We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Pablo to your Saves list
Sol Don Pablo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good hotel, in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from our annual week’s autumn break, in Torremolinos, looking for the last of the summer sun, staying once again at the Sol Don Pablo.

The hotel although dated in some areas, which in my opinion helps it retain its original Spanish charm and ambiance, yet still offers great value for money, is kept spotlessly clean at all times, offers good food, and sits in a great location.

The rooms are very spacious and always kept clean, by the excellent daily maid’s service. The bathroom is again spacious, with a full length bath and excellent shower that delivers a good pressure with plenty of hot water. Clean towels are provided every day.

The restaurant we dined in every day on a half board basis, was very good, and offers a good selection of food at all times, I really could not find any reason to complain about any aspect of the food, and if you could not find anything to your liking here, you must be particularly fussy.
The hotel is situated right on the front and offers easy access on to the long flat promenade, where shops and cafes are plentiful.

There are numerous pools situated around the hotel complex, and locating a sunbed is very easy, The only complaint I would note here is the number of fly’s that were flying around at this time of year, and I do mean plenty. Although not a hotel problem, it is very annoying.

Finally I would like to praise all the staff that year after year, makes you so welcomed, and work so hard at every task they perform. From the minute you enter to the time you check out nothing is a problem to them, and it is nice to see so many familiar faces year after year. Keep up the good work.

Looking to return again next year.

Room Tip: We liked the view from a high floor, but may not suit everone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    498
    182
    52
    16
See reviews for
379
595
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our fifth visit to Sol's complex of three, once to the Don Marco and this our fourth time back to the Don Pablo. Once again we were well pleased. As someone has said, the rooms are now very slightly dated but spotlessly clean and very comfortable so this in no way detracted. Food again first class, wide choice including Italian, and absolutely plentiful - my wife reckons I'm hard to please but i had no difficulty eating well and varied. We had half-board, there would be no need for lunch, a toastie or baguette, or even just a muffin, with coffee in one of the promenade cafes is easily enough. A nice touch is the microwave in the restaurant for guest use, the food is always hot but we like ours "piping hot" - note to manager please keep this facility. The views over the bay to Malaga are magnificent, especially the lights after dark. There are no tea-making facilities in the room, but this is pretty standard in Spain - even on Ryanair we had no trouble squeezing in a travel kettle and teabags. There is a hairdryer in the room, and free wi-fi in the bar area. We found the reception staff friendly and helpful at all times. Room safe is Eur2 per night. On-site parking is free, but there is also plenty of free parking in adjacent streets. A stroll along the prom to Benalmadena marina will pass a leisurely morning or afternoon, with plenty of cafes and bars when you get there. A great hotel to relax and chill out, thoroughly recommended. Most folks we spoke to had been several times before - surely a recommendation in itself. Thank you to the manager and staff - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Don Pablo is an excellent hotel in a super location next to the beach, shops, cafes etc. It`s part of a complex of three smart hotels next to each other (Don Pedro, Don Marco) and as a guest you are allowed to use the facilities and entertainment etc in any of the 3 hotels, which for the guest is a bonus. The room was very clean with good quality furniture. The dining room is large and busy as all guests from the 3 hotels eat there, but it was no problem as the staff were excellent and ensure everything runs smoothly. The food was very good and there is a large variety to suit all tastes. The hotel is efficiently run with friendly staff. During our week there there, the guests were mostly on the mature side, although not exclusively -- not a complaint, just an observation. My only negative comment is that we paid 28 euros for WI Fi for the room but we were only able to use one device. Apart from that small gripe everything about the Don Pablo was excellent. If you`re looking for a relaxing time in a quality hotel, The Don Pablo is well worth considering

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This review is on behalf of my parents who stayed here in October.
They found this hotel a great spot. Ideal location, nice pool area. Food was very good and always had plenty to choose from. Their complaint being they had to discipline themselves from over-eating. They stayed half board and both breakfast and dinner were very good. They found the hotel staff very friendly and efficent and their room was spotless. I found the hotel very pleasant to deal when we mentioned via email that they were having a birthday and requested a sea view. They got a lovely sea view room looking at Malaga and a complementary bottle of champagne -a nice gesture. They were also shown another room if they wanted to change.
The excellent Spanish weather added to a great holiday.

