We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Save Saved
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

this is a great hotel. perfect location right across the street from the ocean. travelling before the christmas holidays meant that many of the restaurants on the boardwalk were closed but we found some.
the staff is very service-centric. rooms are clean, very well-stocked bathroom. one side of the hotel is being renovated but there was no noise or any problems. the restaurant for breakfast buffet was in the new section so there was a bit of a walk.
pool is small but with the ocean right across the street, this is not a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, D. Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe . Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    480
    142
    35
    21
See reviews for
192
651
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in November 2012, the hotel is located on the beach just round the corner from the lift into town and next to steps which also take you up there.
The room was very comfortable with a good standard bathroom, the wifi however was very hit and miss.
Breakfast was excellent, especially the omelette station, and never seemed to be over crowded.
We went half board and the choice at dinner was generally excellent, fish, meat, pasta, pizza etc etc etc, the only downside was the choice of vegetables, although this was made up for with the salad bar.
We have stayed down by the harbour in a Sol in the past, but I think if we return it will be to The Melia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here on many occasions, we have just returned from our usual few days after the Christmas period. It really is a joy to stay here. When you are greeted by the excellent Snr. Gonzales at Reception in his usual calm and efficient manner you know that all is well. The rooms are spotlessly clean, all have a good view of the sea, the Restaurant is calm and efficient with wonderful food, we will shortly be booking our March break here and it can't come too soon.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, D. Hotel Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
First of all, and on behalf of all the Hotel associates and myself we would like to express our gratitude for choosing us as your hots during your holidays in Costa del Sol , and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again in a near future , in our hotel or in another of the Melia Hotels Intl. around the globe . Opinions such as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The good points - This hotel which is very spacious is very well located just across the road from the beach. The standard rooms are a good size. The bathroom is well stocked with shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, emery boards, cotton buds and shower hats. Bath towels are a great size. Breakfast is served til 11am.

The bad points - There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. It's the first hotel I have ever stayed in that didn't have a book showing the hotel facilities, etc. As the hotel is so big, I think this is essential as otherwise the reception staff would be inundated for information that could easily be provided in the book. Breakfast is good but it's also the first hotel I have encountered that the egg station didn't do poached eggs. They also don't do the basic cornflakes. They only had frosted cornflakes which are very sweet. Any other hotel I have stayed in always had ordinary cornflakes. Someone else said that fresh fruit was provided but we only experienced the canned variety and I just love fresh pineapples.

Our experience of the free transfer was a disaster. No one there to meet us on arrival at the airport. After asking numerous people in arrivals, a lady made a phone call for us and eventually directed us down to another level where the buses are parked. We found the bus (the only one there) with six other passengers on board. They had been on board for over an hour and we were on board for a further 30 mins before the bus departed. Not good.

Reception Staff - We experienced good and bad. So it's pot luck who you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel was lovely. I had an ocean view with a deck overlooking the pool and the Mediterranean Sea. The rooms are spacious, clean with the latest amenities. The bathrooms modern and well supplied with toiletries. The location was prime. To the right one could walk for miles along the boulevard with the seashore on the left and street lined shops, cafes and restaurants on the right. It was so clean, so safe and so I-want-to-go back inviting. If you exit the hotel and head left, a few steps along the boulevard leads to a series of steps into the oldtown area, a narrow uphill winding cobblestone walkway with beautiful architecture, shops, flowers, restaurants, cafes, vistas of the Mediterranean,ambiance galore all the way the main street of the downtown area. So much charm, it's hard to describe. The hotel food was also decent. A very perfect destination in a charming location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, D.Hotel Manager. at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor. We're glad you were able to enjoy the excellent service from our staff and our prime location, we would love to host you again at Melia Costa del Sol . Please if you have any other suggestions or comments, please contact us directly and we will gladly respond.

Orlando Pérez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The worst thing about this hotel is the external appearance: the awful pastel shade and the plasterwork are very last century. When I was there a lot of the balconies in the tower opposite had large sections of cladding chipped away, so I guess they're in the process of renovation. Once you're inside, this is a nice hotel: white marble effect in the lobby and the rooms are well appointed, each with a balcony and sea view. In November I was able to leave the balcony door open and the air conditioning off at night: very pleasant. Wi-fi is free unless you want premium speeds, which 90% of people won't need. Breakfast was not included in my package but for a modest 11 euros it was a great spread: fresh fruit, cereals, hams, cheeses and a hot counter for made-to-order omelettes, etc. The location was right on the beach - not of great interest at this time of year, but it would be perfect for families in warmer weather. Right next to the hotel there is a stairway which takes you right to the bars and clubs and the town square: it couldn't be more convenient. That said, if you're an independent traveler driving there, you will have trouble finding the way to the hotel the first time: signposting starts well on the main road but you're soon abandoned and have to work it out for yourself. Once you're there, though, parking in the street is easy and free. All in all a good experience: if they can update the exterior by 20 years or so, this will be a jewel on the seafront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliacost, Manager at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your stay in Torremolinos as well as taking your time for your comments.
As well for your constructive observations as in Meliá Hotels Intl. we believe that it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. With this aim in mind, comments such as yours are of the greatest importance and assistance to us. Be assured that MELIÃ Costa del Sol will never cease in its efforts to constantly improve the quality of the services provided.

Yours sincerely.

Orlando Pérez
D. Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a fabulous vacation in Torremelinos and our holiday could not have been better. We went to Spain in September and the weather was perfect, the location was perfect and we loved the room. My suggestion-request a suite. It was perfect for 3 of us. The view was beautiful. We had breakfast in the restaurant every morning and dinner one night that we were there. The food was very good. If we go back to Torremelinos, we will derfinately stay here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Housekeeping needs to clean the windows be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Melia, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.