We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Hotel with Beach Views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big Hotel with Beach Views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a very large hotel with views of the sea. I was delighted to find that we had a generous balcony with plenty of room for drying beach wear or other essentials and for sitting on and relaxing to look at the ocean. You can just walk across the road and you are right at the beach, or you can keep walking to the right when leaving the hotel and walk to the next bay about 20 minutes along a good, wide pavement. There is a wide selection of seafood restaurants to choose from here, or choose one of the many restaurants of cafes near the hotel.
Buffet breakfast selection was quite good - a big space with many tour groups dining. Gym was on groundfloor and was good for a workout. Sunlounges were for hire on the beach in front of the hotel, which would be a good idea if you wanted to spend some time lying on the beach as the sand was quite coarse.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have an ocean view - some only have a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    550
    162
    40
    25
See reviews for
233
743
59
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire, uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was an overnight stay after late arrival into Malaga airport. We got a room at a fantastic rate , free wi-fi, nice lounge/bar area , breakfast included and they even sent a taxi free of charge to collect us from the airport ! What more could you ask for ? Would love to stay at this hotel again when we have more time - for the price you can't beat it !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

. Just back from a week in the Melia Costa del Sol and so happy that I finally got what I always hope for on holidays but rarely get - a fabulous room with a great sea view in a quiet location.
Also have to mention how comfortable the beds were and how we liked the modern and spotlessly kept bathroom. We liked the food there very much - huge selection - should suit all tastes. The staff were great - very helpful and friendly.

We will be back to Torremolinos again - in the winter months - because I imagine it must be
extremely busy during the summer months and of course it will be this great hotel again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view because of its design but the higher floors would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Old hotel which seems to have been refurbished. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are good with wonderful views of the sea. The breakfast is sumptuous. Be aware fo the additional charegs for parking for example where you can park on the street for free

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hotel is perfectly located in front of the beach on the Paseo Maritimo. Even thought it belongs to the most famous Hotel chain in Spain it is just a little bit worst than the other Melia I have been.
The swimming pool is really small.
The rooms were confortable, spaciouses and very clean. The bathroom was small but well equipped.
Good breakfast, medium high quality of food.
kind staff at reception, sometimes unpolite the waiters.
My rating is 4 out of 5, the hotel is good but something did not completely sotisfy me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We wanted a quiet convenient hotel near Malaga airport and as we had been in this hotel on a number occasions more than five years ago we decided to try it again. We were not disappointed.
The inclusive shuttle from the Airport was as good as a Taxi, the reception person was welcoming and efficient and our room was located as requested in the booking. The rooms and bathrooms are now dated but sparklingly clean and comfortable and they have added flat screen TV with good channel choice. The Free WiFi was the best we ever had in a hotel
We stayed half board, the dining room has been re furbished, gone the browns of years ago now all black and white, bright, clean and airy. Food excellent, almost Restaurant standard and staff friendly and efficient.
Everything perfect?
Not quite - we got two surprises.
Firstly pool towels were not available 'in winter' and as we were not appraised of this in advance we had to buy towels locally.
Second surprise - on the last morning of our stay we discovered little insects in the Muesli we were eating. The waitress took it away promptly and an new container arrived later, however we received no apology or nobody mentioned the incident to us as we left the Restaurant - poor customer care!
But would we return again - yes !

Room Tip: Specify Front Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Traveled for business so needed a close enough hotel to both airport and the office, the Meliá Costa Del Sol suited perfectly. Only 15 minutes drive from the airport and on the beach front the location is great for my purpose hotel is decent and much better than most alternatives however it is still just an above average hotel in regular standards. Room rate includes a huge breakfast buffet and free limited and slow wifi connection if you need a more reliable Internet buy the 6MB per day for 6 € it is better but again not as fast as promised it is at least stable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.