We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but starter was just not right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Escalera

Restaurante La Escalera
Cuesta del Tajo, 12, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
+34 952058024
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 416 Restaurants in Torremolinos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok but starter was just not right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We like to go to places that are recommended by others so that's why we chose escalera. Basically it's an Italian style restaurant probably with a Spanish chef. Layout is cosy with around 30 covers and decor is good. Me and my daughter shared a starter, good old prawn cocktail, it was a good size but obvious that the whole thing had been drenched in cocktail sauce, there was so much in it the lettuce was soggy, not good. The prawns were large and good, however a cardinal sin for a good restaurant is not removing the black stomach line before serving. My daughter had spaghetti bolognese and I had the same but al forno, it was good without being fantastic but my daughter said it was excellent. So 5* for my daughters main, 4* for mine and 2 * for the starter gives an overall rating of 3*. Easily fixed, just tell the chef to put less sauce and remove the prawns stomach.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    20
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place we ate in on the Costa del Sol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Found this place on the steps of San Miguel in the middle of our holiday and we will definitely be going back. It has everything going for it: great food, friendly staff, a lovely view of the sea and a very pleasant atmosphere.
We had variations on the set menu of the day: deep fried camembert/ onion soup to start. The main was steak (cooked perfectly rare, as requested) and chicken with fried patatas and vegetables. Everything tasted beautiful. We were both so full that we declined dessert and had coffee instead, but next time we'll be more prepared and come hungry!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

One of the best restaurants we have found in Torremolinos .
A lovely place to sit over a meal and a bottle of wine.
We had a prawn skewer with dates and bacon and it was plenty to share, as there were 6 large prawns with bacon and date rolls.
I had the fried sole with garlic butter and my husband had chicken breast with a fruity sauce.
There were loads of fresh vegetables and a choice of potatoes .
The portions are very generous.
We couldn't manage dessert but had a lovely bottle of dry white wine and a large water.
The bill altogether was 52 euros and served with a lovely liquor.
We will definitely be back again before we go home.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisbert L, Inhaber at Restaurante La Escalera, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
thank you for your review. The staff from the restaurant La Escalera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The food was great and the service even better! The chef came out to greet and see if everything was ok! Chef looks promised and the site is very cosy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Would highly recommend this restaurant. Food and service were first class. Although it is on a quite busy little street you could easily walk past. Give it a try and you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Escalera also viewed

Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
Torremolinos, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante La Escalera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Escalera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.