We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Paquito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Paquito to your Saves list
Hotel Don Paquito
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Del Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Second time staying here after a very positive experience in 2012.

This time stayed for 8 nights.

It's difficult to avoid repeating myself from last years review and others' reviews but this Hotel deserves positive feedback for the effort they make to ensure people's stay is a pleasant one.

* Check in very fast, friendly and efficient - no messing or waiting. Room available despite our early arrival.
* Got a room at pool side of hotel as requested
* Location is excellent and very close to beach and promenade
* Street is quiet
* Food is/was excellent. Breakfast had a selection of breads, cakes, doughnuts, fruits, juices, cheeses, eggs, bacon, toast, tea, coffee, yogurts. No cereals appeared to be available. Same selections every day - same as any other hotel and not a negative point. You can request specials too if you desire.

* Evening dinners were excellent. Different choices every evening we stayed there. Roast Chicken, Beef, Fish, Pasta, Pizza, Stew, Paella, Potatoes, Vegetables, Other things that I didn't recognise. ! Vast array of salads and healthy options and a huge selection of desserts. The food was hot but we ate at 7.00pm at opening time. The dress code for men is long shorts i.e below the knee and not a long pants. Outdoor dining by poolside is very pleasant.

* The rooms are on the small side ( for 2 adults & 1 11yr old) but only for sleeping so not much of an issue. The bathroom is also on the small side but you manage. The rooms are very clean. While we had a room at the back pool side I think the street is quiet enough that I wouldn't imagine it would interfere with a nights sleep.

* The safe cost me €15 with €3 returned at check out on returning the key. The safe is huge and stores a multitude.

* The pool and bedding area is very clean and quiet. The pool while having a shallow end gets deep very quickly for us non/poor swimmers.

* Happy hour from 5-6 PM 2 for 1. Apart from this, the general price of drinks is very good value and not set at usual hotel prices.

The staff are very very friendly and professional.

Bus stop into town outside front door to the left at the bike rental place. Bus every 40 minutes. €1.55 per person. Taxi to town in August is €6. Leisurely walk to town 20 mins.

Hotel is a relaxing environment and is very highly recommended.


Will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Front rooms will be cooler. Back rooms have view of pool and will not be exposed to street noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
On the behalf of myself and the entire staff, thank you for sharing your comments and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

I´m delighted to know that you all enjoyed your stay and the Spanish food!

We do try hard each and every day to continue to make our hotel one of the most affordable along with the highest standards of customer service. It is truly starting to show to our guests. We hope that when you return to Torremolinos you choose us again so that we may continue to provide you with 100% satisfaction.

Thank you again!

Best Regards

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    144
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
337
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited early August and first time to this resort therefore didn't know what exactly to expect. I must say this is an absolutely first class hotel, ALL the staff were really nice and had a smile for everyone, they really care about their customers, credit to all. The food was excellent, the pool area albeit small was very nice and the room was comfortable. Everywhere was clean and tidy. I can go on and on but if you are not sure I suggest you try this hotel it is as I said earlier first class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Don Paquito during your stay in Torremolinos. We are appreciated that you have taken your time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities, restaurants and services. Also, we want to thank you for your comments about our staff, our guests are our passion and the most important to us, we work hard to bring you memorable experiences and the best vacation.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope you´ll give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Best regards.

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Travelled in beginin of july. Rooms are lovely air-con is brilliant, beds comfy, balcony a little small but enough room for 2 to sit, hair dryer, bathroom all adequate, everything very clean, opted for a low floor as i hate using lifts, glad i did as lift is tiny.

Food, not a big selection, but done us ok for 5 nights, well i wanted to eat out but my parnter enjoyed the fish dish too much..we were half board,

Staff were very helpful and pleasant, all in all nice hotel.

My only personal moan would be im a pool lover, this was way too small 10/15 people at the most could sit comfortably. we ended up goin down to beach every day 9 euros for 2 beds all day...but on my last day i remembered id stayed at the don pedro b4 an liked their pool so popped over their, would of gone every day if id remembered we were able to use it..LOL having said all that, id still choose don paquito again as its all hustle an bustle in the others.

So if you prefer peace and a more personal touches in the place you sleep an eat, stay here..and everything else is close enough should u find your missing any of the bigger comforts.

Did try their pina colada didnt like it, its was too watery not like the proper ones, but the mohito 's were alot better .

P.s the bar prices were also very very reasonable.

give it go

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Don Paquito.

Also, we want to thank you for your comments about our staff, our guests are our passion and the most important to us, we work hard to bring you memorable experiences and the best vacation.

We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future and prove you that your feedback is very important to us and we do our best to strenghten the weaker points.

My very best Regards.

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacks
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at this hotel, we have just returned from a 5 day visit - it is clean, the staff are very friendly and courteous and the food is very good we can recommend this hotel. We have also stayed at 2 other 4 star hotels in Torremolinos but this is our favourite by far. We were not arriving until approx. 22.00hrs so I informed the hotel and they emailed me back to say they would keep dinner for us even though the dining room closed at 9pm - excellent.

Room Tip: I am quite a light sleeper so usually ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel. And I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are always time improving to have variety and quality.

Once again I am grateful you have shared your experience and we hope see you again the next holidays.

Departamento Calidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay at the don paquito hotel in torremolinos in southern Spain where this small hotel is ideally located for the fantastic beach, the old town, aqua world and a lovely walk along the promenade to the next resort of benemadena. The hotel is 3 star with a nice pool area at the back of the hotel, excellent buffet meals and very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms have all the usual requirements for a short or long stay in this area of Spain where Marbella and port of banus are a short distance down the coast. There are a good selection of beach bars and restuarants along the sea front although the hotel itself has large choice of wines and beers with a nice lounge between the reception desk and the bar. Gibraltar is within a easy distance to visit from torremolinos where this is a tax free haven and a beautiful place to see during a tour of the rock, a cair lift to the top of the it where you have the Atlantic Ocean to the right, the Mediterranean to the left and Africa to the south. Pick this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We are glad that you could have visited the surroundings of Torremolinos and had seen different places like Marbella and Gibraltar.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel. And I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are always time improving to have variety and quality.

Once again I am grateful you have shared your experience and we hope see you again the next holidays.

Departamento de Calidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved this hotel. Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable with air conditioning and a small fridge which was really handy.... our balcony overlooked the pool area and it caught the sun all day. We stayed half board and the food was excellent with a good variety. The hotel is just a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel. And I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are always time improving to have variety and quality.

We hope see you again in the next vacation and once again to be grateful you have decided our Hotel Don Paquito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second visit to The Don Paquito and we will certainly be back again. We arrived before lunch after an early morning flight, even though check in time is stated as 2pm we were given the keys immediately. The room was clean and well presented. The room had air conditioning, flat screen TV and a small fridge which we found to be a nice bonus as in other hotels there is usually a daily charge for this facility. We stayed half board and found the food was always good with plenty of variety. We were also surprised that the drink prices were very reasonable, in fact probably cheaper than a lot of the local bars. This is only a 3 star hotel but in our opinion should be at least a 4 star. The location of the hotel is ideal, the beach is at the bottom of the street and if you feel like a lunchtime snack pop into one of the many beach front bars and try out the fresh sardines cooked on the BBQ, a very tasty snack for only 3euro. All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend the Don Paquito to even the fussiest reviewer. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Paquito, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Don Paquito with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We always try to cover the needs, requirements and suggestions of our customers.

We hope see you again in the next vacation and once again to be grateful you have decided our Hotel Don Paquito.

Departamento Calidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paquito

Address: Avenida Del Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Hotel Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Paquito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.