We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, smashing Spanish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Don Pablo to your Saves list
Sol Don Pablo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Super, smashing Spanish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a lovely, comfy, traditional hotel. We had a great week and really enjoyed the trip. It is an old hotel decorated in typical Spanish style, with beautiful tapestries on the walls. We asked for side sea view on a high floor and that was just what we got.

The cleaners are thorough and very friendly, as are all the staff. The restaurant is quite large, but with pillars and typical wooden Spanish chandelier type lighting, so it doesn't seem huge. We sat in the 'conservatory' extension as it was the next best thing to dining al fresco. Very light and with rattan chairs. There was a varied selection of meats and fish every night and an Italian station with different pasta dishes. There was a variety of cold meats, salads and desserts. Ice cream and yogurt always available and a decent selection for breakfast. The fresh breads and rolls were superb, with plenty of choice.

The gardens were pretty and one way to walk to the promenade exited through a white arched porch type building. Next door was another of these entrances going through to the Sol Don Pedro - it was like entering a small pueblo/village!

It was worth paying 1 euro to use the lift to go up into the town of Torremolinos. We caught the train to Fuengirola and Malaga. The trains are clean and run on time. The temp was 30+ most days so we didn't do much, we just wanted a quick sunshine break. On the front between the hotel and the Melia is a road with half a dozen bars/cafes. We found the prices very reasonable for drinks and snacks. We were entertained for a short time by an absolutely brilliant guitarist. He was so talented and we bought 2 of his cd's. Classical and Flamenco - we can relive the holiday and imagine the sunshine, while we watch the rain here! We didn't see many of the shows at the hotel, but what we did see was excellent. There was a variety of entertainment and most nights we would've gone to more shows, but by 10pm we were tired, tiddly or too hot! How sad are we?

We found the resort busy, but there were no lager louts or drunken Brits, who make you ashamed to be British. We did walk through the Melia and think we made the right choice. The rooms are probably lovely, but it seemed a little soul-less, although very smart and modern. Wonder if they have decent beds, because the beds in the Don Pablo are a bit hard. I can sleep on anything, but OH moaned the mattress was too thin and the pillows uncomfortable. He moans at home, too! The walls are a bit thin, but considering the size of the hotel we found the whole place quiet, apart from the excited target practice shooters, which was funny to watch.

Room Tip: We had side view on floor 8 and that was good - expect full sea view would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    462
    172
    48
    16
See reviews for
359
562
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Pablo hotel. We stayed the end of June the weather was very hot everyday and the hotel is near the beach but a walk up to the town centre we used the lift up it costs about 50 pence each and about a hour walk into benalmadena marina its a nice walk along all flat plenty of seats and places for a coffee the hotel food was really nice the fruit was Delicious. We loved the swimming pools we were in everyday The entertainment was good in the hotel enjoyed the Greece show. The hotel was nice clean and had friendly staff would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Went with 3 kids age 14 , 12 & 9 had a great time , food was good . Hotel was very clean .the staff in the kids club were very friendly

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grt manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Don Pablo for 10 nights at the start of June. The hotel it's self is very comfortable and elegant and spotlessly clean. I traveled with my husband and two children aged 6 and 9 who both absolutely loved it, especially the mini club (which i have to say that the kids entertainers are all brilliant. friendly and very enthusiastic) my husband and i have never had so much free times to yourselves on a holiday and the children wanted to go to the club we didn't force them to go. I couldn't fault the food plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meal. The pools were extremely clean and the outside toilets were like walking into a spa. The beach is just across the road and shops galore and lot's of shops also in the old town (but a hilly walk) Overall i would not hesitate to go back to the don pablo and would highly recommend it to anyone of any age. If you want a quiet room ask for one on the bowling green side of the hotel as the entertainment goes on until 11.15 pm if you have young children who need to go to sleep. The only way this hotel could be improved was that it isn't all inclusive!!!! :((

Room Tip: quiet room e-mail for a bowling green side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is decorated in a traditional Spanish style which I thought lovely. Immaculately clean and attractive. Staff very friendly and helpful.Our room was excellent, with a walk in shower, good air conditioning and ample storage space. The cleaning was first class, with clean towels every day. The room was large and the large balcony was nicely furnished with the addition of a washing line for swim wear etc. The bathroom had a decent hairdryer and ample mirrors for us ladies. The safe in the room was reasonably priced compared with other four star hotels we have stayed in and there is the addition of a small fridge, which you can put your own items in without any problems. Centrally located across the road from the beach and having two well stocked supermarkets just outside the hotel, what more could you want. Breakfasts were very good, but perhaps evening meals were a bit more limited. However, all in all very good value for money. A show every night, on the outside terrace, which we thought entertaining. Talked to a man on reception who had been at the hotel since it opened and gave him a brochure that we retained from a trip in 1982! If a hotel keeps its staff that long it must be a happy ship! Will come again, we enjoyed ourselves. Many thanks.

