We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where DO they get the staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Paquito

Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Paquito to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Don Paquito
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Del Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Leixlip, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Where DO they get the staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First visit for a week April/May 2013.
As many reviews have already stated a good hotel in a fairly good location and only 15mins(€17) from airport. Clean, comfortable rooms and lovely cosy public areas. Good food choice, fresh and hot and varied each evening.But what makes this hotel better than any we have stayed in the area is the exceptional quality of the small multi tasking staff. no corporate clones here - each person an individual, non intrusive, keen to please and able to deliver exceptional customer service. Best of all when a slip occurred good humour and an ability to compensate left us with a warm feeling and an urge to return soon

Room Tip: We want them secret for our next visit - sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    136
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
306
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

just had a week away in Torremolinos, hotel Don Paquito. Booked with cosmos due to tesco vouchers. Read reviews before going and they were good. Anyway what a gem of a hotel, 200m from that wonderfull beach and prom for those who now that part of Spain, you can walk for hours on the same prom which takes you down to Benelmadena, anyway back to hotel, this hotel was spotlessly clean, food was excellent, staff were so friendly and helpfull. Hotel had only 60/65 rooms i think, pool area very nice but a little small if all hotel guest wanted to sunbath at the same time. Hotel was situated at the northen end just before the residential starts but it was lovely,nice and quite, mature couple 52/53. We were speaking to people that have returned year after year to this hotel and we could see why, some have returned at least 9 times, we as a couple will return next year, brilliant stay, thankyou.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 401, odd number rooms are facing pool, five floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Returned again for 3rd visit to Don Paquito.As always greeted by lovely friendly staff and this continued throughout our visit by all staff.Hotel as usual was spotless and even though we had asked for pool view room we were assured we would be moved as soon as one was available and indeed we were! Got a lovely room the next morning.Went half board this time and food was excellent,always good variety,fresh and hot.On day of our return were sitting outside waiting on taxi when waiter asked if we would like a drink,we ordered glasses of wine and he then wouldn't take any money for them.Told us they were complimentary to thank us for returning to stay.Well done Don Paquito hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Pool view gets sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

So glad to go back to the lovely Don Paquito again. I just can't fault it for a value break in out of season Torremolinos. It's a great little three star hotel, the staff were friendly and wonderful as before. The food was excellent for a little hotel and the bar service and waiters polite and friendly.

Torremolinos may not be everyones first choice of break but the resort has a great deal going for it. I think we paid just over £230 a head per person for a week away including flights and half-board, such an amazing deal.

The hotel is immaculately clean, smart, tidy and has a lovely quiet pool. We were on the road side this time and it made no difference to me. In fact it was nice to sit on the balcony and watch the people go past. I heard no noise at all.

I was so pleased my friends (who I struggled to get to go to Torremolinos) loved both the hotel and resort. There are great walks, seafood and pleasant bars to go out in the evening. I can't argue with any of the reviews on here and I would not hesitate to recommend for a quiet break.

Having found it so easy and reasonable to travel to Torremolinos for a few days... is my guilty pleasure. More Spanish families now than 'Brits abroad', a huge beach and peaceful, safe atmosphere and the Don Paquito, certainly my first choice of hotel in the area.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both pool side and road side. It didn't really bother me. Poolside rooms get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesto Calende, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Although this is not the sort of accommodation I usually choose for a holiday, I think it represents excellent value for money. It is only about 15mins from Malaga airport yet remarkably there is no aircraft noise in the area. Breakfast is hearty with plenty of choice (hot and cold) with nice coffee. Dinner is buffet style and excellent value considering what we paid - lots of good quality fresh salads and fresh fruit at both breakfast and dinner. While some Spanish cuisine is offered (tortilla, paella, chirizo, churros) I would have liked to see some more typically Spanish dishes. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and attentive and there was the chance to eat outside in the evenings next to the pool area which was very pleasant and relaxing.

The room was a decent size with a small balcony. Rooms facing the pool are probably a little nicer, but we had one facing the front. WiFi was very fast, always reliable and available throughout the hotel at no extra cost - very important these days. There was a good sized safe in the room which was free to use and a fridge in which is always a bonus.

On our last day we had to catch an early flight and the hotel was very accommodating, allowing us to have breakfast from 7:30am (even though the breakfast service normally starts at 8am).

The only negatives were: i) there was a bit of noise from the bar in the evenings which meant that we had to close our windows at bedtime when it would have been nice to have some fresh air. (There was aircon if it got very warm but that seemed a bit extravagant to use in April!).

ii) I can't say that there was anything very Spanish or particularly unique about the hotel and the décor etc

However, these are small criticisms and, taking everything into consideration, I would certainly recommend Don Paquito to anyone looking for a pleasant, friendly and comfortable break in a handy location at a great price.

I hope this helps.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our second time at the Don Paquito. We enjoyed it so much last year that we booked again, taking a friend with us this time. We were'nt disappointed and even thought, if anything it was better than we remembered. Our friend thought it was brilliant too.
The food is still excellent and staff so friendly. Beautifully clean everwhere. What more could anyone want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Myself and 10 other ladies have just returned from a long weekend in the Don Paquito. We all felt that this hotel should be highly recommended. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the receptionist who was more than helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the food was absolutely wonderful. The food was always fresh and hot and the choice was extremely good. Close to the beach and within walking distance of the shops. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly be visiting again. First class.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#1 of 74 in Torremolinos
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#4 of 74 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#6 of 74 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Po...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#8 of 74 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#5 of 74 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 74 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paquito

Address: Avenida Del Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paquito 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Hotel Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Paquito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.