We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aparthotel Aguamarina- not too shabby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MS Aguamarina Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MS Aguamarina Apartments to your Saves list
MS Aguamarina Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Bajondillo 57, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aparthotel Aguamarina- not too shabby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Aquamarina at the end of June/ start of July 2013 with a couple of mates. I would describe the hotel as quite basic but for the price wasn't expecting anything else.
The rooms were a decent size and cleaned every second day. It had an antique TV and the kitchen was small with only couple of hob rings, a microwave, a kettle and toaster- but as the hotel has several reasonably priced restaurants near by we never used the kitchen much.
The pool was decent sized, very clean and plenty of sun loungers. It also has a nice looking indoor pool with a "gym" next to it- well not really a gym- it consisted of 3 pieces of broken apparatus and a bar for dips.
Also on the rare occasions when the sun loungers were taken by the pool, there is plenty on the roof or the beach is a two minute walk away.
As we are three guys in our early twenties, we were punished for our poor research (hence now joining Tripadvisor) as we were hoping for good night life and unfortunately that is not to be had in Torremolinos (for our age group at least). However Benalmadena and it's 24 hour square is pretty good, this is a 10 minute taxi journey away (costing just over 10 euros) or, as we did mostly, it is about an hours walk along the esplanade with plenty of bars to quench your thirst en route.
In summary though, I would describe it as a decent hotel suited for families on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    53
    43
    23
    12
See reviews for
50
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very basic, no kettle in the room and had to request twice before sending us one to room. Roof top sun bathing is a bonus as quiet and away from everyone. Kitchenette doesn't have an oven but on the whole the accommodation is spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel very basic and run down (i.e. gym or other "spa" facilities). But it was sufficient for our needs as we were sightseeing all days and didint spent much time in the hotel. Very good location and very handy back door exit to the town.

Room Tip: we stayed at top floor in 703 - you could hear the lift every time it was in use so try to stay as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the third time in eleven months we have stayed at the Aguamarina, and I think it will be our last. It's like watching your favourite dog enter the final stages of a very long life. When we walked into the hotel for a long weekend on Friday 10th May 2013 everything looked the same as when we left in September the previous year. The reception, bar and restaurant areas were just as clean and shiny. The staff were the same, helpful smiley people.
We were allocated rooms 509 and 604..two, one bed apartments. What a let down when we walked into 509. The odd light bulb was missing but hey-ho, no big deal. We paid a 5 Euro deposit for the tv remote, but the tv in the room had no infra red sensor, or on/ off switch. In fact all the manual controls and switches had been broken or snapped off, leaving holes where the controls used to be. Consequently, the remote was unusable. We could only turn on the tv by pushing the plug into the wall socket. Unfortunately, the volume was set at the lowest volume so we couldn't hear the only channel available.
The shower head couldn't be used because the wall fitting couldn't support the head when the tap was turned on.
When we finally managed to get washed and dressed for our first night out, we discovered that we were unable to lock the balcony door, it too was knackered, like the rest of the room. We had to go out with all of our cash in my back pocket, and took the chance that our neighbours in rooms 508 and 510 were not burglars.
I went to see the receptionist on our way out of the hotel and listed all of our problems. He said he would make a list for the "technician" to review when he came to work. I assumed he meant the next day (saturday), but no one came to check. In hindsight the next working day for the maintenance man was the following Monday.....the day we were leaving. So if any Tripadvisor reader was in room 509 after May 13th, can you please update us on the repair situation?
I really wanted to say the Aguamarina was as good as it was previously, but no ! What the Hell is happening to you MS Aquamarina ? Other reviewers are complaining too, so please put it right.