Room Tip: For older people room 148 had a walk in shower and central sea view overlooking the bowling green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We Stayed in the Sol Don Pablo hotel for 11days in june 2012. When entering the don pablo we could not believe how grand and beautiful the reception was. We were quickly checked in and told the breakfast times (as we were only b&b) and then given our floor and room number and directed to the lifts. After reading some of the reviews on here, i was a bit sceptical about the rooms but the turned out to be a lot better than expected! There was only 2 of us so we didnt need a lot of room but there was more than enough room in the drawers and wardrobe provided. Also, the balcony was a really good size and so was the bathroom so this was really impressive. After exploring the rest of the hotel we realised how even more amazing it was. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and the other hotels (we had a sneeky peek) are lovely also. The pools are immaculate and we could not complain about anything at all. The hotel is ideally located as well, right on the beach front and only a 5 minute walk to the stairs that take you up to the main strip. The beach bars are very expensive however, especially if you are buying spirits, we ordered a vodka and coke and a jack daniels and coke and it came to 15 euros ha! There were other cheaper bars up on the main strip and along the other end of the beach front but you just have to find them and do a bit of hunting. The water park was fantastic and i would recommend going on the crazy cones, they were fantastic. The water park is way up the top of torremolinos but you can walk to the main strip and get a taxi from there which cost us 6 euros. We also went to the 'bioparc' (or zoo) which was also very very good. We were there for a good couple of hours, there is so much to see and a lot of good photo opportunities. The only thing i would say was that when we were there we did not see a lot of young couples our age and didnt see a lot of english speaking people, the majority of the other people staying there were spanish and german etc. All in all though, this was an absolutely fantastic hotel and i would recommend it to anyone. Dont let the poor reviews on this stop you from going, they are a load of rubbish and im glad we went. ENJOY!!!!

Room Tip: If you do not get a pool view or sea view room, ask for one because the views are beautiful (we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a very nice Hotel, with courteous staff, very clean & very comfortable rooms, with an excellent location, just on the beach. The promenade is literally a stones throw from the Hotel. It is in the newer part of town. There are enough bars and restaurants to keep you satisfied. The walk into the old town isn’t very far, but you need to be very fit. However, it requires a steep climb, so I’d recommend a taxi.

I wouldn’t normally stay in a ‘mass tourist resort’ or near the airport. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. Torremolinos was not what I expected. The old part is fairly Spanish. I saw no lager louts.

I stayed half board. Breakfast is very good – full back bacon & fresh eggs, bread, continental, loads choice, and all fresh. The only thing – no fresh juice. Dinner had lots of choice. The house wine was only €8 per bottle, and was fine by me. Gents must wear full length trousers which is a bit unnecessary, especially when women could and did wear shorts?

I hired a car, and made a couple of trips. The Hotel would be a really good base if you want to cram in a lot of Andalucia into a week. Granada, Seville, Cordoba, Ronda, even Cadiz & Jerez etc, are all do-able in day trips, although they will be long days and rushed.

If you are not touring, you don’t need a car, however, there is a free car park if you do get one.

If all you want to do is to relax, walk out of Malaga Airport and get a taxi for €10 and you are there – then this is it!

This is not for those who really want wild night life, nor is it for those who want to be deeply immersed in Spanish culture.

However, if you just want to be comfortable, peaceful and by the sea, and basically want a quiet life, it’s good for all that.

The only thing, the wi-fi isn’t very good, and they need to get this right in this day and age.

Room Tip: In my opinion, Don Pablo is the best of the Sols in this town. The rooms either face North to Malaga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Don Pablo is one of three hotels in the Sol Don Hoteles Complex. The complex is on the sea front of the Bajondillo beach in Torremolinos and boasts 50,000m2 of facilities and gardens. Guests are free to use all the facilities of the complex including (depending on the season) 9 pools, 6 bars, 2 jacuzzis, entertainment every day and evening and the Delfinus Spa. The hotel is 800m from the town centre with beautiful walks along the promenade towards the port in Benalmadena. The airport is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Don Pablo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.