We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable October Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Save Saved
You added Sol Don Pablo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 hotels in Torremolinos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable October Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Not being regular visitors to Spain my friend and I were unsure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised with everything about the holiday. Booking and travel arrangements by Barrhead Travel were first class, including the flight on their chartered BA plane and transfer to and from the resort by private taxi.
The hotel itself was very nice with spacious rooms. Our first night was not too good with our room being directly above the Patio Bar where the entertainment was held and being very tired after a very early start that day the noise was not conducive to a good night's sleep. In the morning we asked for a change of room which did not seem to be a problem for the helpful, friendly receptionist. We were immediately allocated a room on the opposite side of the hotel which was not only quieter but got more afternoon sunshine.
The hotel generally was clean and well appointed and the dining although large was well
organised with no long queues for food.
A stay at Don Pablo coupled with a week of hot, sunny weather at this time of year can be recommended!

Room Tip: For a quiet, sunny room choose a high room on the side opposite the Patio Bar i.e. not facing Malaga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    407
    153
    42
    15
See reviews for
329
495
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

2nd visit to these hotels, last time was the sol Don Marco and this time to the Pablo we love these hotels .Food and service are outstanding the entire complex is spotless. The location is toward the banjandillo beach end of torremolinos all you need is within walking distance. We will return again and again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Arriving was easy from Malaga airport the transfer was not too long and the proximity to the airport was just right. Far enough to avoid the noise close enough to make it a quick trip. The main door of the Hotel is at the back and looks quite impressive carrying four stars the reception gives the impression that they have earned them. porter service to the rooms which for a four star place were a little disappointing on first sight. They resembled most travellodge or motel rooms basic beds and drawers wardrobe and ensuite shower only. there was a small balcony with the customary table and chairs and the same repeated in the room. The biggest drawback for me was the total lack of tea / coffee making facilities in the room. This was solved by Hiring a kettle and buying tea /coffee etc from the local market. I could have bought a kettle in the UK for what they charged to rent one though. The beds were comfy and all together the room was fine and fairly clean. I have stayed in better but it definitely wasn't the worst. Personally I would have expected more for four stars. There was an empty minibar which could be stocked at exorbitant cost and a trouser press. The air conditioning was fine when it worked.
There were ample lifts ad stairs for the more energetic and the restaurant was on the basement level. There were several restaurants and bars but only one of each was open during our stay last week in September. The dining hall/restaurant was large and clean and efficiently run. The food was very good with a huge selection available every morning and evening and I guess during lunch also but I only went to the dining hall once at lunch time. Overall my wife and I enjoyed our stay there was entertainment every evening and whilst it wasn't Broadway it was entertaining most nights. there were activities put on during the day for those with a mind to take part, air gun shooting, Archery, bowls Boules and dancing and aqua gym. The pools were not large by any standards but they were clean and made a far more inviting swim than the sea for me which was as good as a sandy beached seaside can be I guess but I prefer to see who and what is swimming with me:-) There were ample sunbeds around the pools which were available to all guests whereas the ones on the beach were £4.50 each. There was a small Bar /snack bar adjacent to the pool but the prices were steep comparatively. In General we enjoyed our stay and would happily stay again the sol Don Pablo, Don Pedro, Don Marco and Don Principie were all part of the same chain and guests of each could use the facilities of them all which expanded the activities and entertainment and pool choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

4 girls wanting to get some sun on our backs for a few days this autumn , away from stressful jobs and domestic bliss.easy flight from Liverpool with Ryan air ,arrived on time,cheap flights, however dreadful attitude from cabin crew to passengers.and poor selection of drinks and we were the 3 rd row in, to be offered!!! Enough said about Ryan air- cheap and it gets you there but frankly that's it ! Hotel is dated in parts with not over friendly, moody ,abrupt reception staff but absolutely spotlessly clean, fresh towels and linen every day. Breakfast selection amazingly good ,but a massive room with hundreds of people like ants fetching and carrying food back and forth to their tables,
Pools very clean ,plenty of sun beds at this time of yr . nightly entertainment not really our thing however very good and great end to the night when we caught the last 1/2 hr after eating out in local restaurants,lovely warm weather ,beach literally over the road ,great spot over the road from hotel for sun beds on the beach well worth the 4.5 euros each bed each day. Beds very comfortable and an excellent nights sleep had by all .no noise from clubs etc good location

