We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where are the teapots” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sol Don Pablo to your Saves list
Sol Don Pablo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“where are the teapots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

stayed 2 oct/9oct I will start with the positives
great entertainment every night
good selection of food for breakfast/dinner
rooms ok.
negatives
air conditioning is very poor seems to be very old system
lifts are too small for 300 plus room hotel
breakfast is very stressful some times no teabags
also please purchase tea pots there is a serious shortage

Room Tip: any rooms 01 on any floor have a wraparound balcony eg 101/201/301/ect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear curtainman,
Many thanks for your very useful review. As I am sure you are aware, this forum is extremely important to us to help is identify the areas where we can improve.
We had a problem with our central air-conditioning system at the end of the summer when temperatures were hottest and which had no quick remedy. I apologise to anyone affected. The system will be renewed this winter and next summer it will be restored to perfect working order.
The issue of the lifts is being studied. They can become congested at peak meantimes when we are at full occupancy, which I understand can cause inconvenience for our guests.
The tea pots have been replaced.
Again, thank you for your comments, both positive and constructive. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    441
    164
    44
    16
See reviews for
351
530
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Once again we had a super holiday at the Don Pablo. We emailed in advance to request a room on a high floor, facing west and at the sea end of the building and were delighted to get exactly that. All the staff are friendly and helpful and the entertainment team work so hard. There are many activities planned over the day, listed on screens in the reception area. At no time do the team approach anyone to take part, it is up to you. The evening entertainment is a blend of their own team putting on shows, Grease, Mamma Mia etc and also other musicians and Flamenco shows, Il Divo type bands, etc. Rooms are quite spacious with large balconies and good bathrooms. An empty fridge is provided for your own use. Breakfast choices are good, including endless cava. Evening choices vary over the week / fortnight and for anyone finding it difficult to find some thing they like there is the Italian corner - pizza, pasta etc. The frontage of the hotel has been updated and looks very smart and this winter all the swimming pools are going to be upgraded. We do not usually return to the same hotel but it is hard to find another hotel in this area that offers so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Morag A,
I am delighted that we cover all the bases for you and that you appreciate not only the hotel as it is, but also the modernisations and improvements that we carry out every year.
I hope that you love the new pool complex when you come back next time.
Thanks again.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

On arrival we had no problem at reception and was given the option of single or double beds and floor. We had room on the 8th floor with a queen size bed and a great side view over the beach and med. WE had booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast selection was amazing, hot cold fruit cereal and even champagne if you wanted. The rooms were clean and a reasonable size the only problem was the balcony door was wooden and there was a gap between the frame. The staff were friendly and nothing seem to much trouble. Each evening at 10pm there was entertainment which on most evenings was top class. With its location right on the beach I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms not overlooking the pools give you good views are quieter and get the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear shakinray,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and I really appreciate your recommendation.
I hope that we see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

just got back after a weeks stay, yet again, staff great and very helpful we were recommended a bottle of wine by the waiter, and not only was it cheaper but it was very nice indeed, we also had a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit in the room for our wedding anniversary, very nice start to our holiday.
room was spotless, nothing too much trouble for the staff.
hopefully all being well we will return again next year at the same time
J

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear janeyfChannelIslands,
Thank you for choosing the Don Pablo for your holidays again. I am really happy that you keep enjoying your time here and look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Reception slow and un-organsised on check-in/out, let spanish people push in front of the queue.

Some kind of noisey protest going on outside reception for 2 days, no communication from staff as to whats going on, very un-nerving.

Room OK, cleaners good and friendly when passing, main pool needs repair has cracked tiles and is grimey looking, uncomfortable plasic sunbeds.

On half board option, quantity rather than quality here, there is lots of choice but nothing seemed particularly fresh or cooked well, dry meat/fish, overcooked vegetables, undercooked eggs etc etc.

Most of the cliental were pensioners, not much atmosphere.

Near the hotel are lots of restaurants/bars but no real nighlife, went to torremolinos town and was slightly more busy but pretty rough place. Ended up getting a cab to Benalmadena marina each night instead. Avoid 24hour square its not safe. Go to Toro restaurant in the marina for the tasting menu with wine, you wont be dissapointed (or sober) when you leave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear dafttaylor,
I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Don Pablo. I do appreciate you getting in touch to let us know, however.
You were very unlucky that during a few days in September a group of retired employees who have not been receiving their full pension from the government elected to make their discontent apparent by protesting in front of the hotel. As we informed all the guests, in six languages, both with notices in the lifts, in the reception and on the electronic notice boards in the public areas of the hotel, this was nothing to do with the management or union commitee of the hotel. I appreciate that it involved two hours of noise outside the front of the hotel for three consecutive days and I can see how it could have been unnerving. We are sorry for that.
Torremolinos is no longer the party town that it was in the 1980s and 1990s. It is now much more of a family resort although the 7 km. beach is lined with small bars and restaurants. The centre of town also has some great restaurants and shops. For those seeking a party atmosphere though, it is true that this isn't really the place.
Again, I am sorry that you were disappointed with Torremolinos and the hotel. I wish you happy future holidays.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived at 11.30 at night and were checked right away..hotel was lovely and we had a great sea view..the room was very clean with 2 large single beds pushed together..clean and comfy..breakfast was very good with lots of choices and staff were replenishing constantly..cava was available every morning..staff very friendly and spoke great English..entertainment was good but bar prices for drinks was expensive..the pools were great and lots of sunbeds..overall a great relaxing holiday and we will definitely stay there again,.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle if like me you need tea in morning as no tea making facilities in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear jaeparmai,
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday at the Sol Don Pablo. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and really appreciate you letting others know.
The most important thing is that you would like to return and we look forward to that.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel a three part complex, stayed at Sol Don Pablo for 14 nights. Beach across road. Entertainment staff were friendly and worked hard and did nightly shows although some were mimed the choreography and dancing was very good. A choice of three pools and indoor pool. If you wanted to use the Spa this was in Sol Don Marco at a charge of 40 euros for 1 hour to use their Turkish and steam too expensive did not use. Breakfast was brilliant a variety of choice. What let this hotel down was the evening meal, more or less the same meals every day and some of which were cold quite a poor standard and came as a surprise this let the hotel down a lot. The side view pool was good if you want quiet make sure your room is on the other side away from the entertainment area. This hotel is spotless so are the rooms so if they bring the evening meal up to a better standard will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear 750Sylvia16,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Pablo for your holidays and for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad to see that you liked the hotel so much even if not as happy with the dinner as you had hoped. We will definitely work to improve the meal although we are currently getting a lot of very positive feedback about the buffet too.
I hope that you come back soon and that you find the buffet to your liking.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Don Pablo is one of three hotels in the Sol Don Hoteles Complex. The complex is on the sea front of the Bajondillo beach in Torremolinos and boasts 50,000m2 of facilities and gardens. Guests are free to use all the facilities of the complex including (depending on the season) 9 pools, 6 bars, 2 jacuzzis, entertainment every day and evening and the Delfinus Spa. The hotel is 800m from the town centre with beautiful walks along the promenade towards the port in Benalmadena. The airport is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Melia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pablo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.