We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Save Saved
You added Sol Don Pablo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Having tried Don Pedro we thought we would try this one for a change.
The only real complaints were the noise from adjoining rooms, The walls must be very thin, we had a familly in the next room and the baby was having trouble sleeping. But it did not bother us too much.
There seemed to be a shortage of towels in this hotel as we were left with only one between two of us and one day the towel that was left had holes in it!
On the plus side the bathroom in this hotel was very nice with a walk in shower and very modern fittings.The hotel staff were very pleasant as usual, especially the pool staff, and the hotel is very very clean.
Overall we had a very nice time here and will be going back

Room Tip: Don't pay for Wi Fi as it is free in the public areas. Best signal is found in the don pedro hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    422
    161
    44
    16
See reviews for
347
510
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

All this hotel needs for me to give it a 5 is a facelift.The location cannot be beat with multiple pools on property and a very short walk to the beach. The beach never got that crowded either, even during high season. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby to keep you entertained as well. It clearly hasn't had an upgrade since its building in 1974, but everything is clean and in working order. The staff is quite unhelpful, but I find that's generally a Spanish rule so this isn't an exception. Caution, if you are looking for authentic Spanish surroundings, you won't find it in this town as most of the visitors are from Northern Europe. This particular hotel area is dominated by UK visitors. If you are traveling with little kids, there is plenty for them to do to keep happy. If you are not, there are plenty of things to keep adults busy too! A bonus 2x1 happy hour isn't such a bad deal either.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT facing the beach/hotel center will be quieter as the hotel schedules loud performances at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just came back from the Don Pablo, had a brilliant time there. The dining experience was excellent, love the option of swapping dinner for lunch if your half board and the food was amazing !! good meal times too (unlike a hotel we stayed in last yr in Calella). The staff were friendly especially the dining room staff and the kids entertainers. Love the location of the hotel, right on the beach. the main pool (big round one) could do with a bit of cosmetic work on it but overall had a great time here and will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lots of People here who have been here a number of times before, easy to see why, Food is perfectly good, staff friendly, Right on the beach, good pools, godd rooms.
Good value for money we went twice once in March then again in May because its good value for a bit of reliable sun, if there is such a thing anymore. !0 minutes walk from the train station at Torremolenos (which has stairs, if you have heavy cases, I am told, get off the stop before and get a 2 euo cab) otherwise with hand luggage and the right train time you ciould be on your sunbed 1 hour after leaving the airport . You can get a taxi but its just a couple of euro on the train.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the Hotel Don Pablo. Our children were so upset to be leaving because they spent an amazing eight days in the mini club and being entertained each evening. There is activities for everyone including Zumba, aqua aerobics, yoga, archery etc in the morning, which made my week. The night time entertainment is great fun and the enthusiasm from the activities team is fantastic. The swimming pools were great as there were so many between the 3 hotels and again they were well maintained and clean.
While the decor is quite tired like other reviewers suggest it is very clean and well maintained. The staff cleaning the rooms were very helpful and nice. Our room was big enough for the family but because we were on the 9 th floor we had no balcony. If we return again I would certainly ask for a family room on the 2 nd floor with a balcony.

We went half board and were happy enough. There is quite a variety however like most buffets it can be over cooked and greasy. Saying that though we had great choice every day with fish dishes, salads and fruit. My daughter even tried rabbit! I am afraid I thought their cakes and desserts were not great. I think if the quality of food was slightly better they would have very happy customers at this hotel, maybe even a diet section! I have to admit though we did enjoy all ours meals including a great breakfast each morning. Gracia for all the lovely omelettes!

My only major flaw is that at times (apart from a lovely lady) the reception staff are unfriendly and quite off putting. it does the hotel a great dis service as all the other staff are fantastic from activities to restaurant and cleaning staff.

All in all this hotel offered great value for money and I would recommend it for families, in fact I might be coming back next year!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioStalenhoef, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear " Aoibheann L",

Thank you for sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor. We hope to see you back here in Sol Don Pablo as soon as possible. have a great Summer.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a disgusting hotel,the food is awful and the rooms are horrible, i found a sock in my pillow case from the last people who were sleeping in this room. The pool is okay however the music thats played is really to loud to relax in the sun.
The food is just over done chips and undercooked meat.
Do not go to this hotel! The staff tried to sell me Hashish!
EVER.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Harry B,
I see that you were completely unhappy with your stay with us and I am sorry that you found the hotel to be so far from your expectations.
More importantly however, I am shocked by the allegation that you make about criminal activity taking place. You do not specify if this was supposed to have occurred on the hotel property or not but in either case this should be dealt with by the police. I am surprised that at the very least this would not have been mentioned to the management of the hotel. If there is a crime to report I urge the reviewer to contact the hotel management directly.
Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Don Pablo for a week at the end of March. We paid a bit extra when we arrived to get a sea view room, it was well worth it ti wake up each morning, open the patio door and be greeted with such a beautiful view.

The hotel is a bit tired in the rooms but still very clean and well maintained, towels changed every day if you leave them in the batch tub, sheets changed twice a week.

The main area's of the hotel are decorated in a very Spanish theme, some beautiful pictures and statues, must have cost a fortune when it was built as no expense has been spared on the communal area's. There are plenty of pool area's to choose from as he hotel is part of three in a gated area, very good on security at this hotel. We went to all three Hotels to see entertainment, the hotel entertainment team put on a "Grease" show, it was very good.

The food is ok, plenty to choose from, as with all Spanish hotel, try the deserts, they are ti die for. Very friendly restaurant staff and very helpful reception staff.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear nancymuir,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Hotels Complex and thanks for taking the time to review your experience.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and that you made full use of the complex, with all the facilities provided by the three hotels.
I hope that you come back again one day.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Don Pablo is one of three hotels in the Sol Don Hoteles Complex. The complex is on the sea front of the Bajondillo beach in Torremolinos and boasts 50,000m2 of facilities and gardens. Guests are free to use all the facilities of the complex including (depending on the season) 9 pools, 6 bars, 2 jacuzzis, entertainment every day and evening and the Delfinus Spa. The hotel is 800m from the town centre with beautiful walks along the promenade towards the port in Benalmadena. The airport is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pablo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.