We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Claude - Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claude Marbella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Claude Marbella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Claude Marbella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Francisco No.5 | Casco Antiguo, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel Claude - Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Claude for our first time in Marbella and it was everything we could have hoped for and more. Everything from the minute we walked into the door was so well done and well thought out. The room was very very clean - and I'm a harsh critic on cleanliness. The staff spoke perfect English. The breakfast was amazing and there were plenty of options. They are also very flexible about what time you want breakfast - and you should definitely have it up on the terrace with such beautiful views. The location is perfect. You have so many delicious little restaurants and tapas bars right outside the door, yet you're a quick walk to the beach. We would love to make it back to Marbella - and if we do we will absolutely stay at Hotel Claude. We would go as far as saying it was one of the best weekend trips we've had in Europe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    6
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
81
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel set in the old town of Marbella close to numerous restauarants, bars etc. A 10 minute walk to the beach. The room (Francesa) was spacious with excellent decor and furnishings. The bed is large and very comfortable. The bathroom is amazing but be mindful that it leads off the bedroom through an archway with no door, so is not entirely private. The hotel was spotless and service first class from all members of the team. There are no tea/coffe making facilities in the rooms but there are some located in a communal area. Dining room is delightful and the breakfast more than sufficient (fresh fruit, cereals, eggs. bacon. croissants). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Style and Luxury are words overused too often in the travel industry. The Hotel Claude has more to offer on the subject than just talk. This is a beautifully styled, seven bedroom historical hotel located in the heart of Old Town Marbella. It is so special, that I hesitate to tell anyone about it except very good friends. As other have said, the staff at Hotel Claude have a casual way of making you feel like the only guests in town. Take every recommendation they give you. I suspect that there is nothing that they would not or could not do for their guests. Nothing is too rushed or too much to ask, but every detail has been thoughtfully handled anyway and you just feel special. The bed and bedding are in a league of their own and that really does count. The lower level has a beautiful wishing well and intimate gathering areas all of which are covered by an atrium that allows natural light to highlight the restored features of the floors above. There is a roof-top escape that offers private, modest view of hills and sea and it is the perfect place to start your day or end your night. I would be willing to bet that this hotel and its' staff hold many secrets. If you are looking for a hint of well known guests past, you won't find it - but be sure, they are there. Hotel Claude is the secret of Marbella.

Room Tip: It's all about the bed, and Hotel Claude knows how to please. Best bedding for comfort and styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We brought a group to play golf for several days in the area and we all stayed at Hotel Claude. By time we left, we felt like family to the owner and staff ! From the moment we arrive, we were treated like royalty! All of our group felt the same. The decor, the amenities, the service, the above-and-beyond service was the best we've had anywhere! We arranged to have a private last night dinner there and the food was outstanding, the service was exceptional. In the evening when we came in, we could go up on the top terrace for after dinner drinks and conversation. It was lovely! This hotel is a must if you like quality, good pricing, and exceptional service.

Room Tip: Each room is appointed differently and uniquely. Let them know what you need and they will suggest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Claude from April 23rd – May 3rd , and had a wonderful experience. The hotel really made our stay in Marbella and if I ever revisit Marbella, I wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else. I generally don’t write reviews of places I’ve stayed, but felt compelled given our experience here. The service was exceptional, the staff personable, & everyone was always willing to help. You could tell that they wanted you to enjoy your stay not only at the hotel, but in Marbella. We’ve stayed in nice hotels both large and small, & we both left feeling that Claude was the best place we’ve ever stayed. The service is unparalleled. Desi, Maria, and Stelian were amazing. They were nice, sincere, and always willing to help however they could. Just a few examples of this include: 1) Desi offering to come and pick us up at the hotel on her day off & drive us to the bus station for an overnight trip to Granada. 2) When we were on our overnight trip to Granada, the restaurant where my wife reserved a table for my 40th birthday celebration unexpectedly closed, subsequently notifying the hotel. While we were away, Maria and Stelian called numerous restaurants in Marbella to find other available options. Upon our return from Granada, Stelian sat down with us and went over the menus and ultimately helped us secure a table at Garum, where we had a great dinner and unforgettable experience. 3) I accidentally cut my leg and my jeans got stained, & Maria and the cleaning lady made sure they got to the laundry down the street and returned to me that same night. 4) Desi notified us early in our stay that if we wished, a larger room had become available, & they would upgrade us for free if we wished to move, and would take care of moving our stuff for us. While we declined the offer, we’ve never stayed at any other hotel that offered to do this. In addition, the cleaning lady left our room impeccable on a daily basis.
The hotel itself has 7 rooms, I believe, and is beautiful inside and tastefully decorated. They have a really nice outdoor terrace where you can have eat your breakfast or have drinks. The hotel offers breakfast every morning from 8-12. The breakfast was outstanding. There is fresh baked bread, croissants, an array of fruit, salmon, and Maria would also cook eggs for you if you wished. Maria generally prepared breakfast each morning, and really made it a nice experience (She also recommended La Barca, a great place for Paella by the sea). There were a couple of mornings when we needed to leave the hotel prior to 8am, and the staff always accommodated us and made sure we had breakfast before we left. The hotel also offers a membership to the O2 Spa and health club, which is probably a 15 minute walk or so from the hotel. This was a nice facility and great amenity.
At checkout, Desi provided us with a bottle of wine from her mother’s vineyard. It was a very nice gesture, and a great way to wrap up our trip. I’d highly recommend Hotel Claude if you’re in Marbella.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Claude M, Propietario at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you felt taken care of by our team.
I´d also like to thank you about your compliments about the interior decoration and that you thought the service was exceptional.

I am so pleased to hear your praise about our lovely staff (which I will pass on to them). They were delighted to have such a happy and grateful couple around.

Wishing you all the very best,

F.-J. Willmes
Owner Hotel Claude Marbella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

There are oodles of hotels and golf resorts in Marbella. I have seen many of them, and this one, has the perfect charm an intelligent traveller will thoroughly find a blessing.
Clean, (Important for a Canadian like me;)
Delicious and plentiful breakfast. A variety of fresh local and exotic fruit, rightly roasted coffee beans. The chef and service with a genuine smile.
Location: Um, the building itself-a central plaza for natural sunlight to shine through the centre of the building.
A rooftop terrace that will have your near sunrise breakfast, with a view that will tell its own story.
Proximity to many of the most excellent eating establishments en la costa~winding walk ways, a part of the old town.
Churches~the local virgin, the church of the 'love of God'.-
Service superb~

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Claude M, Director General at Hotel Claude Marbella, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

Best wishes,

Désirée Willmes
General Manager Hotel Claude Marbella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Claude for 1 week in April. From the moment we arrived we experienced excellent service. The team at Hotel Claude are fantastic, always happy to help. Breakfast is great, especially if you get the opportunity to eat on the rooftop. We were upgraded half way through our stay to the Francesca suite, truly amazing & cannot fault anything during our stay. Great location in old town Marbella, high class service & fantastic team! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Claude Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claude Marbella

Address: Calle San Francisco No.5 | Casco Antiguo, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claude Marbella 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gym and spa is not on the grounds but on the beachfront about a 20 minute walk from our hotel. we offer 24 hour room service and can arrange walking tours, sightseeing tours, wine tastings, private cookery courses, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Claude Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claude Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.