We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Be Deceived” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Los Fresnos 9 | Urb. El Pinar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do Not Be Deceived”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed May 2013. Most photos show the nice house building but actually about 12 rooms are
next to the carpark beside and below the pool. These are motel type accomodation.
have poor sound proofing and are used by people with cars on last day/first day from airport
who come and go early and very late.Noisy , no view and the ones at the back get no sunlight
Did not have aircon on but would imagine it would be very noisy in use as there were about a dozen units outside my window. Window would not lock and was not repaired in a week despite promises. Oh and front gate lock did not work and attendant goes off to car park to let cars in some times ..... Very steep hill up to hotel. clean

Room Tip: Donot use unless you get a room in the main house building not the motel units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Communty Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Zen for your vacation. We will take note of your comments. We regret not meeting your expectations. We will work hard to improve our weak points.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    25
    14
    22
See reviews for
18
31
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel have a very good value for the money. Rooms are normal size with nice bathroom. Local bus station (for buses to Malaga) is very close so you can be in a 35 minutes in center of Malaga. Breakfast is also very good. The only thing that is a minus for this place is distance to the beach which is really far away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked here for a couple of days whilst attending a trade show. cheap and clean but cheerful is debatable. the evening receptionist was a charming and very helpful young man but the daytime man was rude and course.
we had extended the booking by adding one person so owed €20, plus meals and parking if we uded them. he loudly told us our room did not include breakfast, we had to pay; we knew that and insisted that we pay the €20 there and then when we still had an extra night to stay and were about to leave for the trade show!
could not understand his attitude but, if it was not for him, a good priced hostel that has got the size and space to develop into a nicer hotel.
good restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk
street parking ok
breakfast looked minimal so maybe better to save the extra €5
room as a twin was cramped and beds squeeked but linen and room was clean

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Rooms are sparse but very clean and good value. Last visit we were without needed Internet access for 5 days. Promises were made daily but to no avail. No deduction to bill or free breakfast buffet offered to compensate. We had to drive to local McDonalds every day to log on. The breakfast option is the same everyday and not worth the 5 Euros/person. Otherwise the hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Zen. We take note of what you said about the use of internet and breakfast. We like to know that in general you enjoyed our hotel. Hope to see you again. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

For a one night stay Hotel Zen is excellent value - but you do need to be quite fit as there are a lot of steps. The hotel reception is further up the road than the car park entrance, but you need to get receptionist to open the gates. Reception is on the ground floor, then you go outside and up a flight of quite steep steps to 1st level (pool and outside drinks area), more steps to 2nd level before going inside to first level of rooms, this is the inner courtyard you see on the website and is most attractive (except for hideous water bottle dispenser machine), then more steps up to main level. Probably didn't help that it was pouring with rain when we arrived - but no offer of help with luggage.
We weren't impressed that when we asked for dessert (ice-cream) we were told the chef had left so no more food - does it really need a chef to put out some ice-cream and although it was 11pm that isn't late for Spain. Not that easy to find coming from Malaga airport in the dark. Breakfast basic - and coffee from an 'all-beverages' type of machine - yuk!
Overall wouldn't use again.

Room Tip: If you can't manage steps ask for a room on reception level (not sure if there are any though).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear customer,

We regret not meeting your expectations. We offer a great value as many customers of Hotel Zen mention in their reviews. Excuse the little annoyances that occurred during your stay. We hope to see you soon with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just home after a weeks holliday at Hotel Zen. It has positives and negatives. The rooms are very very basic,a full length mirror (or any size) would be a bonus in the rooms, better quality pillows. Very few rooms have patios (we were lead to believe they all had) so beware! , The shower in both rooms we had was a nightmare, hot,cold,hot,cold made having a shower a challenge! The breakfast is ok. The staff at front desk are brillant,very helpful,very pleasant at least thats how we found them and certainly made our stay worth the effort. The pool area is lovely,not crowded, very nice! The hotel is not near anything, so you either walk or get a taxi (around 7 euro into centre). Overall we enjoyed our stay, would we stay again? perhaps, only if small changes to rooms are made and a balcony room is guaranteed. I think the rooms are what lets this hotel down.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The only problem with the Zen is how far it is from the beaches. But, we walked it a few times and got it down to about 15 minutes maximum walk to the main beaches once we knew the way.
The hotel itself feels as if it has been done up and modernised quite recently, the room which we had was in the annex 310, and it was clean, the furniture simple and effective, the bathroom all working well with a powerful shower. The only complaint would be that the room felt a little bit dark, but in fact, this didn't matter at all.
The pool is nice, and has loungers all around it, the bar is downstairs but there are sitting areas upstairs next to the pool should you want to. We did for a glass of wine or a coffee.
Breakfast was slightly basic - but for 5 Euros all you really want is coffee, juice, bread, jams, meats, yoghurts etc and this was provided in a very civilised and modern cafe style room. Perhaps the juice and machine coffee was the one weaker aspect - basically water with flavouring and dodgy machine made hot drink- but overall, it was a decent and convenient start to the day. Coffee at other times in the day was proper espresso with hot milk which was lovely for about 1 Euro 50.
I dont think it was difficult to find. From La Colina station head up towards the dual carriageway, cross on the concrete footbridge, head towards the tyre depot/chicken restaurant, and then it is signed up the hill about half a kilometre away.
So, for a few days - say a long weekend - the Zen would be a really good place for a break in the sunshine. The staff who were on reception were helpful and quite welcoming - I'm not sure how other people have found them to be a bit too busy to be helpful but then again our requirements were quite modest and they met them very well indeed - even allowing us to drop our luggage off early on the morning of our arrival in Torremolinos.

Room Tip: If the room really matters to you, I would suggest you ask for a room in the older building rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen H, Community Manager at Hotel Zen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear customer,

We are very grateful to recommend our accommodation in Tripadvisor. Certainly our accommodation is a charming hotel perfect to spend some time relaxing. We appreciate your comments about our breakfast. We will take note of your suggestions to further improve our services. We hope to see you soon again in our facilities and we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zen

Also Known As:
Hotel Zen Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Los Fresnos 9 | Urb. El Pinar, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 hotels in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zen 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Zen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.