We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and relaxing just what a holiday should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Pablo to your Saves list
Sol Don Pablo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertford
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely and relaxing just what a holiday should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the pablo which is one of three of the sol don hotels, the other two being sol don pedro and sol don marco. As you look out of the back of the pablo you can see the pedro to the left and the marco to the front left. They are all very nice and are easily accessible from one hotel to the other. They are adjoined by beautifully kept gardens. My children used the pablo pools which are the the three round pools and the pedro pool the most , the towel bar is situated right next to the pedro pool. You can hire a towel for ten euros which you can keep for as long as you want and once the towel is returned you receive your 10 euros back. I used to return the towel every day or two so i had a nice fresh one but to do this you have to return your towel get your receipt back and then go to front reception and get your 10 euros back and then the next day go to reception pay ten pounds , get a receipt and give it to the towel bar which sounds a palava but is not really to get a nice fresh laundered towel. The rooms were lovely we stayed in 904 and 906 which were above the evening entertainment. The rooms were very nich, spacious with two large beds in which were slightly bigger than a single. We had two rooms my husband and son in one and myself and my daughter in another, which was very comfortable but if you were to put another bed in , it could possibly be a bit more of a squeeze. The bathroom was lovely walk in shower and all new. The towels were only changed if you left them on the floor so you could have fresh towels every day if you wanted them, the beds were made every day and bathroom replenished daily if needed. There was a safe in the room which you had a key to open it. You pay a deposit which i cant remember how much it was sorry , which if i remember rightly you dont get the deposit back but at least you know your stuff if safe. As you look out of our room you could see the roof of the restaurant but couldnt actually see the entertainment below. The entertainment finished at 11 every night and was not a problem as by the time you come up from the pool at sometimes 7 or 8 , shower and have dinner we were just in time for the entertainment. If on the odd occasion you may be too tired to go to the entertainment it was not a problem as it was quite nice to hear in the background and if you really dont want to listen to it then you cant hear it with the doors shut, We normally had the doors shut anyway as we would have the air conditioning on. The food hall is very busy , but very well run with a large variety of food. There were vast amounts of fresh fruit , salad , fresh fish, deserts , two types of soup every day. Lots of variety of cereal and bread, sticks, rolls loaves , yoghurts , fresh orange, icecreams etc. The hot food consisted of a pizza delhi which served , pizza, pasta and other italian foods, there was paella every day , the meat varied from pork, lamb, chicken and fish. There were chips everyday and either new potatoes , boiled potatoes , sliced potatoes. There were other varieties which were spanish which i wasnt too sure about but my husband had a try of them all. There were lots of cereals , fresh melon, grapes , dried fruit, salad. Even though i didnt need it myself there were microwaves that were available to heat up childrens baby food , there was a fridge freezer with pots of icecream, there was fresh apple orange and pineapple juice in jugs, tea and coffee making facilities with all of which was unlimited. We stayed half board which we thought was plenty as you cant really eat three meals a day in hot spain, we mainly had breakfast and dinner and snacked through the day and occasionally had lunch and dinner but found it too filling. You had to pay for drinks at lunch and dinner which for a bottle of water each for the four of us cost us 7 euros a night at dinner