We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Los Fresnos 9 | Urb. El Pinar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Torremolinos
swords
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ah could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is only suitable for short term stay I would not recommend staying any longer than 2 days.The breakfast is bread based ie mini crossiants not fresh the pre-pack ones cereal choice of 2 , cabiatta rolls. If the hotel is looking to attract long term guests I would recommend putting a kettle in the room and or a mini fridge ( they could rent the fridges out for say 15 euro per week ). The location is ideally for the airport but not for the beach or shopping. The beach is a 15 minute walk away as the town centre. The vending machines are overpriced as a bottle of water costs 80 cent in the petrol station at the hotel the same size bottle and same brand costs you 1.50 euro. There are many things the hotel can do to increase their rating.The staff and the cleanliness are the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear customer,

Thank you for your comments. We take note of your suggestions in order to improve our services. We are pleased that enjoyed cleanliness and kindness of the staff. Our Hotel is located in the heart of the Costa del Sol entering the town of Torremolinos, in a quiet residential area, very close to the main touristic areas. The perfect place for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. We hope to see you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eddeedde
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night so ad to get to Malaga airport early. Room basic, but clean. Space outside in the passage to sit. Couldn't sleep with the window open because it opened directly onto the passage and had to keep curtains closed for the same reason. Ok for the price, but I 'll stay somewhere else if I Find one better.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear customer,

Thanks for your review and for choosing us. We would like you to visit us on your next trip to Málaga. Do not forget that you can book directly on our website with the best price.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just spent four nights here on a last minute break. Free airport transfer from hotel staff. Hotel is situated in a residential area but hotel again provides free bus service to and from the beach. Hotel is pleasantly decorated and staff are friendly and helpful.We stayed on a room only basis and hotel was quite happy to provide us with free coffee in the morning as we mainly ate in the beach areas as there are plenty of places to choose from,however hotel was happy to make us up pizza when we first arrived. Rooms are basic but clean and tidy and maid arrived to clean our room and change towels daily. Pool and surrounding areas are spotless so you get what you pay for!if you want four star pay for four star !! No complaints at all we had a lovely break and thanks to the staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. All our staff are always ready to help our customers. We like to see you again. Remember you can book on our website at the best prices.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay when you arrive in Malaga and need a place close to the airport or just before your leave. It is very close to the airport. The hotel also offers a shuttle. It is clean and nicely decorated. Basis but perfectly fine for a a budget hotel. And a walk to the beach and a lovely pool on site too. All my friends that i send there have been very happy with the hotel also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Rose,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for recommending the hotel to your friends . There is nothing better than knowing that our customers have enjoyed your holiday with us. We would love to visit us on your next trip to Torremolinos.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

First, the high points (all three of them): close to Malaga airport, free shuttle to and from, swimming pool. That’s about it for the plus side.

On arrival I was given the keys to my room, which was still dirty from the previous occupant. I had to find the maids and ask them to make it up. There is no elevator, nor will you be asked if you need help with your bags up three flights of stairs. (Me: “Is there an elevator?” Them: “No. Sorry.”) You share the balcony with your air-conditioner, leaking and grinding away. There is no screening from you neighbor’s terrace, so you can see them and whatever items of clothing they have laid out to dry in the sun. Attention to detail here is poor: dirty, stained, and cracked floor tiles; mildewed shower doors; trash in the gutters outside my balcony; had to ask for WiFi password. No phone in the rooms; squalid, unshaded children’s “play area.” No food except breakfast and the creepy sandwich vending machine. The place is miserably understaffed: desk clerk doubles as bartender, so you will have to wait for your drinks if there are people checking in. You are about one mile from Torre Molinos city center, where there is a poor selection of horrid-looking restaurants (you will find nothing in the immediate vicinity.) I could go on, but there is no point.
Hotel Zen is to be avoided. I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to a friend. The only reason I do not rate it as terrible is that it has a pool.

Room Tip: Avoid this place like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Director General at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear customer,

In reply to your comment, we would like to tell you that this hotel does everything possible to satisfy our customer. We have many free services that we include and are not in our category (transfer to the beach and airport, free wifi, 24 hour reception service etc ...) On several occasions, we tried to improve your service personally, because sometimes there are customers who need more attention, but you can not choose a 2 stars hotel and wont facilities of hotels 4 stars. This time, I think you chose the wrong hotel category. We regret that you did nor enjoy our facilities.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pleasant outside area with pool and lots of oriental figures and statues.Room was compact and clean apart from a damp patch on lounge wall which was bubbling the paintwork.Reception was friendly and helpful.We only stayed one night to be close to Malaga airport for a early start.The hotel was adequate for the price.We did not have time to investigate the hotel but we had a quiet comfortable night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you here again soon. Remember you can follow our news on Facebook.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I came to the hotel for one night on our way back home. We had very small room for 4 persons just to sleep and to fly early in the morning, But for sure that room was too small for 4 people and the table was outside. But it was clean. We liked the swimming pool. I saw some nice rooms with balconies which I would recommended. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Zen Hotel is very close to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. We hope to see you here again soon. Remember you can follow our news on Facebook and Twitter.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zen

Address: Los Fresnos 9 | Urb. El Pinar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zen 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zen in Torremolinos has an Andalusian flavour. The ideal place to relax with your loved ones, enjoy a few days with your family or short stay on a business trip. The Hotel Zen is located in the heart of the Costa del Sol entering the town of Torremolinos, in a quiet residential area, very close to the main touristic areas . Staying at the Hotel Zen in Torremolinos there is no time to be bored! In the surrounding areas you can play golf, horseback rides, surfing or other water sports, paddle, tennis, diving in the beautiful Mediterranean sea, take a bike ride along the stunning promenade, enjoy excellent Andalusian food, etc ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Zen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zen Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.