We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Prices, Great Location and Amazing Owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Gallo

Save Saved
You added Hostal El Gallo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal El Gallo
Calle Lobatas 46, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Marbella B&B and Inns
Morden, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Affordable Prices, Great Location and Amazing Owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed in Hostal El Gallo for the first time on a solo trip to Marbella in order to try and gain some experience in speaking the language. Initially when I booked to stay in El Gallo I wanted a cheap and cheerful accommodation just to put my head down in at night but I was thrilled when I arrived and noticed how lovely the place actually was having paid a very reasonable price. When I arrived the owner was waiting for me and showed me to my room. My initial impression of El Gallo was that it was warm, cosy and kept in a flawless condition. The owner was very welcoming and spoke proficiently in Spanish and English so communication was no issue. The room I stayed in consisted of a large area with a double bed, TV and chair that I was able to move out onto the balcony that provided a beautiful view down the street. Each room also has it's own ensuite bathroom facilities that are tidied each day by the staff and maintained in a pristine condition. Towels were replaced daily and soap and shampoo was also provided. The room had a very good air conditioning unit that was absolutely essential in the 34 degree heat. To my surprise, as I hadn't read the smaller print, the room also came with free Wi-Fi! This was very fast and when I ran a speedtest I was running at 12mb download speeds. Certainly not what I expected considering the price I paid. The location of the hotel, in the heart of the Old Town was absolutely perfect for anyone who loves Spanish culture, or who wants to see a Spanish side of Spain rather than the typical English tourism orientated areas.

After venturing out on the first evening to find dinner, I realised that it wasn't going to be cheap to eat in the Old Town. However after giving Restaurant El Gallo downstairs a chance on the second day, I continued eating there for the remainder of my stay. The food is lovely and all for amazingly affordable prices. Both breakfast (which was very very cheap) and dinner was delicious with a huge range of both traditionally Spanish, and more English alternatives to choose from. Most of the customers were Spanish so there was no fear of typical English yobs typically associated with 'touristy' areas of Andalucía. The restaurant is maintained attentively by the family that own the place and I would strongly recommend using it even if only the once.

In all, I will most certainly be returning to El Gallo when I visit next year, this time I will take my family. 10/10 on all areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location (in the centre of Marbella), 8 min waliking from the sea side and very friendly personal.
We had a double room at the last floor (2rd), with a nice balcony and an air conditioning.
In other words, great service and for convenient prices :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego B, Gerente at Hostal El Gallo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión , para nosotros también ha sido muy grata su visita.
esperamos volver a verlos de nuevo pronto.
Un abrazo
Diego y Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just come back from El Gallo after having a wonderful week. This Hostel is welcoming very clean and staff helpful We had Bedroom 6 - double room with a terrace which was wonderful in the evening to have a drink it was like being Mary Poppin`s amongst the chimney pots - They also has a good restaurant well worth a visit for tea and breakfast
When arrived into Malaga get the bus to Marbella which is a cheap transfer which takes you straight to the bus station, then get a taxi about 5 euros to the old town, they will drop you off and its a short walk to the Hostal El Gallo , if I can do it anyone can .
Marbella front has a wonderful walk way all the way to Puerto Banus, we hired bikes for the day which was great especially when the sun shone, got to Puerto Banus and put the bikes with a chain in a bike store.
Marbella has many lovely restaurants on the front so many to choose from, our favourite beach bar was " The Palms " which did great salads and a cold beer.
Then in the evening Medium Rare in the old town, and across from there they do a fabulkous Sangri the best I have drunk. The best place for Football and all sports " The Tavern " the host there were great with plenty of chat worth a visit.
We found the Old Town great fun as there were so many restaurants in little street tucked away with little bars we never made it to all of them ??.
If you like shopping the Old Town has plenty of shops.
Well worth a visit and we will be back to El Gallo again , give it a try but book early.

Room Tip: Try and get Room ^ this one has the Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed at El Gallo many times and every time I find some very simple improvements made to make my visit more comfortable. This time dispensers for soap and separate shampoo had been added in the showers= additional lighting in the room and a really good breakfast menu ranging from the famous English bacon /egg/toast / coffee/orange juice to a simple continental style meal=all for a very good price. The standard of food/cleanliness in the hostal is magnificent and the whole family are most kind and make the stay a most pleasant experience. I am greatly looking forward to my next stay. Many thanks guys!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hostal is really nice! The location is great - in a quiet street in the old town of the city - close to the restaurants, but quiet small street near the old castle.
The rooms are comfortable, ours even had a nice terrace (but be careful, as the low door gave us head bumps).
The owner is also very kind and assisted us in finding the best place to park our car (this is impossible on the street before the hostal, as it is really small).
The rooms are equipped with TV, good wi-fi connection, comfortable bathroom.
The beach is 10-minute walk from the hostal, through the charming small streets of the old town!
I would definitely recommend this hostal, especially if you plan a short 1 or 2-nights visit in Marbella, as it offers perfect location to feel the atmosphere of the old town and a great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gata de Gorgos, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Located very near the old town centre, very quiet road, very comfortable room and clean. Was a birthday and anniversary and we were surprised to receive a bottle of cava. Certainly recommend this hostal and would definitely return.

Room Tip: One with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Soden am Taunus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We prolonged our stay twice. This is an honest place. The owners and staff are very kind and accommodating people. The hostal is clean and tidy. It is located in a very charming street with traffic limitation in the old-town of Marbella. The hostal offers excellent value for money. The attached restaurant is simple but good. We ate there several times during our stay and enjoyed it a lot. We would always stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Gallo

Address: Calle Lobatas 46, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.