Room Tip: 623 afternoon sun room 616 morning sun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear gwaenyclan and friends,
I am so glad that the Sol Don Pablo gave you all a chance to recharge the batteries before heading back into real life.
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the reception didn't seem too friendly; I will take your comment up with the department. I am happy that you liked everything else about the hotel though and hope that we might see some of you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It has all been said by others - you just cannot get better than the Pablo! This complex has captured the meaning of HOLIDAY!! Excellent location - Clinically Clean - Fabulous food - Exceptional entertainment team! Cant see any reason not to go back. Thoroughly recommend this Complex of 3 hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
methley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived fot the 2nd time this year expecting room 802 after receiving this from the hotel months ago...we have reserved room 802 for you, from a lady called isabel only to be told on arrival that this room (frontal sea view) was occupied and we were put in room 808. I showed reception the confirmation email for room 802 but I was rudely shooed away by paco. The next error by reception was when we requested a 6.30am wakeup call on the Thursday. We watched the receptionist write down our request but we never received the call (i set my phone alarm to be safe) luckily we weren't catching a flight!! great hotel but very poor customer service. Dont expect what you requested when booking this hotel!

Room Tip: make sure if you reserve a frontal sea view you have paid up front for it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Pablo and also for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am glad that you loved the hotel but am disappointed to see that you were let down by our Reception/Reservations staff. The issue obviously requires work and I thank you for letting us know so that we can find solutions.
I hope that the reception's performance won't dissuade you from returning in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel Sol Don Pablo for a 7 night stay and were checked in promptly. The hotel has a traditional feel to it and we were allocated a room on the 6th floor with a side view of the beach and the sea. Although the room was clean and of an excellent standard, there was no tea making facilities, but we always take our own kettle etc so this did not present a problem. We were staying on a half board basis and all the meals were excellent. Breakfast was from 7:30 to 10:30 and you could not ask for more. You had a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, meats or you could always have a full cooked English breakfast. There were tea and coffee machines and we counted 6 toasters in operation, so there was never a queue. There was always plenty of choice at dinner too and the staff in the dining room were excellent. Nacho deserves a mention for his friendly welcome every evening at the dining room entrance and for putting up with my beginners Spanish. The pool area was nice with plenty of sunbeds. You can also use the facilities of the two sister hotels adjoining (Don Marco and Don Pedro). The complex is very secure at night as the gates are locked at 12 midnight and entry can only be gained by using your room card. The hotel is well positioned directly on the Paseo Martimo promenade next to the beach. There are 9 pools around the complex and the grounds are kept clean and presentable. The hotel also has 2 full size bowling greens and 5 lifts. Forget any previous negative comments, as I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to visitors and Torremolinos also has the advantage of being just a short transfer from Malaga airport. I would just like to mention that Torremolinos also surprised me as my last visit was many years ago and I feel it is now a very smart resort with a beautiful promenade. Finally, all staff at the Sol Don Pablo should take a bow and be very proud of their efforts - you made our stay very memorable. I will definitely return to this hotel in the future without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Due to its location, 99% of rooms in the Sol Don Pablo have a side view to the sea. The only other c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Don Pablo is one of three hotels in the Sol Don Hoteles Complex. The complex is on the sea front of the Bajondillo beach in Torremolinos and boasts 50,000m2 of facilities and gardens. Guests are free to use all the facilities of the complex including (depending on the season) 9 pools, 6 bars, 2 jacuzzis, entertainment every day and evening and the Delfinus Spa. The hotel is 800m from the town centre with beautiful walks along the promenade towards the port in Benalmadena. The airport is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Melia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pablo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.