We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Costa del Sol

Save Saved
You added Melia Costa del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Costa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
lancashire, uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was an overnight stay after late arrival into Malaga airport. We got a room at a fantastic rate , free wi-fi, nice lounge/bar area , breakfast included and they even sent a taxi free of charge to collect us from the airport ! What more could you ask for ? Would love to stay at this hotel again when we have more time - for the price you can't beat it !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    479
    142
    35
    21
See reviews for
191
648
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork, ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

. Just back from a week in the Melia Costa del Sol and so happy that I finally got what I always hope for on holidays but rarely get - a fabulous room with a great sea view in a quiet location.
Also have to mention how comfortable the beds were and how we liked the modern and spotlessly kept bathroom. We liked the food there very much - huge selection - should suit all tastes. The staff were great - very helpful and friendly.

We will be back to Torremolinos again - in the winter months - because I imagine it must be
extremely busy during the summer months and of course it will be this great hotel again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view because of its design but the higher floors would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Old hotel which seems to have been refurbished. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are good with wonderful views of the sea. The breakfast is sumptuous. Be aware fo the additional charegs for parking for example where you can park on the street for free

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hotel is perfectly located in front of the beach on the Paseo Maritimo. Even thought it belongs to the most famous Hotel chain in Spain it is just a little bit worst than the other Melia I have been.
The swimming pool is really small.
The rooms were confortable, spaciouses and very clean. The bathroom was small but well equipped.
Good breakfast, medium high quality of food.
kind staff at reception, sometimes unpolite the waiters.
My rating is 4 out of 5, the hotel is good but something did not completely sotisfy me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We wanted a quiet convenient hotel near Malaga airport and as we had been in this hotel on a number occasions more than five years ago we decided to try it again. We were not disappointed.
The inclusive shuttle from the Airport was as good as a Taxi, the reception person was welcoming and efficient and our room was located as requested in the booking. The rooms and bathrooms are now dated but sparklingly clean and comfortable and they have added flat screen TV with good channel choice. The Free WiFi was the best we ever had in a hotel
We stayed half board, the dining room has been re furbished, gone the browns of years ago now all black and white, bright, clean and airy. Food excellent, almost Restaurant standard and staff friendly and efficient.
Everything perfect?
Not quite - we got two surprises.
Firstly pool towels were not available 'in winter' and as we were not appraised of this in advance we had to buy towels locally.
Second surprise - on the last morning of our stay we discovered little insects in the Muesli we were eating. The waitress took it away promptly and an new container arrived later, however we received no apology or nobody mentioned the incident to us as we left the Restaurant - poor customer care!
But would we return again - yes !

Room Tip: Specify Front Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Traveled for business so needed a close enough hotel to both airport and the office, the Meliá Costa Del Sol suited perfectly. Only 15 minutes drive from the airport and on the beach front the location is great for my purpose hotel is decent and much better than most alternatives however it is still just an above average hotel in regular standards. Room rate includes a huge breakfast buffet and free limited and slow wifi connection if you need a more reliable Internet buy the 6MB per day for 6 € it is better but again not as fast as promised it is at least stable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Globus tour (were 3+ other buses staying here at the same time) . We were quite pleased that we have an ocean view room with a balcony. This hotel is directly across the street from the beach. The room was well sized and the bathroom was in decent shape. The beds were very comfortable and quiet.

The breakfast had everything you could need, but it was quite a production (high volume hotel) and had a scattered layout - it was a bit chaotic.

Even with all the tour groups, we never had to wait for an elevator. The lobby was comfortable and open. The pool was nice but nothing fancy. The star is the beach/water across the street.

Across the street is a small cafe 9nice food, reasonable price), and there were a couple of others within the block. The main restaurant area was an easy 10-15 min stroll along the boardwalk to the right. There were quite a lot of small stores and shops near the hotel.

If I was coming for a beach vacation this would be a great choice, and I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Costa del Sol

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11 | Playa de Bajondillo, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Costa del Sol 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Costa Del Sol Hotel Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Melia Hotel Torremolinos
Melia Costa Del Sol Torremolinos, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.