which i suppose does add up i suppose and was my only gripe, you could also have any drink ie wine , beer , fizz, the drinks in the morning were free. In the morning you could have a egg any way you liked, fried boiled scrambled (little soggy) or a lovely fresh omlette plain or with whatever you fancied in it. There was no problem with getting a sunbed at all. I did in the end go down and put my towels out as we did prefer some positions to others as i liked to be near the edge of the pool to see the children. There was also a large amount of sunbeds with a canopy over which was very good as some people like to be out of the sun , there were lots of different areas with sunbeds some looked out onto the see , some around the pool some further back. There were 9 pools in total, three round ones you can see in the pictures, a rectangle one at pedro a smaller L shaped one at marco and also another round the back of the marco , also around the back of the marco was an adult only pool with a jacuzzi and a large pool which seemed quieter and very secluded and an indoor one next to the three joined round pools. There was also another jacuzzi near the three rounds pools also. There was water areobics twice a day which anyone could do adults and children , exercise class every day, kids club which my children were just too old for even though they were allowed to go in they felt a little too old to do so, they are 10 and 13. The children that went to kids club had the choice to be part of the entertainment every night with fantastic costumes and they were really great in there. Once a week on a tuesday in the pedro they had water floats which were great fun trying to get across whilst having an inflatable ball thrown at you the only downside was it was once a week. The kids club also had sessions in the pedro where they would play games and the staff would get in the pool with the children and they seemed very efficient and in control. You were given a card to enter the hotel which you would swipe and it would open the gates or if you came in through the front you walked straight into reception where there were numerous screens behind reception which showed all exits and entrances of the hotel. Upon arrival we had our cases taken up to our room on a trolley by a porter. There was a lifeguard round the pablo three round pools but not round the others and when they lifeguard went for a break at lunch it was unmanned which is ok as i feel the parents should take responsible also. The guests at the hotel all seemed very nice with an even mixture of couples and families, I didnt actually see any groups of males or females, there were a group of four girls but they were quiet but there were no young male groups. Overall we had a very relaxing holiday, I have been going here but further up at the carhiuela since i was 19 staying at my uncles apartment on carhiuela palace which is self catering and we clean before we leave but fancied a hotel stay this time where we didnt have to do anything and it was very lovely indeed. The only thing we missed is the area which is only a 20-30 minute walk away from carhiuela which is a lovely area to walk along at night with lots of varieties of restuarants and shops. Pablo is further up towards torremolinos near the steps which take you to the shops which is a good area but just not what we are used to but still very nice with an amusement area for young children a couple of restaurants, burger king and then if you walk up the steps it takes you to the main shopping area where there is a macdonalds zara , lots of shoe shops mango and many more. The hotel is directly on the beach you only have to cross the road which has zebra crossings and is not a problem. We also met very lovely friends who we are still in contact with now. Many thanks to the pablo which in my opinion looked the better of the three hotels even though the other two looked very nice indeed too but the pablo was bigger and also where the entertainment was but each hotel was literally a one or two minute walk away from each other. Also after reading reviews before i went i did email the hotel before i arrived requesting adjacent rooms with a sea view and that is exactly what i was given.

