We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yippeeee.. It hasn't changed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Paquito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Paquito to your Saves list
Hotel Don Paquito
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Del Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yippeeee.. It hasn't changed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just got back from our second excellent short 4 night stay at the Don Paquito. Still the same excellent staff, still the same excellent food, still the same excellent cocktails before dinner, still the same mixed March weather. Yep, we will be back again for another pool view short break next year. This place is ranked No: 2 for a very good reason, it punches well above its weight for a three star.

Room Tip: Pool view gets the Sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    144
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
335
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Not sure I want to tell you how nice this hotel is, or how lovely the staff are. They will be so booked up we won't be able to get in ourselves. Not much to add to previous reviewers, except to say if the idea of walking up a hill or walking to the lift puts you off there is a regular bus right outside the hotel which is on a circular route taking you to the bus station. We used the travel agent a few yards down from the hotel to book trips and it was cheaper than the hotel. The tourist information office 2 mins from the hotel was brilliant for information on using the local buses and trains. We used buses to go to Mijas, Malaga, and Benalmadena . You can even get to Ronda by train from Malaga, it's supposed to be a super journey. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back get more sun, our end room had 2 windows and only one joining wall to worry ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked this hotel in Malaga in 2011 . Heard about it from a friend
Room were a bit on the small side but we had nice view onto he swimming pool. The food was excellent and a lot of choice. Staff were very nice and helpful.
Will definitely go back there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

stayed here last may 2012 great location, very clean,staff very helpfull,
rooms are ample and have street or pool view ,no problem with noise on the street as long as you kept all doors closed. as a lot of the hotels you wont eat inn.best value and choice is on the strip. only down side for us was the sun around the pool was scarce as it is fairly sheltered.
all in all great spot. we will revisit

Room Tip: street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned on the 14th. February after a one week stay, this was our second visit to this lovely hotel having stayed in March 2012. The hotel once again met all our expectations, spotlessly clean in both rooms and communal areas, many areas looked recently decorated. Rooms are well furnished, including fridge and safe and are a reasonable size for a three star hotel although the bathrooms are small. Staff in all areas are exceptionally friendly, we had a very warm welcome and Patricia on reception gave us lots of information on local attractions, especially the february local carnivals. The pleasant restaurant was well managed and food was once again a very good standard. Breakfast was excellent and apart from the normal cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruits, cereals etc. there was a really good choice of cooked breakfast items. In the evening there was always a good selection of cold starters, seafood, salads, cold meats etc. and then always several hot meat, fish, paella and pasta dishes with lovely dessert buffet to finish. We normally stay in four star hotels but would most definitely recommend this hotel, many of the hotels we have stayed in do not match their standards and are very impersonal, when you stay here you are made to feel very comfortable and welcome, a refreshing change.










f

Room Tip: Pool side enjoy sun for most of the day and evening and rooms on first floor have larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is our second visit to the Hotel Don Paquito in Torremolinos. We think this place is a little gem since it is small and offers great, personal service with lots of smiles.
We think one of the outstanding features is the quality and range of food on offer both at breakfast and for the evening meal.
The dining room is small thus retaining a somewhat exclusive character unlike many in larger Spanish hotels. It is light, airy and welcoming.
The food is always well presented and nicely cooked. There’s a wide range so all tastes ought to be catered for. The salad section is particularly excellent in our view. House wines cost around €10 with large, bottled water coming in at €1.50 so nobody can complain about the prices here.

The rooms are spacious enough, very clean and functional. A top tip is to ensure you have a pool-facing room since these catch the sun from early morning until sunset. They all have small balconies so private sunbathing is possible when you want it.
The rooms at the other side of the hotel are in the shade and also face the road. On both our visits we were able to get the sunny pool-facing ones thus maximising on light and warmth.

The Don Paquito enjoys a good location with everything being within easy reach. There’s a back way up into the town for easy access to the coastal train station. It does involve an uphill walk though. This may be a little steep for persons with mobility issues? Getting to Malaga, Benalmadena and Fuengirola is therefore simple and cheap.

We think that the Don Paquito punches above its weight for a three star establishment and I notice in other reviews how many of the guests have also chosen to return to this place time and time again. My wife and I wholeheartedly recommend this great little place for a restful and slightly ‘exclusive’ holiday in Torremolinos. This hotel will appeal to the more mature, discerning guest who appreciates traditional hotel comforts in a quieter area of the resort. The vast majority of guests appear to be couples and the restaurant has practically all tables for two. It represents fabulous value for money.

The free wifi is available throughout the hotel and in the rooms . The network is fast, reliable having no downtime during both of our visits.

Room Tip: Essential - Pool facing rooms catch the sun all day long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a 5night stay at the Don paquito hotel in Torremolinos.We were on the 4th floor so had a lot of sun in the afternoon.The hotel is very clean and the food was excellent,so much that it was better than some 4star hotels that we have stayed in .We also went to a restaurant called The tudor rose which is about a 3min walk from the hotel.For cheap days out you can visit the crocodile park which is about a 10min walk from the town centre,15 euros per adult & 13 euros per child,also if you carry on straight down the road you will come to the botanical garden and bird park 1euro per person,opening times vary.This hotel is central so is a good place to stay about 6mins walk to town centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Paquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paquito

Address: Avenida Del Lido s/n | Playamar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paquito 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a fantastic area of Torremolinos, 100 meters from the beach and 500 meters from its famous promenade, La Carihuela, and near beaches as popular as Playamar. The Hotel Don Paquito is situated just 800 meters from the center of Torremolinos and 5 kilometers from Puerto Marina in Benalmádena, with a variety of restaurants, pubs and bars. This hotel in Costa del Sol offers a quiet and cozy atmosphere. It is within walking distance of major attractions and nightlife venues in Torremolinos. The hotel was completely renovated. Rooms are fully equipped and feature terrace, bathroom, hairdryer, minibar, safe, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and free WIFI in rooms and common areas. The hotel has a restaurant with buffet, bar and outdoor swimming pool for you to enjoy the best holiday in Torremolinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Don Paquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Paquito Torremolinos
Don Paquito Hotel
Hotel Don Paquito Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Paquito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.