Room Tip: sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

FAO. Jamie Floyer ( manager)
This was our second visit to Spain. We booked the Pablo after looking at the reviews and to say it was our best holiday to date. We did arrive early and the gentlemen at reception got us a room straight away no questions asked and no extra charge as we had an infant, he was very helpful and pleasant like all the staff were excellent .

The hotel is fab and clean throughout, again the grounds were kept immmaculate ie pools , gardens and there are plenty of sun beds to go around. The restaurant area was well layed out and their is plenty of choice, as my partner is vegeterian the food was excellent.

like the previous reviews theres plenty to do, alot of activities at the hotel . Its in a great location shops , restaurants, beach 5 mins walk and 20 minutes from Malaga airport.

The entertainment in the evening was very good we particular enjoyed THE 4 TOPS , Jamie please block book this tribute group yearly at the hotel as they were brilliant it was a full house and they got the crowd buzzing.

We enjoyed belamedia an hours walk along the path next to the beach, also a must is FUNGIROLA market. We found using the train to get to the market was alot easier 20 mins.

One thing which is a must is a baby changing facility, we did not see any in the reception area toilets. Sorry if we missed them , possibly a future up grade .

We would book the Pablo again and have already recommended the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first visit to Spain for over 20 years and we knew lots of things had changed and our memories of the Don Pablo and Don Pedro Hotels did not include all the high rise buildings that now surround them; we were booked in to the Don Pablo which is, by far, the largest of the three neighbouring Sol Hotels. On the plus side the interlinking amenities mean that there is always a sunbed and space at one of the many pools; the jacuzzis are superb (especially at the Don Marco) and the beach is just across the road. The gardens are beautifully kept with exotic plants and flowers everywhere you look and the army of cleaning staff keep the hotel immaculate inside and out. We chose a B & B basis and the breakfasts were excellent with every taste catered for, well cooked and as much as you wanted to eat. The room was well appointed with very comfortable beds and an excellent shower with toiletries supplied and a very good hair dryer.. There was a small refrigerator so drinks could be kept cold but it was disappointing that they do not have hospitality trays in the rooms for guests to have a tea or coffee in the room or balcony. The balcony was a good size with a triple clothes line at one end
which was useful, two cane chairs and a table....but the chairs should have cushions to be comfortable. There are lots of things to do and games to play and regular evening entertainment in the bar ; if you take your laptop you can get internet access free in the bar but, if you want to use it in your room, you have to pay 6 euros a day. So, overall, it was a very good place to stay and the cleaning staff and restaurant staff were always cheerful and friendly with their 'holas' ; at reception I felt like a complete stranger as it was so impersonal although efficient.

Room Tip: If you want a front sea view it costs extra and you can 'upgrade' for 8 euro a day. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your in-depth review Netta5070. It is true that Torremolinos has grown a bit in the last 20 years. I think it is fair to say that there have also been many improvements with a nice new promenade and sculptures.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Don Pablo. It too has changed a lot in the last few years, especially with the creation of the Don Hotels Complex adding so much more in the way of pools, gardens and facilities. I am sorry that you perceived the reception to be a bit impersonal though. I will look into that.
Many thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have previously stayed in all the hotels on the complex but this was our first stay in this hotel. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the excellent bowling green. It is spotless if you bowl its great. I don,t. Hotel spotless, albeit a little dated. I do not like the lights in the bathroom as I was nevr sure what colour I was wearing. One bright light there would be good. Food I found to be better than our last visit. Loads of choice although the Italian section only states Italian food! It could be anything. Some staff are a bit severe however others are good. Think that reception staff could smile more. Its a good base if you want to go into Malaga I prefer to go by Train as the bus is dead slow. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you DundeeSalsagal, I am glad that you enjoy staying at the Don Hotels. I have had another comment very recently that the Front Desk staff weren't especially friendly and we have called a staff meeting to talk about it. I appreciate the comment as it helps us to identify a problem.
I hope to see you back at the Dons soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Don Pablo is one of three hotels in the Sol Don Hoteles Complex. The complex is on the sea front of the Bajondillo beach in Torremolinos and boasts 50,000m2 of facilities and gardens. Guests are free to use all the facilities of the complex including (depending on the season) 9 pools, 6 bars, 2 jacuzzis, entertainment every day and evening and the Delfinus Spa. The hotel is 800m from the town centre with beautiful walks along the promenade towards the port in Benalmadena. The airport is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pablo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.