did not marr our enjoyment though.
The hotel is not really a family hotel and as others have said a lot of tours (american and australian visitors) stay in the hotel overnight. Having said that this was an advatageous for the holidaymakers as the pool area always had suffcient sunbeds and was a calm and peaceful area.
During our stay we visited Malaga and the Alhambra palace (tour operator africa tours see separate review)
We took the train to and from the airport - this was a speedier option - trains every 20 minutes, journey time 10 minutes cost 1.75 euros. We also used the train to go to malaga.
Overall this hotel was a very good choice, staff were very helpful and professional and I would use this hotel again. The quality and choice of food was excellent.

Room Tip: Sevice would have been 5* with the exception of the maitre'd. Rooms on the sunny wing (two wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant and you were able to enjoy your stay with us.
We realize that you have spent some of your time to share your comments with us through Tripadvisor and we thank you.


On behalf of the entire team of Melia Costa del Sol, many thanks.

Yours Sincerely.

Orlando Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just stayed a week in this hotel. Everything went well. Breakfast very good.A chef cooking omelets, and also cava available. We ha a junior suite at 9th floor, with great sea view from very large balcony. Staff was very nice and friendly. Location is perfect. Next to the promenade and the stairs, which you can use your way to "upper" town. Near by many good restaurants. Excellent choice.

Room Tip: Take a junior suite. High floor. Face to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay , enjoy the hotel views and some of our services.
We would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe .
Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests.


Yours sincerely.

Orlando Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked very late for this holiday and asked our travel agency to find us the best hotel in the area which was well furnished, quiet but on the front and overall a good quality. She suggested the Melia Costa Del Sol and couldn't have chosen better. The hotel is spotless, newly renovated with lovely furnishings. We asked for a room on a high floor with a sea view and were given a perfect room. The view was lovely over the pool and out to sea, it was sunny from late morning until the evening. The furnishings were tasteful and good quality. The dining room was large, plenty of space round the tables, good choice of food at breakfast and dinner. Not everything had a label on them but the staff tried to explain as best they could. It was lovely to have soup that was served hot enough for us. The entertainment was low scale but acceptable if you wanted to chat with the music in the background.

This is not a normal holiday hotel, you will not find Thomsons or Thomas Cook using it as part of a normal package, you book it as part of a flight and hotel package. It is a 4*+ and lives up to that grade.

We will definitely use it in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea and pool on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Dep. Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We thank you for trusting us and for your reviews as they help us improve our day-to-day customer service, we are glad to hear that your stay at the hotel was pleasant and you were able to enjoy the lovely Mediterranean Seaviews from your suite.
We realize that you have spent some of your time to share your comments with us through Tripadvisor and we thank you.

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Costa del Sol, many thanks.

Yours Sincerely.

Orlando Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.