Room Tip: Don't take a studio. Spend an extra few pennies for a one bed apartment and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My parents arrived at this hotel on tuesday the 30th April 2013,with the expectations of having a relaxing holiday.Upon arrival to the room we noticed that there was a really strong smell of smoke and the room was not cleaned for new arrivalsWe asked for a change of room and were refused.They recommended we open all the windows and doors (we arrived after @9pm)..We brought it to their attention again.The next day they sent someone up with an air freshener.They offered a different room which was dark,no view etc..
The apartment was not cleaned throughly.There was no linen change for over a week.We had to ask for someone to come&clean the room.When the room had being cleaned it did not look as though the floors were mopped or that anything had been done .There was never a freshness to the room.They took the towels that were present and never replaced them.There was no brush,mop,dustpan and brush,present and only one dishcloth provided for 10days.There was no kettle present.The microwave was in a dangerous position over head.There was a drawer in the kitchen broken and cracked on both sides.There was no proper storage for delph or clothing.
There was a really bad smell off the water almost a sewerage smell.
** The main issue was there was construction work happening that started on thursday 2nd-present.That work started after 8am-6pm.At no time where we informed by management that any of this would be taking place or any apology given.This work was constant drilling with an excavator,there was noway we could sit by the pool area.Anyone that tried to sit down left shortly after.The noise was just way too loud.This meant that the main part of our holiday was taken away as we couldn't sit out at the pool or have the use of our balcony.This meant we couldn't relax in our own space as we had to keep leaving our accomodation.

Room Tip: Middle floors over looking the pools are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for 6 nights. Room very basic dark and one small window facing a wall. Kitchen area had no kettle no toaster fridge didn't work properly tv didn't work for three days no iron or ironing board very dated no wifi. Good location staff helpful enough but felt they were fed up with us asking for basic things expected from self catering apart hotel. Good location near beach and Main street. Indoor pool nice,steam room and sauna not working no jacuzzi. Basic but ok would recommend for location but there are a number of other hotels in same location that I'm sure would be nicer than this one.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel is located near the beach and it's very close to local shops and restaurants. We stayed there for 4 nights over Easter.
Positives:
- good location
- indoor heated pool
- see view=pool view (from higher floors)
- friendly staff
- heater was working

Negatives:
- Room was cleaned just once and after 1st night
- no hair-dryer
- no TV remote, TV was maybe 12" small
- no channels over 2 days (no news in the evening)
- breakfast - no hot food, just possibility to make toasts with either salami or cheese, very boring to eat every day
- no parking space at hotel; paid car park opposite

It is not a bad hotel, but I think we could have find a better one.

Room Tip: See view available if you ask for a pool view. Don't buy breakfast, go to nearby restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MS Aguamarina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MS Aguamarina Apartments

Address: C/ Bajondillo 57, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MS Aguamarina Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ms ApartHotel Aguamarina is a building of apartments and studios situated in the tranquil and well known area of Bajondillo in the municipality of Torremolinos . Its prominent location next to the best beaches in area, with a great selection of cuisine, beach bars and night life, make MS Aguamarina apartments the best choice to relax and enjoy your holidays. Only 500 meters away from the renowned Calle San Miguel, where you can shop whilst discovering the atmosphere of the Costa del Sol .Apartments MS Aguamarina are equipped with direct phone dial, safe (at additional cost) and satellite dish TV (7 channels, in Spanish, English, French, German and Italian), air conditioning and central heating. All our apartments have terraces (the majority with sea views), American kitchen with microwave and full bathroom. Ask about the supplement for extra beds; for four people in 1 bedroom apartments and for 6 people in 2 bedroom apartments. The studios at MS Aguamarina are equipped with direct phone dial, safe (at additional cost) and satellite dish TV (7 channels, in Spanish, English, French, German and Italian), air conditioning and central heating. American kitchen with a microwave and full bathroom. Ask about the supplement for an additional bed to sleep 3 people. Check in: 14:00Check out: 12:00 CHILDREN AND ADDITIONAL BEDS Children under 2 years of age are freeThe maximum number of additional beds per room is oneThe cot service for minors is to be paid directly in the HotelAdditional beds and cots are available only on request. The Hotel has to confirm availability.No animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MS Aguamarina Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ms Aguamarina Apartments Hotel Torremolinos
MS Aguamarina Apartments Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MS Aguamarina Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.