Room Tip: we stayed in roon 904 which was located above the entertainment , which was not a problem as it fini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verocalidad, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear "L H",

On behalf of the hotel management we would like to thank you for such a complete review about Sol Don Pablo, no one could explain it better as you did.
We hope you can keep coming back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    498
    182
    52
    16
See reviews for
379
595
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Looe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here between christmas and new year, the hotel was very quiet ( which suited us ) had a nice sunny room, i can imagine the rooms would be very hot in the summer months. The hotel is part of a complex of 3 hotels hotels interlinked, and the restaurant happened to be in the sol don Marco, it didn't bother us at all, but over heard some people moaning about this, but it makes sense when you have so few guests. The quality of the food was very good, Steak ,Salmon, roast beef etc, and usual salads etc all on a buffet style. The hotel position was excellent, just across the road from the beach, and it was useful having 2 shops at the entrance where we bought beer etc to keep in the fridge in our room. ( no pool bars were open ) Having stayed in many hotels in Spain in the past this one would be one of our favourites. We did get a very cheap deal, 52 euros per night dinner bed and breakfast for 2, so i suggest you shop around and see what you can find on the internet , good luck

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verocalidad, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear soulfixins,

Thank you for your comments about Sol Don Pablo, it´s nice to check that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. Unfortunately you couldn´t have the chance to drink something at our snack bar which is open from April on due to the weather and so does the Don Pedro´s/Marco´s Restaurant. Due to the number we have decided to keep it closed in order to offer better service at Sol Don Pablo for the winter season. From May on you will have the opportunity to choose between 2 restaurants¡¡¡ Hope to see you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked this Hotel direct on the Sol website on a summer super saver deal and got an absolutely cracking half board price with free transport to and from the airport which was a great bonus!, The hotel is on a huge sol complex flanked by the Hotel Don Pedro and Hotel Don Marco and the amenities are extensive with about 4 – 5 swimming pools, plenty sun terraces and the beach is pretty much right opposite across the road, The hotel itself is a little shabby round the edges in relation to décor and attention to detail in the rooms but we did enjoy our stay and the rooms are fairly spacious and clean enough, TV in the rooms with around 4 English channels and a fridge to keep your supermarket beers ice cold for a drink or two on the balcony before dinner, Breakfast and Dinner was very civilised with a queuing procedure and then seated by staff so it’s not a free for all event! Plenty of choice at both sittings so you certainly won’t struggle to eat here, I think this hotel must have extended to increase capacity over the years, However, They haven’t increased the infrastructure as the lifts are old and can’t cope with the capacity and it can be quite an event to get down to the restaurant at peak times especially if you’re up on floor 7 or 8! Overall, A good value, Clean and comfortable hotel with a good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Many thanks for writing to Trip Advisor. We value our guests' reactions as a means of ensuring that we improve in the right direction.
It is true that in early October we tend to be full and at peak meal times the 4 lifts that go to the dining room can be busy. I apologise if you were inconvenienced. The lifts mechanisms were all renewed in 2009, so I don't believe that this is the issue; just that at certain times of year most diners want to eat at a similar hour.
I hope that we can welcome you back one day.
(p.s. there are 9 pools!).
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Travelled 01-08 Dec and have nothing but good things to say about the Don Pablo:
*Excellent location on Bajondillo beach
*Great pool facilities (inclluding indoor heated pool which is great this time of year)
*we chose half board and there was too much to choose from!
*we had to use next doors restaurant for brekkie and dinner but there was a walkway to take u between hotels and you dont have to go outside
*Staff all friendly and helpful
*Rooms ok in size,we had side sea view in the sun the whole day..
*only 5 min walk from lift up to San Miguel St
*Very buggy and wheelchair friendly
I wouldnt recommend for younger groups of people..more families / couples.. there is a bowls green at the hotel aswell as bridge tables inside.. Not much open in torremolinos this time of year, we just went for the break and were lucky to get nice weather a few days.. train station approx 10 mins walk away so u can go to Malaga / airport or up to Fuengirola.

Room Tip: we were in room 711..ideal.. walls are a little thin but didnt bother us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A lovely hotel in a prime beach position offering the use of its 2 sister hotels next door. The rooms are very spacious and clean and comfortable. The staff are excellent and speak English very well. The restaurant is very large with a very good choice of buffets for each meal. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a week we really enjoyed. Brought my wife and teenage son. Although the style is a bit old the hotel is clean and the staff friendly and personable. Hotel room was fine even got a small tv included for the money. Buffet was busy but refilled regularly and different every night. We found the value for this simple holiday unbeatable. Would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned from another visit to Sol Don Pablo.Standards remain high with regard to the housekeeping throughout,every where is spotless.We found the food,although good, not quite as varied as previous visits.Still no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms,usually a given in four star hotels.The gardens are beautifully kept and appreciated by guests.The staff are welcoming and very helpful,from reception,restaurant,bar,entertainment,gardeners and pool areas.Well worth a visit,we will return again.Our thanks to all involved.

Room Tip: odd numbers are the sunny side of the hotel,even numbers offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Don Pablo is one of three hotels in the Sol Don Hoteles Complex. The complex is on the sea front of the Bajondillo beach in Torremolinos and boasts 50,000m2 of facilities and gardens. Guests are free to use all the facilities of the complex including (depending on the season) 9 pools, 6 bars, 2 jacuzzis, entertainment every day and evening and the Delfinus Spa. The hotel is 800m from the town centre with beautiful walks along the promenade towards the port in Benalmadena. The airport is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pablo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.